Contribute
Register

Radeon RX 4XX/5XX standalone system, AMDRadeonX4250.kext (GVA support H264) does not support HEVC HW

Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
344
Motherboard
MSI Z270 M7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I only use iMacPro1,1 + AGDP patch + PEGP to GFX0 rename, no WEG, without any ATI injection / FB patches, everything work fine.

Is AGDP patch required when using WEG ? (3770k + RX 580 + SMBIOS iMac pro 1.1). Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,022
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Is AGDP patch required when using WEG ? (3770k + RX 580 + SMBIOS iMac pro 1.1). Thanks.

WEG will auto apply AGDP patches on some SMBIOSs like iMacPro1,1 / MacPro6,1, but some SMBIOSs may not (like, older WEG versions may not apply AGDP patch on Macmini X.X, not sure current version will work or not).
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
344
Motherboard
MSI Z270 M7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
WEG will auto apply AGDP patches on some SMBIOSs like iMacPro1,1 / MacPro6,1, but some SMBIOSs may not (like, older WEG versions may not apply AGDP patch on Macmini X.X, not sure current version will work or not).

Cheers mate !
 
Joined
May 17, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
CPU
Intel i7-9700k
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
First of all thanks a lot for this thread.
I am having issues with FCP. The whole system crashes after a bit of working in FCP. Upon checking iStat it seems that FCP is unable to release VRAM which leads to exhaustion and then crash.
I can't figure out what is it that I am doing wrong. I am using iMacPro SMBIOS with IGPU disabled, everything works well except for this annoying little bug.
Just scrubbing over transitions for couple of minutes is enough to cause a crash. I have tried it with or without Whatevergreen and it's the same result.
Can someone please look at my configuration and see if there's anything wrong? Thank you. :)
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-05-17 at 9.34.49 PM.png
    Screenshot 2019-05-17 at 9.34.49 PM.png
    444.5 KB · Views: 173
  • CLOVER.zip
    5.9 MB · Views: 38
  • Piyush’s iMac Pro.ioreg
    6.2 MB · Views: 32
  • Screenshot 2019-05-17 at 9.44.06 PM.png
    Screenshot 2019-05-17 at 9.44.06 PM.png
    392.5 KB · Views: 168
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
325
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I only use iMacPro1,1 + AGDP patch + PEGP to GFX0 rename, no WEG, without any ATI injection / FB patches, everything work fine.

iMac14,2 does not have AGDP issue, other SMBIOSs may need add AGDP patch as below
View attachment 406238
Ah, yes, it was probably AGDP doing berzerk! Anyway, back to iMac 14,2 and I 'll try the AppleGVA patch of reyder first.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
325
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Try this only on test machine. I only guessing what might be wrong. I'm not gonna debug it to see what really going on because that requires setting up VM and I don't have time for that.

You probably need to fix signature:

Code:
sudo codesign -f -s - /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppleGVA.framework/Versions/A/AppleGVA

First try VER2, it only replaces board-id in binary.

VER1 try with:

defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCDecode -boolean yes

Code:
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCDecode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCEncode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean yes
VER2 is crashing iTunes...

For VER1, will it only modify a plist or a system wide setting? I want to be able to revert back to the 10.14.4 framework in case it doesn't work.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
325
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCDecode -boolean yes

Code:
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCDecode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCEncode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean yes

Just doing this with the original 10.14.5 framework, and it worked fine. Just enabling iTunes DRM, no need to encode or decode on my side...

Thanks @reyder and @zakklol
 
Top