Contribute
Register

[README] 10.11.6 security update 2017-003

Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
i7-8086K 5GHz
Graphics
GTX108ti X2
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Centris, Classic, Power Mac
Whoopee - works on my m.2 drive

To be more clearer ;-)...

Replace EFI/Clover/CLOVERX64.efi with the file "CLOVERX64.efi" in Post #1
Delete BOOTX64.efi in EFI/BOOT/
Copy "CLOVERX64.efi" to EFI/BOOT/ and rename to BOOTX64.efi

wey hey!

Cheers RehabMan we owe you a toasted sandwichhttps://www.tonymacx86.com/members/rehabman.429483/
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,109
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Whoopee - works on my m.2 drive

To be more clearer ;-)...

Replace EFI/Clover/CLOVERX64.efi with the file "CLOVERX64.efi" in Post #1
Delete BOOTX64.efi in EFI/BOOT/
Copy "CLOVERX64.efi" to EFI/BOOT/ and rename to BOOTX64.efi

wey hey!

Cheers RehabMan we owe you a toasted sandwich
FYI... Deleting a file is not needed if you're going to copy over it:
Code:
diskutil mount EFI
# assumption: EFI is now mounted at /Volumes/EFI
# assumption: current directory is where CLOVERX64.efi is located
cp CLOVERX64.efi /Volumes/EFI/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.efi
cp CLOVERX64.efi /Volumes/EFI/EFI/Clover/CLOVERX64.efi
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
i7-8086K 5GHz
Graphics
GTX108ti X2
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Centris, Classic, Power Mac
FYI... Deleting a file is not needed if you're going to copy over it:
Code:
diskutil mount EFI
# assumption: EFI is now mounted at /Volumes/EFI
# assumption: current directory is where CLOVERX64.efi is located
cp CLOVERX64.efi /Volumes/EFI/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.efi
cp CLOVERX64.efi /Volumes/EFI/EFI/Clover/CLOVERX64.efi
But how can you copy over it if it has a different file name?

I was supposed to change the file name to BOOTX64.efi wasn't I? For the BOOT folder? I mean, it is the same file with a different name?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,109
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
But how can you copy over it if it has a different file name?
'cp' overwrites the existing file.

I was supposed to change the file name to BOOTX64.efi wasn't I?
The file BOOTX64.efi was already there. It has the same bits as CLOVERX64.efi.

I mean, it is the same file with a different name?
Yes.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
i7-8086K 5GHz
Graphics
GTX108ti X2
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Centris, Classic, Power Mac
Oh I getcha - you mean open the files on EFI, delete and paste in the new code from your attached file (at least I think that's what you mean)

Same result huh?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,109
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh I getcha - you mean open the files on EFI, delete and paste in the new code from your attached file (at least I think that's what you mean)
No. Read post #12.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
i7-8086K 5GHz
Graphics
GTX108ti X2
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Centris, Classic, Power Mac
Is 'cp' a terminal command?

A means to copy over a file and change it's name to the same as what was already there?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,109
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is 'cp' a terminal command?
Yes, of course.

A means to copy over a file and change it's name to the same as what was already there?
It copies one file to another.
You can find documentation for cp with 'man cp'.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
i7-8086K 5GHz
Graphics
GTX108ti X2
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Centris, Classic, Power Mac
Yes, of course.
It copies one file to another.
You can find documentation for cp with 'man cp'.
Well I'll be a tinkers cuss - you see that's where it all went wrong for me ;-)

Cheers Rehabman
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,109
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well I'll be a tinkers cuss - you see that's where it all went wrong for me ;-)

Cheers Rehabman
Of course, no requirement to use Terminal.
You can arrive at the same result copying/renaming (as needed) with Finder.
 
Top