Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
29
@alwin006 Hi, I'm pretty new to this forum here and i just saw that you're using the R9 390X.
I wanna use that graphics card, too. So, is it hard to get it running or does it just work fine, using Clover and OS X 10.11.5?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Still no luck for r9 390 fully working?
Seems to be no change; no sleep and shutdown issues, although otherwise functional with fakeID.

@alwin006 Hi, I'm pretty new to this forum here and i just saw that you're using the R9 390X.
I wanna use that graphics card, too. So, is it hard to get it running or does it just work fine, using Clover and OS X 10.11.5?
Should work OOB, but without sleep and with shutdown issues.

Does anyone here know if r9 390 is able to work on Yosemite 10.10.5? I can see the mouse for a split-second and then I get black screen, then the card becomes super hot and he fans turn on to full speed for half a second every 5 seconds. Seems like a driver issue.
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yosemite has Hawaii drivers, but they're quite "beta", like their El Capitan equivalents: Works for some, doesn't work for others.

If I recall correctly, 10.10.4 or 10.10.5 broke DisplayPort support when using InjectAti=False. I'd try to use a different connection and/or make a patched framebuffer.
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry if this is slightly off topic but it is definitely about AMD cards; I am a total Noob!

I wanted a Mac Pro purely for Video Editing using FCPX but the spec I want is over £5k and that's not going to happen; so I've been buying one part a week and I'm nearly there, I've got to the graphics card!

I was always going to buy Nvidia, but Ieezee at the very start of this thread has thrown me totally by saying that he went down this route only to find a cheaper HD7950 was ballistic in FCPX compared to his brand new GTX 980??

Being a Noob I need a total OOB solution with no messing for running FCPX. It seems to me Florians solution would be R9 280 to achieve this; but Ieezee is editing 4K video but yet the max resolution on the 280 is quoted as 2580 x 1600 so how does that work? As a noob this is hard for me to understand?

I have both a 1920 x 1070 monitor and a 4K monitor and they both ONLY have HDMI which is also an issue as the AMDs seem to only have 1 x HDMI out whereas the new GTX have 2 x HDMI?

Also, could I crossfire 2 x 280's and would this also allow me to use both HDMIs?

I still can't work out why the graphics card is doing anything else but process the image on a monitor and had previously thought that the CPU/mem/Hard disk was doing all the hard work in processing an FCPX edit - only from reading here have I sussed out this may not be the case!

All these issues over buying a graphics card, so sorry for asking, any help appreciated.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yosemite has Hawaii drivers, but they're quite "beta", like their El Capitan equivalents: Works for some, doesn't work for others.

If I recall correctly, 10.10.4 or 10.10.5 broke DisplayPort support when using InjectAti=False. I'd try to use a different connection and/or make a patched framebuffer.
Alright, thanks for the reply, it helps alot. Tried both using DVI and DP to DVI through active converter, same thing. Guess I'll just have to Google it a bit, do you happen to know if framebuffers are the same in El Capitan and Yosemite? I Tried the one I had already patched in El Capitan and this was the outcome.

Sorry if this is slightly off topic but it is definitely about AMD cards; I am a total Noob!

I wanted a Mac Pro purely for Video Editing using FCPX but the spec I want is over £5k and that's not going to happen; so I've been buying one part a week and I'm nearly there, I've got to the graphics card!

I was always going to buy Nvidia, but Ieezee at the very start of this thread has thrown me totally by saying that he went down this route only to find a cheaper HD7950 was ballistic in FCPX compared to his brand new GTX 980??

Being a Noob I need a total OOB solution with no messing for running FCPX. It seems to me Florians solution would be R9 280 to achieve this; but Ieezee is editing 4K video but yet the max resolution on the 280 is quoted as 2580 x 1600 so how does that work? As a noob this is hard for me to understand?

I have both a 1920 x 1070 monitor and a 4K monitor and they both ONLY have HDMI which is also an issue as the AMDs seem to only have 1 x HDMI out whereas the new GTX have 2 x HDMI?

Also, could I crossfire 2 x 280's and would this also allow me to use both HDMIs?

I still can't work out why the graphics card is doing anything else but process the image on a monitor and had previously thought that the CPU/mem/Hard disk was doing all the hard work in processing an FCPX edit - only from reading here have I sussed out this may not be the case!

All these issues over buying a graphics card, so sorry for asking, any help appreciated.
A single R9 280 will do you fine, I think crossfire support in Mac OS is next to none, but running dual GPU's gives you double performance in some applications (non-crossfire) so you should check that out. Max resolution for DVI is 2560x1600 while HDMI and DisplayPort can both do 4K. You can get a DVI to HDMI cable/converter and be set with one card, but if you have two cards you can also use one HDMI port on each.
As an added bonus I can confirm that the 280x works wonders with FCPX, I had one recently for testing and I was a bit amazed by the performance.
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX
CPU
I7 6700k
Graphics
HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
A single R9 280 will do you fine, I think crossfire support in Mac OS is next to none, but running dual GPU's gives you double performance in some applications (non-crossfire) so you should check that out. Max resolution for DVI is 2560x1600 while HDMI and DisplayPort can both do 4K. You can get a DVI to HDMI.
Really appreciate the reply hreggi89 as this will simply save me buying a card that I just do not want or need.

Not about to doubt you, but I just looked at an MSI R9 280X and yet again it states max res 2560 x 1600?i know you say this is DVI but surely they would mention that "if you use HDMI you can get 4K", surely a missed selling point opportunity if this is the case?
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
DisplayPort is the way to go, HDMI maxes out at 4K@30Hz, which I wouldn't consider 'acceptable'.

@hreggi89: I don't think anything framebuffer related has changed. I'll have a look at your patch if you upload your ROM here.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Really appreciate the reply hreggi89 as this will simply save me buying a card that I just do not want or need.

Not about to doubt you, but I just looked at an MSI R9 280X and yet again it states max res 2560 x 1600?i know you say this is DVI but surely they would mention that "if you use HDMI you can get 4K", surely a missed selling point opportunity if this is the case?
Check out the link below, Asus 280x states max 4K. You can do 4K at 60HZ using HDMI 2.0, 1.4 does 4K at 30HZ. I don't know however what HDMI version is included in the following graphics card or any r9 280 for that matter, so research that further to make sure before you purchase. If they only have HDMI 1.4 or lower you can get an active DisplayPort to HDMI converter for a few dollars that should to 4K @ 60HZ.
https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/R9280XDC2T3GD5/specifications/

@Fl0rian I've dropped the framebuffer patch now that I only use one display, I was using the same clover config with El Captian (Radeon Framebuffer, fakeID & fixDisplay only) and the same problem persists. I don't know what you mean by uploading ROM, could you please point me in the right direction to clarify. Sadly life is giving me less and less time for hacking.
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
No AMD Radeon so far has HDMI 2.0, only Nvidia Maxwell has. The upcoming RX 480 will be the first AMD with HDMI 2.0 support. Btw, OS X support for HDMI is non-existent so far, so you'll have to use DP anyway.

@hreggi89: Just attach a ROM dump from your GPU & your connectors patch here, I'll have a look at it.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Fl0rian Yeah sure here it is, I'm not allowed to upload .rom files here so use the Drive link below. When you say connectors patch, are you talking about IOJones data or just how my screen is hooked up? I'm only using the DVI port now, the card has one DVI port, one HDMI and three DPs.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-Juz3gxqmZuVWMxUzZGeDFYamc
 

Top