Contribute
Register

Really need advice here.

Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
Intel i9-10850k along with Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
Graphics
Primary: Sapphire Pulse RX 570, Secondary: UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I recall this is my first request maybe second on needing advice on hardware. This one is baffling because if Apple's craziness and feuding they have with NVidia. I mean why do you walk away from a company that makes top notch GPU back to a company called ATI whose GPUs were burning out in you MacBook Pros? I know I have that particular MacBook Pro awaiting to order a logic board replacement. Too bad we can't upgrade the GPU itself to a different model.



Anyway, I seen the list on here of which NVidia GPUs work for Catalina and which ones don't. Is there a lists for ATI? I cany find it or I am missing it.

I am using what's in my profile same old 4770k, 16GBS 2400MHZ RAM, 10 HDD which 4 are SSDs. I use this machine mainly for 2 things, Pro Tools Subscription with many plugins like Ref Nexus 2, Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2vwith Keyscape, NI Battery with my AKai MPC Studio with its software and some other plugins.

I also use the Adobe Creative Suite but mainly photoshop and Premiere. I dont export a lot of videos maybe 1 once a month.

So I am looking for a video card that's not going to cost me $250-$1,000. There is no reason to have such a card just for Pro Tools because I don't use and plugins that utilizes the GPU even though I sure would wish Avid would start utilizing the GPU mixed with the CPU. With previous OSX versions I just purchased a GTX 750 TI and it did the job great for what I needed done.
Is there any graphics cards in the same price range as the 750TI currently? If I recall I paid $120 brand new...I know I can use my onboard graphics but this doesn't works well whenever you are using Pro Tools and Adobe Premiere. Lags somewhat when exporting. Never had this issue with the 750TI.

Why can't Apple just leave thing alone.

I appreciate the advice..
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,672
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
There are many newer AMD cards with support but the pricing and availability is terrible right now. Here's a list to look at showing what will work, if you can buy one.


There are many Kepler GPUs you can buy used on Ebay as well as Amazon if you can't find AMD at a reasonable price. See if you can find a Quadro K5000 at a decent price there. In the $150 price range is a good deal. Make sure your case is big enough to hold it. A very long card. A K4200 Quadro will work too.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B086WNXKR4/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

NVS 510 brand new for around $150 with adapters. Does 4K/60 via DP 1.2 outputs.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B084M1XS6B/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
 
Last edited:

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,248
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
There is a listing on Dortania site.
Basically, any Keplar or Maxwell based 600/700/Titan GPUs or some of the Quadro K series cards for workstations.
You can get a 750TI off Amazon for under $200, but from your description of what you are using it for, the NVS 510 for just over $150 would do the job
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,672
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Here are all the Kepler GK106 GPUs that should be avoided. Note that he K4000 Quadro is GK106. Avoid that as well as most every GTX 650 (Ti) These cards have serious glitching problems in Catalina and Big Sur.

Screen Shot 2.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
Intel i9-10850k along with Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
Graphics
Primary: Sapphire Pulse RX 570, Secondary: UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you very much everybody.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
Intel i9-10850k along with Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
Graphics
Primary: Sapphire Pulse RX 570, Secondary: UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay after careful study, and A LOT of reading I decided to buy the sapphire radeon pulse rx 570 off of ebay. I should have it by tomorrow (Monday). I just hope it's not going to be a headache to get it going after I install it in my motherboard. I know I will have some work to do in Clover Configurator. I will have to uncheck some things since I am currently using my Intel onboard graphics HD4600 (Intel i7-4770k) and change my video bios to PCIe 1. I already have Lilu and Whatevergreen installed in the proper locations.

On a side not I did purchase two Xeon 2660 V3 cpus. I am planning on building a similar build like the Dell Precision T7810 has. I read and watched where people were using OS X on the Intel C612 chip set boards. One thing at a time so I purchased the CPUs next I will purchase the motherboard, now I will study and research which motherboard is the best one for OXS. I am just building this for my Pro Tools, I need the CPU cores big time, each processor has 10 cores for a total of 20 cores, 40 threads. I wish Avid would smarten up and start utilizing the graphic processor or at least have their plugins use the graphics processor like some others do. Crazy if you ask me. I do have a XFX RX560 here but i have to flash the bios with Sapphire's bios. I will just use this card in that machine. I first have to install Windows onto one an old PC I have just to flash that bios.

Anyway I appreciate the help..
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
Intel i9-10850k along with Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler
Graphics
Primary: Sapphire Pulse RX 570, Secondary: UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well CRAP for the life of me I cannot get the Pulse RX 570 to boot in OSX Catalina. It just boots to a black screen. I know it has to do me using the HDMI port, I tried both ports and the DVI port both are the same. This card has 2 DP ports, 2 HDMI Ports and 1 DVI. I ordered a Dp to HDMI adapter to see if that will help.

This is using updated Lilu and Whatevergreen in /Other directory and I have NOTHING checked in Clover Configurator. I've installed a few NVIDIA cards since Apple switched to Intel in 2006, never had an issue like this.

I wanted to test something and in Clover Options on boot I was looking at the RadeonInt which I iniw is no longer used but it detects 6 ports on this card but this card only has 5 ports as mentioned above. Also I wanted to see if it was actually booting to the desktop with the black screen and the way I tested this was I pressed the space bar to see if I can hear the error sound played that would normally play if you are on the desktop. That played, I could hear the sound.

So, I even tried disabling CSM in the bios still n]same thing. So, I wanted to test if the card would boot using the VANILLA Clover install thumb drive I use to install Catalina. It does the exact same thing or it reboots.

So, I cannot even use the RX 570 to install a fresh copy of Catalina. I thought these cards were compatible OOB? I looked in my efi kext folder don't have anything in their except what Multibeast installed plus the updated lilu and whatevergreen. I updated both of them btw earlier today.

Suggestions?
 
Top