Contribute
Register

Ready to start first build:) Motherboard Noob questions..what's the difference?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Hack Pro
CPU
Z77x-ud5h -i3770k -16Gb
Graphics
EVGA GTX 570hd 2560mb
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, future build-fellows:)

Im a total noob and this is my first build. Ive been researching here and am about to by the components but have no idea wich (Gigabyte)MB to buy, and why. Im going to follow slugnets video editor golden build as close a possible this will be a After Effects / Premiere / Final cut machine.

It will be an ATX MB, using a corsair 500r case.

Im going to use an 3770k processor, and a gtx660Ti, maybe a 670, depends on the money spent on the MB.
these are my options:

GA-Z77X-UP5 TH iZ77, SATA600, Thunderbolt,
€262

GA-Z77X-UD5H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€191,90

GA-Z77X-UP4 TH iZ77, SATA600, USB3.0, TB
€176,90

GA-Z77X-UD4H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€157,90

GA-Z77X-UD3H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€134,90

As you can see there's a lot of price difference, and Im not a rich man.

Questions:

- I might want TB, but why should I pay €80 more for the UP5?
- other differences between UP/UDP?
- Whats the difference between RAID and non RAID mb? And why would I need it?
- Are there any other notible differencss I should be aware of? (future compatibility, overall stability..?)

I'm sorry for the noob questions, but I'm really excited to get into this...Any help would be much appreciated, as I dont know what Im doing, (yet) :)

cheers,

tdknl

Hello, future build-fellows:)

Im going to use an 3770k processor, and a gtx660Ti, maybe a 670, depends on the money spent on the MB.
these are my options:

GA-Z77X-UP5 TH iZ77, SATA600, Thunderbolt,
€262

GA-Z77X-UD5H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€191,90

GA-Z77X-UP4 TH iZ77, SATA600, USB3.0, TB
€176,90

GA-Z77X-UD4H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€157,90

GA-Z77X-UD3H iZ77, SATA600 RAID, USB3.0
€134,90