Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Fl0r!an, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2015 at 9:36 PM #31
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Updated first post because of AMD related sleep/wake problems. Just verified today that it's clearly Hackintosh only (same GPU works perfectly fine in genuine MacPro), so we shouldn't wait for Apple to fix this.

    Injection seems to be broken, too: OS X will boot into a black screen as soon as I use Hamachi with my R9 280 (works fine on real Mac).

    I'll look into both issues when I find the time, more information is here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-desktop-support/170781-no-display-usb-after-wake-10-11-a.html

    I've posted ioreg dumps into that thread, if someone is curious...
     
  2. dr.kkarun

    dr.kkarun

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VI Hero Build
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 380
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2015 at 4:38 AM #32
    dr.kkarun

    dr.kkarun

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VI Hero Build
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 380
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sleep and USB are working fine with Tonga (R9 380) in El Capitan, Reason for this exception may be booting with iGPU as primary.
     
  3. rotaha

    rotaha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Oct 20, 2015 at 11:22 AM #33
    rotaha

    rotaha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    i HAVE R9 380 NITRO 4GB. After Installing El Cap with Unibeast when i reboot the machine i cant see the os x. instead im seeing a verbus mode when it stuck there.
    Please Help
     
  4. madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 20, 2015 at 1:46 PM #34
    madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I just tried 7850 and it does not work, same black screen issue as 7750.

    Please update the table!

    Edit by Fl0rian: Sorry for messing up your post, hit the wrong button in a hurry.
     
  5. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 20, 2015 at 3:10 PM #35
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Which system are you on? Yosemite or El Capitan?
    With injection or without? Does the 7750-fix work here?
     
  6. madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 20, 2015 at 3:39 PM #36
    madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Both !

    I have 2 Hard disks, one with Yosemite in production ( Samsung 840 SSD ), and another with El Capitan in test ( WD Caviar Green ) .

    No injection, pure Unibeast 6.0.1 .

    This system are running with my old HD 5770 for now .


    Fábio Rabelo
     
  7. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 20, 2015 at 3:55 PM #37
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Okay... I'm a bit surprised by that, had a HD 7870 in my Yosemite machine just last week (uses exactly the same driver), worked flawlessly.

    Did you check what happens when using AtiInject=True? Tried other ports? Does the display turn on when you sleep&wake the machine, or after hot plugging the monitor?
    Which make is your card?
     
  8. madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 20, 2015 at 4:30 PM #38
    madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Yes, for test I generate 2 boot drives, one with atiinject=thrue and another without it .

    Both are same type and model, Sandisk Cruiser Fit .

    Behavior are exactly the described in blanck screen thread, boot starts ok, bar goes on, but, after a quick image blink, when the full resolution appears with HD 5770, in the 7750 and with the 7850 the screen goes black .

    Both cards are Sapphire made ( the only one I use in my builds )

    With HDMI, same .

    I no longer have a DVI monitor, so this test I can not give you, sorry .

    And, just a side story, a friend of mine have a legacy system, some Gigabyte G41, with a Radeon HD 6670, that Sapphire with passive cooling, and it is working fine out of the box with DP in a Dell 4K monitor .

    Yout table do not show this card, not working or anyway ....


    Fábio Rabelo
     
  9. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 20, 2015 at 4:54 PM #39
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,675
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Okay, could you try applying the same fix as in the 7750/7770 issue thread to your 7850 and report back?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  10. madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 20, 2015 at 4:58 PM #40
    madtrek

    madtrek

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Performa, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Right now I do not have time for this, thats why I put back to work my old 5770 .

    When I have some time to spare, I will try it ...


    Fábio Rabelo
     

Share This Page