[READ ME FIRST!] Graphics Setup & Troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Fl0r!an, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    12,575
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 22, 2017 at 4:48 PM #111
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    12,575
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    VGA is unsupported - Some configurations (with and without adaptors) do work but it is not possible for me to predict if your particular hardware will succeed.
     
  2. mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    May 25, 2017 at 6:08 PM #112
    mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    OK. So looks like the card is loading correctly now. All the weird screen-glitching has gone away. Upon logging in everything looks great, but things are starting to drag now, as if the OS is struggling to keep up with basic tasks, like opening a menu. Seems to get worse as time passes. Behaving as if too many apps are open or something and it's running out of memory to keep up, but it's got 16GB of RAM so it can't be that. BTW, I'm using a native HDMI monitor now so any HDMI==>VGA adapter issues can be ruled out.

    Not sure what next steps I should take to resolve this.
     
  3. mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    May 27, 2017 at 1:09 PM #113
    mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    Guys, is it still the case that the Pascal cards are not supported on anything before 10.12.x? Unfortunately, Sierra is just not working out for me (too many issues, with sleep, usb, slow-downs, audio). Want to stick with 10.11.x for now but I currently have a Pascal card. -Thanks.

    :banghead:
     
  4. mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    May 27, 2017 at 9:38 PM #114
    mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    Guys, I'm running out of ideas. I've been fighting with getting a Pascal graphics card running for over a week now. Learned a lot along the way, but still no joy. Got a GeForce GTX 1060 3GB card. I can get it to load the web driver (at least that what it says) but there is no difference in graphics at all. A lot of flickering and such. Noticed that it's not showing up in ECC in the Nvidia Driver Manager Settings either. Posting my config.plist file in the hope that someone might be able to give me some pointers. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. baaelectronics

    baaelectronics

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 28, 2017 at 3:46 AM #115
    baaelectronics

    baaelectronics

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My machine with HD 530 graphics is being incorrectly identified as HD 7000 7MB and will display artifacting all over highly complicated parts of the display. When installing Intel 5xx drivers from MultiBeast, the machine hangs on the Apple logo, but with Lulu and IntelGraphicsFixup kexts installed, the machine boots fine but still does not utilize the full HD 530 specs.
     
  6. mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    May 30, 2017 at 9:41 PM #116
    mrBitey

    mrBitey

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    ASUS P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz LGA 1156 Quad-Core
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GTX 1060 3GT OC 3GB 192-Bit GDDR5
    Found out what the issue was.
    By accident, after pressing F8, I chose the wrong drive to boot up from--by wrong drive, I mean one that I was running OS X El Capitan on, with Clover v2.3k_r3423, instead of the one running OS Sierra with Clover v2.4k_r4077. By doing that, I inadvertently booted the OS Sierra drive using an older version of Clover (v2.3k_r3423) that was running off the separate OS El Capitan drive. The end result was OS Sierra running perfectly fine!

    I pushed this theory a little further and installed Multibeast 8.2.3 for El Capitan (which contains Clover v2.3k_r3423) onto the OS Sierra drive (instead of Multibeast 9.1), and now when I boot directly from the OS Sierra drive, everything is running great! Nvidia web driver is loaded, graphics card is properly recognized.

    For the life of me, I could not get 10.11.x to ever run smoothly, even when using Clover v2.3k_r3423, but quite frankly I really don't care anymore since I'd rather be at the latest release anyway.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  7. gubraune

    gubraune

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H87N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080ti Founders Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 1, 2017 at 2:56 PM #117
    gubraune

    gubraune

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H87N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080ti Founders Edition
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Someone could get two monitors working with nvidia web drivers?

    I have MacOS 10.12.5 and the latest web drivers

    My system definition is 14,2

    I have one GTX 1080ti Founders Edition with two monitors, both are conected via DP on my card

    With one Monitor the system works perfect, when I start de second one, it doesn´t get any images eventhough it is detect by OSX.

    Tried everything, Lilu kext, Nvidia Fix kext, nvidia_drv=1.....

    Any help will be apreciatted
     
  8. CeeeWeee

    CeeeWeee

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake 4Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 3, 2017 at 2:13 PM #118
    CeeeWeee

    CeeeWeee

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170-HD3P
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake 4Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    SOLVED: I used method 6!!! (from the Driver Load section)

    Hi Forum,

    just yesterday installed my first Hackintosh ever - so far so good.

    BUT - I have no luck with the graphics. When I Inject the Nvidia card during boot in Clover, the card show in "About this Mac" but with only 7mb. In the Nvidia panel ECC it says "No Device Found".

    I attach my config.plist. I hope one of you guys can check it for me.

    By the way - I had it working last night. Now I do not remember the sequence of things I did. I remember it seemed simple after installing the drivers. Later I decided to start over (some SMC panic issues) and I am stuck here.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 3, 2017
  9. OregonNatter

    OregonNatter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Aug 1, 2017 at 1:21 PM #119
    OregonNatter

    OregonNatter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    When I want to change the Resolution to my native one (1280x1024) the system is freezing. The Nvidia Web Drivers were installed successfully and I Can open the Nvidia driver. The Graphics card is shown right (2GB Ram, Nvidia GT 610….)

    Any solutions?


    I am on Sierra 10.12.6



    EDIT: Now I got my native resolution, but I got Glitches and the performance on Launchpad is very poor. The GPU is shown up right
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  10. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,938
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 2, 2017 at 6:21 PM #120
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,938
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Since we're not telepathic, we need to know your system components. See the tonymacx86 Forum Rules & Policies on signature block components.

    Additionally, please provide complete details in your Profile.

    Mobo: motherboard manufacturer/model
    CPU: detailed CPU model (e.g., i7-4770K)
    Graphics: Video card manufacturer/model and/or Intel Integrated Graphics version (e.g., HD4600)

    See my Profile items to the left of my post, under my name.

    By completing your Profile and signature block, you help us help you better. :thumbup:
     
    OregonNatter likes this.

Share This Page