Contribute
Register

Radeon RX 4XX/5XX standalone system, AMDRadeonX4250.kext (GVA support H264) does not support HEVC HW

Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
262
Motherboard
Ignore me
CPU
I'm ignoring
Graphics
Forum RULES !!!
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Not sure, recently only down side is memory mis-config alert issue but work fine, no other issue was found yet.

Hi Shuhung and others here,

Thanks for your comments and good work. I'm hopeful the results of my tests will be useful
and that you can advise me.

I'm trying to use an MSI low profile RX 560 (0x67FF1002) as a standalone DGPU, with HD 2500
IGPU disabled in bios, in HP 8300s with the i5-3470 CPU. I am using your dummy152.kext from
post 1242 and WEG 1.3.5 as described below. I'm trying to find the best SMBIOS and shiki
settings to enable VDAdecoder, H264, and HEVC.

I tried using MacPro7,1 as the SMBIOS with -wegoff as you described and can verify that Hackintool
says VDA decoder is fully supported, VideoProc says that both H264 and HEVC are supported at 4K
resolution, and both of the Sony HEVC videos (Swordsmith and Food Fizzle) play smoothly. There are
three downsides however: (1) there are minor video glitches in boot, and (2) looking in IORegistryExplorer
I can see that there are six framebuffers set up for the DGPU (renamed to GFX0 in a DSDT patch),
instead of the three framebuffers set up for the DGPU with WEG enabled, and (3) the memory
configuration alert. I tried to modify provide a SSDT for the DGPU property injection as in the sample at


and, in particular, to uncomment and set "CFG, CFG_FB_LIMIT" to 0x3, but I couldn't figure out how to
make it work like WEG does. I also tried injecting that property through Clover Device Properties but
couldn't make that work either. I don't like to think of wasting half my graphics card memory, so I
was hoping someone more clever here could help with the SSDT configuration of the framebuffers.

I also tried using the iMacPro1,1 as the SMBIOS with WEG enabled and can verify that Hackintool
says VDA decoder is fully supported, VideoProc says that both H264 and HEVC are supported at 4K
resolution, and both of the Sony HEVC videos (Swordsmith and Food Fizzle) play smoothly. I tried using
the boot argument shikigva=16, and can see it introduces a Hwdrm-id in IORegistryExplorer equal
to the iMacPro1,1 ID (Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94), but this setting causes VDA Decoder to fail. I also
tried using the boot arguments shikigva=32 and shiki-id=Mac-27AD2F918AE68F61, the ID of the MacPro7,1,
and can verify that Hackintool says VDA decoder is fully supported, VideoProc says that both H264 and
HEVC are supported at 4K resolution, and both of the Sony HEVC videos (Swordsmith and Food Fizzle)
play smoothly. I can also see that I get only three framebuffers set up for the DGPU with WEG enabled.

So perhaps it is possible to get the best of both iMacPro1,1 and MacPro7,1 without the downside of the
MacPro7,1 SMBIOS definition.

I also tried using shikigva=32 and shiki-id=Mac-27AD2F918AE68F61 or shiki-id=Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94
in the same machine with SMBIOS defined as a MacPro6,1. In each case, VideoProc says that HEVC is
not supported, but both of the Sony HEVC videos (Swordsmith and Food Fizzle) play smoothly.

Thanks again for your help with the standalone AMD cards.

Lisa
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
step 5 open Clover Configurator
your config.plist
you should delete few Devices before reboot
delete RADEON devices there 2 Video and Audio
delete Mainboard audio devices
and now you can reboot
step 6
after reboot go to
About this mac > system report > PCI
and have a look Devices Installed, you should remove all devices witch is NOT LOAD,
I am not able to understand the above steps 5 & 6, can you be more specific with example and screenshot?
thanks
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
270
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am not able to understand the above steps 5 & 6, can you be more specific with example and screenshot?
thanks
So Wen you export config.plist and reboot system lost audio.
and that why you should delete this 3 devices.
2 of them are AMD radeon 1 video + 2 audio
and 3 one are mainboard audio.

right here look photo > Clover >Device > Properties
and find this 3 one. delete it and reboot


step 6 look 2 screen shot. delete all devices witch are NO. they are not loaded and yours system not need it.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-12-03 at 13.00.14.png
    Screenshot 2019-12-03 at 13.00.14.png
    177.5 KB · Views: 58
  • Screenshot 2019-12-03 at 13.02.41.png
    Screenshot 2019-12-03 at 13.02.41.png
    164.3 KB · Views: 55
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So Wen you export config.plist and reboot system lost audio.
and that why you should delete this 3 devices.
2 of them are AMD radeon 1 video + 2 audio
and 3 one are mainboard audio.

right here look photo > Clover >Device > Properties
and find this 3 one. delete it and reboot


step 6 look 2 screen shot. delete all devices witch are NO. they are not loaded and yours system not need it.
thanks, now in videoproc both h264/265 are enabled under hardware acceleration in Hackintool VDA Decoder is fully supported but in Safari Netflix and prime videos are not working.

Also one question about the patch which is generated as per your guide. Is it necessary to generate the additional patches for PCI devices or patch for only frame buffer can also work?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
270
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks, now in videoproc both h264/265 are enabled under hardware acceleration in Hackintool VDA Decoder is fully supported but in Safari Netflix and prime videos are not working.

Also one question about the patch which is generated as per your guide. Is it necessary to generate the additional patches for PCI devices or patch for only frame buffer can also work?

for DRM use new method update Lilu and WhateverGreen and again check it.
About PCI device. not work, I test on 3 machine and if is not add PCI patched ( only frame buffer ) not working. I don't know why but is fact :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
for DRM use new method update Lilu and WhateverGreen and again check it.
About PCI device. not work, I test on 3 machine and if is not add PCI patched ( only frame buffer ) not working. I don't know why but is fact :)
tried with lates kexts both Amazon Prime & Netflix not working
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
270
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
tried with lates kexts both Amazon Prime & Netflix not working
today I tested 3 of my machine
Z390 - 9900K - RX580 -iMac 19.1
Z370 - 8700K - rx580 - iMac 19.2
Z77 - 2500K - rx 560 -iMacPro1,1
all of them are use Catalina 10.15.1
only Z390 working DRM. I should try to put Z370 machine on iMac19,1 to see what happen but I will test this tomorrow.
but in fact on machine Z77 - TV working on trailer but wen play movies give red screen. on other machine Z370 trailer work perfect, but movies not started not give any screen.
question .
how did you find working of machine after my settings ?

https://mab.to/miK9FQ5EV you can check this video ( download firs ) link will work only 3 days.
here is how work TV
xaxa.. now I sow that..
wen I make record screen TV stop working.. black screen in fact is on video.. wen I stop record screen and TV movie working great.. but this is on my Z390 machine. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
163
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
today I tested 3 of my machine
Z390 - 9900K - RX580 -iMac 19.1
Z370 - 8700K - rx580 - iMac 19.2
Z77 - 2500K - rx 560 -iMacPro1,1
all of them are use Catalina 10.15.1
only Z390 working DRM. I should try to put Z370 machine on iMac19,1 to see what happen but I will test this tomorrow.
but in fact on machine Z77 - TV working on trailer but wen play movies give red screen. on other machine Z370 trailer work perfect, but movies not started not give any screen.
question .
how did you find working of machine after my settings ?

https://mab.to/miK9FQ5EV you can check this video ( download firs ) link will work only 3 days.
here is how work TV
xaxa.. now I sow that..
wen I make record screen TV stop working.. black screen in fact is on video.. wen I stop record screen and TV movie working great.. but this is on my Z390 machine. :)
The machine works perfect in other regards like sleep/wake using dGPU for hardware acceleration etc. My machine with my previous setting also worked well except videoproc only supported H265 and Hankintools would report VDA Decoder not supported. Safari playing Netflix or amazon prime not playing has no effect for me as I never see those on my computer and anyway in chrome it is playing so no loss. But your setting makes my machine now more like a true imac, a BIG THANKS

oh! I noticed just now that I have not put -disabegfxfirmware in the clover boot option, will this make any difference? what this flag is used for?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
313
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Which Platform ID needs to be inserted for an i7 8700 (non-k)?
Also, I‘m really having a hard time to understand this guide due to the language barrier..would someone please clear things up?
Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
270
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
right now I make few new test. 8700K
till now I use AAPL,ig-platform-id : 0300913E , because on other 2 option for 8700K not work ( 0300923E, 07009B3E )
but now I change it and everything work perfect , I prefer 07009B3E because it give it work on Imac19,2/macmini8.1 (i7 - 8700/8700B) and I'm using Imac19,2
So I'm tested only 10 min but wen I sow in Graphics/Displays it show Radeon RX 580 (Slot 0, GPU 2):
that mean system recognise 2 GPU and should work.
but again DRM - TV not work. I will make more test.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-12-05 at 16.41.05.png
    Screenshot 2019-12-05 at 16.41.05.png
    153.4 KB · Views: 58
  • Screenshot 2019-12-05 at 16.42.27.png
    Screenshot 2019-12-05 at 16.42.27.png
    185.2 KB · Views: 54
Top