Contribute
Register

Reboot after logo apple (no progress bar / High sierra)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hello,

Couldn't find the solution…
Verbose (-v) checked (cf attachment)

Bios configuration :
VTd, secure boot, IO serial port : Disable
XHCI Handoff : Enable
(couldn’t find OS Type to Other OS / CFG-Lock…)

Everything was fine, until…
I've clone my "System" (10.13.6 / Carbon copy cloner) to another drive to have a new backup system.
The copy did work, tried it, but I couldn't boot on it (...select proper boot device...).
Ok then, I reboot on my "System"…
Problem are here !!!
I can't boot on it anymore (either on an old backup system that I have).

Thank's
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 1.png
    Capture d’écran 1.png
    441.6 KB · Views: 43
  • Capture d’écran 2.png
    Capture d’écran 2.png
    401.1 KB · Views: 34

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

Couldn't find the solution…
Verbose (-v) checked (cf attachment)

Bios configuration :
VTd, secure boot, IO serial port : Disable
XHCI Handoff : Enable
(couldn’t find OS Type to Other OS / CFG-Lock…)

Everything was fine, until…
I've clone my "System" (10.13.6 / Carbon copy cloner) to another drive to have a new backup system.
The copy did work, tried it, but I couldn't boot on it (...select proper boot device...).
Ok then, I reboot on my "System"…
Problem are here !!!
I can't boot on it anymore (either on an old backup system that I have).

Thank's

Please post your EFI folder.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank's for answering me.
Unfortunately, the System is on a OWC SSD, and I can't boot, so how can I reach it ?
Clover boot screen ? Bios ?...

The clone of the system drive didn't copy the EFI (That's why it didn't boot on it ?)

Make sure BIOS is set to boot from your OWC SSD.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes it is ! ;)

If you didn't mess with the EFI folder of your original system drive, you should have no problems booting in to macOS. This is assuming you didn't have problems booting before trying to clone.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Exactly :
_ I didn't mess with the EFI folder
_ I didn't have problems booting before trying to clone
Still can't boot neither on the "system" and my old "System Backup", and I don't understand why !!!
I'm gonna install another MacOS in an other drive, to check the EFI folder of the "system"...
For now it's the only way I see to resolve the problem
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Well, after fighting :crazy: I did restart but I have to :
_have a USB installation plugged
_force the BIOS to start on my old "system Backup"
_then double click (and not enter, otherwise doesn't work) in the Clover boot screen on my "system" drive
to boot on my "system" drive
What a joke o_O
(I've lost some authorization in the meantime)
config.plist in attachment
If you have a solution/explanation :cool:
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    584 bytes · Views: 43
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
OK, I think I've found it :
For the BIOS, I begin to start with the EFI of my Old "System Backup" (I guess the only one who worked),
then the computer could boot on the "System" drive.
So I copied the Config.plist from the Old "System Backup" to the "System" drive,
So now I can boot directly from the BIOS on the "System" drive...
Make sence ? or Am I completely wrong ?

Config.plist of my old "System backup"
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.5 KB · Views: 44

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,361
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, I think I've found it :
For the BIOS, I begin to start with the EFI of my Old "System Backup" (I guess the only one who worked),
then the computer could boot on the "System" drive.
So I copied the Config.plist from the Old "System Backup" to the "System" drive,
So now I can boot directly from the BIOS on the "System" drive...
Make sence ? or Am I completely wrong ?

Config.plist of my old "System backup"

In config.plist > Graphics, disable Inject Intel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top