Contribute
Register

Random Freezes with Radeon 560

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Just wanted to check-in on this thread again, and see if anyone found any solves. Sometimes I'll go several weeks without using my Hackintosh, then I'll have an intensive video editing project and use it a lot. Right now I'm using it a lot, it's freezing, and driving me nuts.

Anyone found a solid solution? Or recommend a GFX card that will have far less issues?

Lately, I've tried updating to the latest Lilu/whatevergreen kext, but Mac OS Freezes in the middle of the boot screen. I've tried the last 2-3 versions of those kexts, and still no luck. So I'm currently using Lilu 1.2.3 and Whatevergreen 1.1.7, which allows me to actually boot.
I sold my RX560, went back to my onboard HD4000 and haven't done any video editing. I do use the machine every day (pretty hard) and it has been rock solid. I wasted so much time trying to get my RX560 to work I haven't the time or inclination to find another card! Sorry I didn't have better news!
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7 2600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hi,
I successfully updated my z68x build with i7 2600k cpu and rx560 from 10.13.6 to 10.14. The fcpx freezing reemerged and after spending A LOT of time on the forum here I finally nailed it. I think.
I enabled iGPU in bios, I have inject Intel enabled, lilu and weg kexts in efi/clover/kext/other and config.plist as per https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/ And the most important thing is changing to Mac Pro 5,1. See here https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898
No freezes with 2 monitors in DP and HDMI in rx560.
Oh, and the hd3000 shows in sys report but is obviously not utilised in Mojave.
Try it and hope it helps.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have been using my RX560 since the spring or earlier perhaps, definitely enabling iGPU and injecting intel with lilu and weg stopped my random freezing ages ago.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
670
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3 F23g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi check whether your RX560 is in a slot with all 16 lanes available, if not it could induce freezing. I had this with my RX580, randomly freezing whenever it felt like. I solved that problem by removing a card that I had inadvertently placed in the 8 lane pcie slot, which when doing so, reduces the available lanes to your graphics card from 16 to 8 lanes. This particularly seems to occur on Gigabyte mobos. Refer to the attached file for clarification.
Cheers
 

Attachments

  • PCIe Lane width 16.png
    PCIe Lane width 16.png
    246 KB · Views: 192
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 560
Hi,
I successfully updated my z68x build with i7 2600k cpu and rx560 from 10.13.6 to 10.14. The fcpx freezing reemerged and after spending A LOT of time on the forum here I finally nailed it. I think.
I enabled iGPU in bios, I have inject Intel enabled, lilu and weg kexts in efi/clover/kext/other and config.plist as per https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/ And the most important thing is changing to Mac Pro 5,1. See here https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898
No freezes with 2 monitors in DP and HDMI in rx560.
Oh, and the hd3000 shows in sys report but is obviously not utilised in Mojave.
Try it and hope it helps.

Thanks for all this info! It's super helpful. I assume there's not a um easier way to apply the Intel Framebuffer patch? Looking through the instructions it's a little above my Hackintosh skills.
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
376
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi check whether your RX560 is in a slot with all 16 lanes available, if not it could induce freezing. I had this with my RX580, randomly freezing whenever it felt like. I solved that problem by removing a card that I had inadvertently placed in the 8 lane pcie slot, which when doing so, reduces the available lanes to your graphics card from 16 to 8 lanes. This particularly seems to occur on Gigabyte mobos. Refer to the attached file for clarification.
Cheers
This is interesting. However I think (from a quick google) the RX560 is "only" an 8x card. I notice your screenshot is for a RX580 which is a much beefier card which is a 16 card.

Happy to be corrected though. My RX560 only displayed at 8x (from looking up an old screenshot) and it froze randomly and drove me crazy and I got rid of it. If this was the issue I may try another...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H
CPU
I5 2500K
Graphics
HD 3000 + RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
Hi,
I successfully updated my z68x build with i7 2600k cpu and rx560 from 10.13.6 to 10.14. The fcpx freezing reemerged and after spending A LOT of time on the forum here I finally nailed it. I think.
I enabled iGPU in bios, I have inject Intel enabled, lilu and weg kexts in efi/clover/kext/other and config.plist as per https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/ And the most important thing is changing to Mac Pro 5,1. See here https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898
No freezes with 2 monitors in DP and HDMI in rx560.
Oh, and the hd3000 shows in sys report but is obviously not utilised in Mojave.
Try it and hope it helps.
hi!
Sorry to bother you but I have the same motherboard and I just bought the RX560 and I wondered if you had to keep the -disablegfxfirmware in Clover boot option?
I already have all the kexts you mentioned and inject Intel too, I changed to MacPro 5.1 and now I'll just have to check the iGPU in bios later when I'll try to install that RX560.
Thank you for the help (your post already helped a lot ;) )
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7 2600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
hi!
Sorry to bother you but I have the same motherboard and I just bought the RX560 and I wondered if you had to keep the -disablegfxfirmware in Clover boot option?
I already have all the kexts you mentioned and inject Intel too, I changed to MacPro 5.1 and now I'll just have to check the iGPU in bios later when I'll try to install that RX560.
Thank you for the help (your post already helped a lot ;) )
No need for disablegfxfirmware with my setup.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII FORMULA
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Enabling iGPU (injecting Intel and specifying ig-platform-id in clover, and enabling multi-monitor in BIOS) has solved solved this problem for me as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top