Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Fl0r!an, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. Jungster124

    Jungster124

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X UD3
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX460 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 7:51 AM #821
    Jungster124

    Jungster124

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X UD3
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX460 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My Gigabyte RX 460 4GB works OOB only with the known darkboot issue (IGP as primary). There was no renaming or special kext necessary.
    FCPX works with OpenCL support.

    I have not tried to rename the Card to increase the performance as mentioned in the previous post, yet.
     
  2. timwharton

    timwharton

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GA-B85M-HD3
    CPU:
    3.49 GHz Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    Asus r9 280x directcu ii & HD 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 11:33 AM #822
    timwharton

    timwharton

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GA-B85M-HD3
    CPU:
    3.49 GHz Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    Asus r9 280x directcu ii & HD 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks, i am likely getting one soon. Just not sure whether to bother waiting for kaby lake, with it's better encoding/decoding of h265.
     
  3. GHender3

    GHender3

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500 (2012)
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7770 2GB - Dell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Jan 11, 2017 at 2:59 PM #823
    GHender3

    GHender3

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Dell XPS 8500 (2012)
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7770 2GB - Dell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Hi - I'm signing in for the first time. I'm a self-admitted noob here - I've always purchased and owned real Macs since 1987. I have been following this thread, as I have been presented with a maxed-out Dell XPS 8500, and am trying to screw up the courage to attempt this. I've owned hand-me-down PCs, even back in the days of Windows 3.1, so I have some experience with forcing hardware to work on the non-Mac side.

    The graphics are Intel HD4000 with HDMI output, and AMD HD Radeon 7770 (2 GB). All Dell OEM. From Page 1 of this discussion, it looks as if the 7770 can be used without a fake ID, at least if I apply either of 2 fixes for the black screen at boot issue that crept in with Yosemite 10.10.3. I admit I am still trying to wrap my head around framebuffers.

    But with regard to the El Capitan/ Sierra sleep issue - where and when do you set iGPU = primary? In Dell BIOS, UniBeast, Multibeast, Clover? And, if that is set, would the Radeon wake from sleep, or do you see iGPU output only when you wake from sleep? If I interpret what I am reading here correctly, it appears that the iGPU does not wake up after sleep, but will function again upon reboot, and if I connect it to my display via HDMI, I can even see BIOS, boot options, etc.

    Am I interpreting your post correctly?
     
  4. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 14, 2017 at 1:38 AM #824
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    This may have been posted before, but I just discovered it myself so figured I'd put it up. It may work with other cards, too, not just mine.

    With my R9 280X I wanted to some flexibility with adjusting the clocks and fan curve without flashing the VBIOS. Windows 10 allows that with several pieces of software, but not so in MacOS. It turns out, however, that Clover will load a modded VBIOS from a saved file rather than from the graphics card, all done at boot.

    Here's what I did...

    1. Grabbed a VBIOS from the card with GPU-Z in Win10.
    2. Modded it as required with VBE7. Saved to file name as prescribed in the Clover Wiki.
    (in my case was 1002_6798.rom)
    3. Booted MacOS and mounted the EFI partition
    4. Moved the modded .rom file to EFI/CLOVER/ROM
    5. Rebooted MacOS, selected Load Video BIOS from the Clover Options at startup.
    6. Voila! Did some testing and found out that the new fan curve and clock speeds were working in MacOS.
    7. Set the Load VBIOS option in Clover Configurator to load the modded .rom file at every boot.

    It's not an 'on the fly' solution as is available in Win10, but its certainly workable enough to run a modded VBIOS if desired.


    Cheers!
     
    Saminn, Celtan and Fl0r!an like this.
  5. psgrafix

    psgrafix

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    VisionTek Radeon R9 280X 3G
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, eMac, iMac, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 14, 2017 at 5:58 PM #825
    psgrafix

    psgrafix

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    VisionTek Radeon R9 280X 3G
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, eMac, iMac, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm still running FCPX 10.2.3, too many projects in the pipe to risk upgrading. When I switch over I'll update if there are problems. So far its bulletproof on 10.2.3.
     
  6. Kuau

    Kuau

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Dual R9 280 X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 15, 2017 at 6:54 PM #826
    Kuau

    Kuau

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Dual R9 280 X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Will a Gigabyte RX 460 4GB card work better / faster than a Nvidia Titan which I am currently running for FCPX
     
  7. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,673
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 15, 2017 at 7:14 PM #827
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,673
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Doubtful. FCPX prefers AMD cards, but the RX460 isn't exactly fast...
     
  8. Kuau

    Kuau

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Dual R9 280 X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 15, 2017 at 7:26 PM #828
    Kuau

    Kuau

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Dual R9 280 X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm confused the 460 is a AMD card
     
  9. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,673
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 16, 2017 at 7:28 AM #829
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,673
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It's an AMD card, but a very slow one.
     
  10. Heinrich

    Heinrich

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    2x Sapphire Radeon 7970 Dual-X 3GB GDDR5 OC
    Jan 16, 2017 at 7:28 PM #830
    Heinrich

    Heinrich

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    2x Sapphire Radeon 7970 Dual-X 3GB GDDR5 OC


    Report out: I'd been nervous a second card, power consumption and my Seasonic 650w Gold PSU. Finally grabbed a second 7970 for less than $100 off FleaBay and it went in without issue - immediately recognized with my iMac 13,2 system ID.

    Both cards and a 4.5 overclock never exceeding 500 watts measure at the outlet during Luxomark stress test. FCPX is smoother in multicam. BruceX of 16-17 seconds from 27 seconds.

    Sapphire Dual-X 7970. Cheap, strong and easy.
     
    andreboyrock likes this.

Share This Page