Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
B360M D2v
CPU
i3 9100F
Graphics
HD7700
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
i want to ask about amd radeon hd7700 only get 7mb on big sur, I use opencore 0.6.7, I have added the boot flag radpg = 15
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,236
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Which make and model from the HD7000 series of AMD cards are you using? I use a few XFX HD7870 dGPU's, they work just fine in Catalina with OpenCore, without any extra options, just WhateverGreen.kext.

Have you tried booting the system without the radpg=15 boot argument, what difference does it make?

What other AMD graphics related options have you added?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
B360M D2v
CPU
i3 9100F
Graphics
HD7700
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
What is the device ID?
device ID for amd radeon HD7700
device ID:6837

1616342374292.png
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,236
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
0x6837 is not a natively supported device id in macOS.

There are two that are close HD7750 - 0x683F and HD7770 - 0x683D

You may need to use one of these two device id's, i.e. a fake id, for your HD7700 card.

Which bootloader are you using, Clover or OpenCore?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,504
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Here are the Verde Device IDs for Catalina.

0x68201002 0x68211002 0x68231002 0x68251002 0x68271002 0x682B1002 0x682D1002 0x682F1002 0x68351002 0x68391002 0x683B1002 0x683D1002 0x683F1002

Attached is a sample of a plist edit for open core. You should use Hackintool/PCIe tab to find the correct PCI address. You can dump a PCI devices plist and find the VGA device. This will be the PCI address you can edit the attached to match the correct location. Adjust the AAPL_slot_name as well. You can set the Device IDs as follows. 0x6837. = 0x3768 so you can test the list by checking only the number set after 68.... the 37 can be changed to 27, 21, 3B, etc.. 0x2768, 0x2168, 0x3B68.
You can also test different frame buffer by injecting their name, i.e Hamachi

Screen Shot 2021-03-21 at 3.36.27 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • HD 7700 plist.plist
    650 bytes · Views: 41
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
B360M D2v
CPU
i3 9100F
Graphics
HD7700
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
0x6837 is not a natively supported device id in macOS.

There are two that are close HD7750 - 0x683F and HD7770 - 0x683D

You may need to use one of these two device id's, i.e. a fake id, for your HD7700 card.

Which bootloader are you using, Clover or OpenCore?
I have using opencore 0.6.7
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,236
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you tried adding the Device Property settings for the HD7700 provided by Gigamaxx to your /OC/config.plist?

Other than the needing to confirm the PciRoot address and AAPL,slot-name matches your systems PciRoot address and slot-name, the info should be good to use for your HD7700.

You can check the PciRoot and slot-name for your HD7700 in Hackintool > PCIe devices tab or by using IORegistryExplorer.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,650
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I want to confirm that redsock_bios_decoder doesn't work with Mojave 10.15.6 with a Navi 21 rom. When I try to run it it comes up with 'Uh, are you sure it's an Atom bios?' result. Need to patch my framebuffers because booting the card on its own doesn't work with or without Lilu/WEG or agdpmod=pikera.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
166
Motherboard
H87M-PRO
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 660 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hi to everyone!

I am on first amd gpu now and have some issues with performance. The gpu is mxm wx4150, custom vbios, any os support, laptop HP zbook g3.

So the problem is next: when using discrete mode after some time gpu failed to work on full frequency. The ram clock stuck on 300mhz, but when dual gpu is used, then everything goes well. The restart solves this issue but, it appears again after adobe dreamwaver is opening, or chrome browser, the frequency falls to low.
 
Top