Contribute
Register

Radeon VII (and new AMD gpus) compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
26
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi niner, can you please let me know, which Sapphire bios you flashed in? I tried today, unfortunately the kernel panic problem still there.
Ok so that actually didn't work. The problem is so sporadic that the extra time I got I thought it was fixed. Still had the issues but I did find out what was the problem.

There is a setting on my board (ASUS Rog Strix Gaming z390-I) and you should check yours "Hyper M.2x16" which changes the speed of the PCI ports for the NVME sticks. This was causing my Radeon card to run at 8x instead of 16x which was causing ALL the issues. Once I disabled this everything worked perfectly. If you don't have this setting then verify your Radeon is running at 16x in your BIOS. I also read that if you have 8x cards installed in other PCI slots that can affect the speed of your GFX card. If you can't find out if your card is running at 16x and you do have other PCI cards installed then I'd remove everything but the GFX card and see if that works. Let me know if this works or if you need anything else.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII + GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
moved to another thread
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7-F10
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok so that actually didn't work. The problem is so sporadic that the extra time I got I thought it was fixed. Still had the issues but I did find out what was the problem.

There is a setting on my board (ASUS Rog Strix Gaming z390-I) and you should check yours "Hyper M.2x16" which changes the speed of the PCI ports for the NVME sticks. This was causing my Radeon card to run at 8x instead of 16x which was causing ALL the issues. Once I disabled this everything worked perfectly. If you don't have this setting then verify your Radeon is running at 16x in your BIOS. I also read that if you have 8x cards installed in other PCI slots that can affect the speed of your GFX card. If you can't find out if your card is running at 16x and you do have other PCI cards installed then I'd remove everything but the GFX card and see if that works. Let me know if this works or if you need anything else.
Hi niner,

Thank you. I'm pretty sure my Vii work with 16x, I only have a PCIE network device on the x1.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
26
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi niner,

Thank you. I'm pretty sure my Vii work with 16x, I only have a PCIE network device on the x1.
Well at the very least I'd give it a shot without your network device installed. Let me know what you find if anything.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7-F10
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well at the very least I'd give it a shot without your network device installed. Let me know what you find if anything.
Sadly nothing happened after I remove the network device. Still have KP issue.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
x299
CPU
i9
Graphics
Radeon VII
Run a radeon VII with the mini 6pin ONLY with powerplaytable;


I tested the kext on 10.15.1 beta3 but blackscreen with Whatevergreen(1.3.4), I modified the kext and now working perfectly for Radeon VII.
 

Attachments

  • CustomPowerPlay.kext.zip
    3.8 KB · Views: 93
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
PRIME - x299A
CPU
I9 7900X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! Is there still problems with non Sapphire Radeon VII in 10.14.6 and beyond? I have a Sapphire version working very well in a x299 system, want to build another one but can't find Sapphire's VII anywhere. Thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
104
Motherboard
Mac Pro 6,1 2013
CPU
Xeon > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
D700 dual + Radeon VII eGPU
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
How Do I Fix This Mess Mac Pro 2012 3.2 GHZ 16 gb ddr 3 Radeon VII radeon hd5770
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.41.44.png
    Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.41.44.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 125
  • Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.41.57.png
    Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.41.57.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 160
  • Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.42.02.png
    Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.42.02.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 117
  • Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.42.05.png
    Screenshot 2019-11-05 at 09.42.05.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 108
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
I can’t for the life of me get any temperature or frequency data from my Radeon VII. I use virtualsmc, which I know doesn’t have GPU sensors. I was able to read out just temp with fakesmc, but I lost all CPU data. My Vega FE reads out just fine. I’ve tried both iStat menus and hwmonitor.

Any insight I can use to figure this out? Anyone have temps with a Radeon VII?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus X299 SAGE
CPU
I9-9840X
Graphics
Radeon VII
I can’t for the life of me get any temperature or frequency data from my Radeon VII. I use virtualsmc, which I know doesn’t have GPU sensors. I was able to read out just temp with fakesmc, but I lost all CPU data. My Vega FE reads out just fine. I’ve tried both iStat menus and hwmonitor.

Any insight I can use to figure this out? Anyone have temps with a Radeon VII?

You are not alone ;-)
me neither (with FakeSMC + various plugins including the GPU one)
Having such readings would be the icing on the cake of my Hack-beast!
I'm currently optionless....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top