Realtek RTL8111 kext leading to periodically Arris internet router reset.

Discussion in 'Network' started by anonimoculto, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. anonimoculto

    anonimoculto

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-G31M-[E]S2L F4[I]-BIOS , Clover
    CPU:
    Core2Quad Q6600 2,4GHz
    Graphics:
    GEFORCE 9500GT 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Jun 2, 2018 at 8:58 PM #1
    anonimoculto

    anonimoculto

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-G31M-[E]S2L F4[I]-BIOS , Clover
    CPU:
    Core2Quad Q6600 2,4GHz
    Graphics:
    GEFORCE 9500GT 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    I have nowadays two hackintoshes, which work perfectly for a long time. A some time ago my internet provider (called "NET") changed my modem, installing a new one with builtin router (Arris router/modem). At that moment I was using TPLink router plugged on old modem without any problem, with all my network configured inside it. So, I simply connected TPLink on Arris router/modem, and made the necessary configurations to bring my internet servers on!
    All worked fine, except one thing. Every time I start the RTL8111 adapter inside my hackintosh - using kext from tonymacx86 ( https://www.tonymacx86.com/resources/realtekrtl8111.327/ ), after a certain amount of data traffic or time, Arris modem simply resets as if it was turned off and on again at that moment; in an eternal cycle. TPLink and its internal net (192.168...) work fine even at that moment, never showing any problem, but I have to wait some minutes to Arris and internet come back.
    The problem actually comes from RTL8111 kext: on same machine I have linux and windows installed, each one in its own hd, and on those systems the entire system works fine. Also, disabling ethernet in System Preferences - Network - Ethernet on El Capitan and using only Wifi (brought up by a Atheros WDN4800 PCI card), the problem is solved.
    When kext is working, my monitor also shows interference from radio signals, which seems to me comes from Arris (it has 2 distinct builtin wireless nets on its setup: 2,4 and 5GHz). Disable the lan port inside El Capitan leads to no interference anymore.
    Problem persists if I plug the machine direct on Arris.
    Have someone seen this problem before? Any help?
    Lucky, I use linux as default os in this machine... But will be very happy in solving this problem.

    System definitions:
    GA-G31M-S2L (Realtek RTL8111C built in) - 4GB - 4XST2000DM001
    Point of View GeForce 9500 GT
    Clover 4509 with El Capitan 10.11.6 - Windows 10 - OpenSUSE.
    TPLink MR3220 V1 Firmware 3.12.20
    Arris TG1692A V4 Firmware 9.1.135_1692A_R017 Touchstone Telephony Gateway.
    RealtekRTL8111 kext V 2.2.1

    Help please...
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  2. 50panman

    50panman

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
    CPU:
    Q6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 650
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Dec 4, 2018 at 9:29 PM #2
    50panman

    50panman

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
    CPU:
    Q6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 650
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I am just now experiencing this same problem with serial modem reset (no monitor interference though) leading me to come across this post. I have built several hackintoshes starting with Snow Leopard on up to El Capitan currently.
    I am dual booting El Cap and Mavericks from the same HD on the old GA-EP45-UD3P. Mavericks has been for years and still is flawless. No issues, no modem reset. I can load as many tabs as fast as I want.
    Just upgraded recently to El Cap/ Clover Legacy 3423 dual boot and began to experience this issue, again only when I boot to El Cap. Boot to Mavericks and flawless. I have no other issues with El Cap that I have found yet, all good sleep, wake, audio Etc.
    At first I thought maybe my ISP was resetting it. Then a Firefox issue but it occurs with Safari as well, very strange. If I start up and begin opening several tabs it will reset shortly afterwords. If I wait for the modem reboot and begin loading tabs right away it will reset again. If I let it set for a while ,ten or twenty minutes, and load single tabs slowly (not my style) it seems to work OK. Arris DG 1670A modem/router installed by my ISP.
    Sorry I am of no help other than to confirm the issue exists. Your post has helped me though. I will update any new data as found. I am going to upgrade to my own router and cable modem and see what happens.

    I can't help but notice our systems are very similar but not identical. Different Realtek Kext though. Same Gigabyte brand MOBO, same Realtek on board RTL8111C NIC, same Intel Q6600 , same OS with issue (EL Capitan), Same Arris brand modem/router.??

    Thanks and good luck

    Current system:

    GA-EP45-UD3P 16GB Ram Q6600 Realtek RTL8111C on MOBO
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 1024 MB
    Clover Legacy 3423 Mavericks 10.9.5 and ElCap 10.11.6 dual boot
    RealtekRTL81xx.kext V 0.0.90
    Arris DG1670A Modem/Router
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018 at 1:51 AM
  3. anonimoculto

    anonimoculto

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-G31M-[E]S2L F4[I]-BIOS , Clover
    CPU:
    Core2Quad Q6600 2,4GHz
    Graphics:
    GEFORCE 9500GT 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Dec 6, 2018 at 8:21 PM #3
    anonimoculto

    anonimoculto

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-G31M-[E]S2L F4[I]-BIOS , Clover
    CPU:
    Core2Quad Q6600 2,4GHz
    Graphics:
    GEFORCE 9500GT 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Unfortunately, not yet resolved. Likewise, anything new will be informed. Thanks to confirm problem. Good luck too.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice