Contribute
Register

[READ ME FIRST!] Graphics Setup & Troubleshooting

Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
116
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GT 640
Mobile Phone
iOS
People are using whatevergreen and lilu Kexts to add support for intel graphics and framebuffers. Check for those fixes on this site for the guides. For WiFi you need to find which module you have. DCPIManager is a good tool to use to find the device ID and brand of hardware.
How do I find out which module I have?
- sorry, I see DCPI manager should help with this!
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,996
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
How do I find out which module I have?
- sorry, I see DCPI manager should help with this!
Open DCPIManager and select the PCI tab. It should be towards the bottom. BCM or Arheros will usually work. If it’s intel WiFi no go.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,996
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Thank you! I see it's Broadcom - I have the AirportBrcmFixup.kext in Library/Extensions. Is there any configuration I need to do to make it work? It is not appearing as an option in Sys Prefs>Network
Google fakepciidkext, you may need those as well. Rehabman has created those for stubborn WiFi injection.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
guys I'm at my wits end! please help
finally after weeks of tinkering I have my mackintosh working mostly the way I want. iCloud, iMessage, App Store works great.
Now Ive been reading all these different threads about my issue I'm beyond confused not sure where to start. I'm currently using onboard graphics uhd630 and I have a dual boot system (macOS/Win10) each on separate physical SSDs.

obviously on windows everything is great dual monitor setup works right out the gate. I have HDMI as main and DVI as secondary no issues at all.

on Mac when I boot from Clover I get both screens working and showing Clover. Once I boot... apple logo progress bar shows on both to a point, then the DVI monitor drops out. I've tried booting from with just HDMI and then once booted and on desktop plug in DVI still nothing. Funny thing is that if I shut down and boot with just DVI and no HDMI it shows just fine. Ill try and plug HDMI monitor after booted with DVI only and nothing shows on the HDMI. seems both ports are recognized I just can't get them to work together.

ASUS Z370-E
i7 8700K
16GB DDR4
INTEL UHD630

ill attach some useful info like my IOregdump
Screen Shot 2018-10-29 at 7.36.40 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-10-29 at 7.36.57 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-10-29 at 7.37.11 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-10-29 at 7.37.37 PM.png
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,996
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
guys I'm at my wits end! please help
finally after weeks of tinkering I have my mackintosh working mostly the way I want. iCloud, iMessage, App Store works great.
Now Ive been reading all these different threads about my issue I'm beyond confused not sure where to start. I'm currently using onboard graphics uhd630 and I have a dual boot system (macOS/Win10) each on separate physical SSDs.

obviously on windows everything is great dual monitor setup works right out the gate. I have HDMI as main and DVI as secondary no issues at all.

on Mac when I boot from Clover I get both screens working and showing Clover. Once I boot... apple logo progress bar shows on both to a point, then the DVI monitor drops out. I've tried booting from with just HDMI and then once booted and on desktop plug in DVI still nothing. Funny thing is that if I shut down and boot with just DVI and no HDMI it shows just fine. Ill try and plug HDMI monitor after booted with DVI only and nothing shows on the HDMI. seems both ports are recognized I just can't get them to work together.

ASUS Z370-E
i7 8700K
16GB DDR4
INTEL UHD630

ill attach some useful info like my IOregdump
View attachment 361404 View attachment 361405View attachment 361406 View attachment 361407
Try this link.
[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen ...
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,996
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I'm on high Sierra 10.13.6
guide says for Mojave
Did you read the second paragraph, it is recommended for all other previous OS versions as well. Check it out, there is also an idiots guide to it somewhere I just saw recently. I could use that one.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you read the second paragraph, it is recommended for all other previous OS versions as well. Check it out, there is also an idiots guide to it somewhere I just saw recently. I could use that one.
thanks so much I somehow misread that line. BIG THANKS!!
please if you find it can you direct me to it? I also tried the search function for it
 
Top