Contribute
Register

Radeon VII performance... Possible to add Nvidia for Processing?

Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
3.21 Ghz 6 core
Graphics
Radeon Vii
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hey guys, I've been tearing my hair out trying to research this on my own, and I'm hoping one of you experts can answer this simply and maybe offer some advice. You all have saved me significant headaches through the years with your diligence and generosity.

My machine was built by a friend a few years ago, and I've slowly updated it over the years to it's current state, running Catalina, with the system specs I have (also 64gb ram)

I primarily use the machine for VFX, Color, and Editing, in that order of priority. I grade in Davinci Resolve, VFX in After Effects, and Edit in Premiere. I'm not gonna bitch and moan about how dumb Adobe is with it's hardware usage.

But I can't help but feel that the Radeon Vii should perform significantly better than it does in Resolve.

2 Questions...
1 Is there something I can do to boost/optimize it?
2 If not, is it possible to leave the Radeon Vii in there to do all things Mac OS and whatnot related, and also install an Nvidia 2080 ti, just for processing in Resolve (and whatever other plug ins I have that benefit more from CUDA)?

It's depressing to think that the 16GB Radeon Vii just kinda does MEH work.

Really grateful to you all for the help, and I apologize if this is the epitome of naïveté for even asking this.

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,005
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If not, is it possible to leave the Radeon Vii in there to do all things Mac OS and whatnot related, and also install an Nvidia 2080 ti, just for processing in Resolve (and whatever other plug ins I have that benefit more from CUDA)?
The only way to use the 2080 Ti with Resolve and the Adobe Suite is to install Windows 10.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
3.21 Ghz 6 core
Graphics
Radeon Vii
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Well, if not the 2080, some other CUDA card? I had a 1080 ti before (unfortunately I sold it, so I can't test anything at the moment). Is it just not possible in Catalina, or is it the RX series?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,005
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well, if not the 2080, some other CUDA card? I had a 1080 ti before (unfortunately I sold it, so I can't test anything at the moment). Is it just not possible in Catalina, or is it the RX series?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
3.21 Ghz 6 core
Graphics
Radeon Vii
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Great resource, thanks for sharing! I’m a little bit vexed because the article doesn’t mention the VII, and no one here has addressed it. Did I pick a fast horse with a broken ankle? How come I’m getting such shitty playback in Resolve? Is there anything that can be done to improve performance?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,005
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there anything that can be done to improve performance?
For those questions you should post in the graphics forum and do some testing to determine if your system is configured correctly.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,005
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I’m a little bit vexed because the article doesn’t mention the VII, and no one here has addressed it.
If you watch this video you'll get a better idea why you only get top tier performance with AMD cards and FCP X. Adobe and Black Magic don't optimize their software as well as Apple does for macOS. Their software doesn't fully utilize the AMD GPU used in the Mac Pro or your hackintosh.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
856
Motherboard
ASRock X99 Extreme6
CPU
E5-2690 v4
Graphics
Radeon VII
Have you verified that in Resolve you are being limited by GPU performance, rather than by the CPU? What indicators did you use?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
3.21 Ghz 6 core
Graphics
Radeon Vii
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Have you verified that in Resolve you are being limited by GPU performance, rather than by the CPU? What indicators did you use?
Hey man, I haven't done any testing to compare to performance A) with my old card and B) with the older OS because I didn't take any benchmarks before I upgraded and I can't now since I don't have the equipment anymore. But, I definitely feeeeel a difference working with the same time of material that I used to with the 1080 and High Sierra or whatever OS, which I had going for a couple years before this "upgrade."

Have any recommendations on how to do that?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
862
Motherboard
X299 Designare EX
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, if not the 2080, some other CUDA card? I had a 1080 ti before (unfortunately I sold it, so I can't test anything at the moment). Is it just not possible in Catalina, or is it the RX series?

A K6000 or K5200 is about the fastest Cuda card you can use. It must be Kepler based (old)
 
Top