Contribute
Register

Radeon RX 4XX/5XX standalone system, AMDRadeonX4250.kext (GVA support H264) does not support HEVC HW

Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot guys!

I already fixed it and compiled correctly.
Unfortunately everything works fine with the latest version of Lilu and WEG (1.3.6) except DRM playback in Safari (shikigva=80) makes computer freeze.

I don't even want to change SMBIOS (17,1) because it fits perfectly my system and hardware encoding is smooth.(And recommended by Acidentera)
DRM on Safari is the only issue remaining and it works using other web browsers so I think I'm done with headaches for now. Let's wait and see on release day ! lol
in my case imacpro1,1 shikivga=16 works without any values in device/properties
H264 not working H256 works
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-z97x-ud7 TH
CPU
i5 4690k
Graphics
Sapphire RX 590 Nitro+
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
I5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630+RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello,Rajkhand.
I had read your EFI,You say With this values iMovie,FCP and Darktable DON'T work.
Mabe you can patch connector by hackintool and change bus id to 0x04 of index 3, please follow picture as below
My M/B is Gigabyte Z390 M(Have DVI*1/DP*1/HDMI*1) and MSI rx580 armor 8G OC.

I only connect the HDMI cable to the HDMI port and use it to boot, the other two i have not tested,This method works fine with FCPX .If the bus id is incorrect, FCPX will close quickly when you open

Clover/device/Properties text mode (patch by Hackintool)
-------------------------------------------------------------------
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
BwCbPg==
</data>
<key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
<string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
<key>device-id</key>
<data>
mz4AAA==
</data>
<key>device_type</key>
<string>Display controller</string>
<key>enable-hdmi20</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
<data>
AAAAgA==
</data>
<key>hda-gfx</key>
<string>onboard-2</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Mobile)</string>
</dict>
</dict>
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BruceX Test - 5K 10s (I5-8500/32G DDR4/RX580/ADATA SX8200PNP 512G)
I tried it and can confirm that FCP works but if I try to share for Computer device it reboots the computer. Also Hackintool says VDA Decoder Fully Supported but Videoproc cannot enable HEVC encoder
Hi,Rajkhand
Sorry for posted a connector patch and I lost a key
That have four keys per connector,like con1-busid/con1-enable/con1-pipe/con1-type

<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>AQAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data> AQAAAA== </data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>EgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>AgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>AQAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>EgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>



I don't understand why the clover configurator is missing this KEY when I pasted and saved.
Please use Xcode or PlistEdit Pro to add it and confirm its existence again, The reference values are as below

<key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>

This KEY defines the value of the connector as HDMI. No restart occurred in my test.

If you use 10.15.2 you need hevcenabler.kext,That will enable HEVC of videoproc
If the restart happens again,May be your display port are different with my GA Z390 M
Please fix connector ports with hackintool yourself, like attach file
 

Attachments

  • 螢幕快照 2019-12-18 12.17.23.png
    螢幕快照 2019-12-18 12.17.23.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 62
  • HEVCEnabler.kext.zip
    2.4 KB · Views: 60
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,Rajkhand
Sorry for posted a connector patch and I lost a key
That have four keys per connector,like con1-busid/con1-enable/con1-pipe/con1-type

<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>AQAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data> AQAAAA== </data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>EgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>AgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>AQAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>EgAAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>



I don't understand why the clover configurator is missing this KEY when I pasted and saved.
Please use Xcode or PlistEdit Pro to add it and confirm its existence again, The reference values are as below

<key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>

This KEY defines the value of the connector as HDMI. No restart occurred in my test.

If you use 10.15.2 you need hevcenabler.kext,That will enable HEVC of videoproc
If the restart happens again,May be your display port are different with my GA Z390 M
Please fix connector ports with hackintool yourself, like attach file
Will try thanks
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
I5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630+RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
in my case imacpro1,1 shikivga=16 works without any values in device/properties
H264 not working H256 works
You can use my CONFIG.PLIST / CLOVER UEFI / CLOVER Kext first, like I posted early, I have used rx570, the settings are not different with rx580

remove whatever green 1.3.6 use hevcenabler.kext and patch DSDT/ACPI for h.265 HEVC
 

Attachments

  • 螢幕快照 2019-12-18 16.38.13.png
    螢幕快照 2019-12-18 16.38.13.png
    94.6 KB · Views: 100
  • 螢幕快照 2019-12-18 16.43.27.png
    螢幕快照 2019-12-18 16.43.27.png
    201.2 KB · Views: 94
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can use my CONFIG.PLIST / CLOVER UEFI / CLOVER Kext first, like I posted early, I have used rx570, the settings are not different with rx580

remove whatever green 1.3.6 use hevcenabler.kext and patch DSDT/ACPI for h.265 HEVC
when you say remove whatevergreen 1.3.6 you mean completely remove? or use 1.3.5 and not 1.3.6? what about Lilu?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M
CPU
I5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630+RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
when you say remove whatevergreen 1.3.6 you mean completely remove? or use 1.3.5 and not 1.3.6? what about Lilu?

I post the 10.15.2 H.264 HEVC Performance Test Result (#1336) uses the following settings ,I used wehatevergreen 1.3.5 and Lilu 1.4 now.

Clover bootloader V5100

UEFI

ApfsDriverLoader.efi
DataHubDxe.efi
EmuVariableUefi.efi
FSInject.efi
HFSPlus.efi
NvmExpressDxe.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
PartitionDxe.efi

KEXT
HEVCEnabler.kext (v.1.0)
XHCI-unsupported.kext (v.0.9.2)
WhateverGreen.kext (v.1.3.5)
USBPorts.kext (v.1.0) ----Customized USB 2/3 BY Hackintool v2.8.7 and recognize
Lilu.kext (v.1.4.0)
IntelMausiEthernet.kext (v.2.4.1d1)
FakeSMC.kext (v.1800)
FakeSMC_SMMSensors.kext (v.1800)
FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext (v.1800)
FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext (v.1800)
FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext (v.1800)
FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext (v.1800)
AppleALC.kext (v.1.4.4)
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
946
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Try CPUFriend for CPU PM, should work with IVY + iMacPro1,1.
Thanks. That CPUFriend kext helped.
I ran :
Code:
./ResourceConverter.sh -k Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist

where is the file Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist was copied from
/System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/X86PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/Resources

The script generated the CPUFriendDataProvider.kext which was copied to /E/C/K/Other (together with CPUFriend.kext)
Now, average CPU power consumption is much lower as the minimum 1.6Ghz is reached more often (during idle):

iMacPro1,1-with CPU Friend-with SSDT-x-PI-Yes.png


This works in conjunction with my SSDT-0.aml (CPU power management SSDT) generated by PikerAlpha's ssdtPRGen.sh script for my i7-3770K (OC'ed to 4.8Ghz).
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
270
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. That CPUFriend kext helped.
I ran :
Code:
./ResourceConverter.sh -k Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist

where is the file Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist was copied from
/System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/X86PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/Resources

The script generated the CPUFriendDataProvider.kext which was copied to /E/C/K/Other (together with CPUFriend.kext)
Now, average CPU power consumption is much lower as the minimum 1.6Ghz is reached more often (during idle):

View attachment 441248

This works in conjunction with my SSDT-0.aml (CPU power management SSDT) generated by PikerAlpha's ssdtPRGen.sh script for my i7-3770K (OC'ed to 4.8Ghz).

Can you explain little more about this situation. So in your case U have Ivy CPU, witch is X86PlatformPlugin and trying to get work on AppleACPIPlatform platform right ?
So please tell me more about this case. for CPU 2th gen and 3th gen. SO I can send you EFI one of my Z77 machine with i5-2500K witch work on SmBios iMacPro1,1 and AppleACPIPlatform and I thing it's work very well. even OC I clocked to 5.4 but now I 5.0GHz - 24/7. This machine is one of my favorite one. and What can I do in this case. to do it better ?
 
Last edited:
Top