Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-B250M-D2V
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
I'm hitting a wall wth Catalina upgrade. I have a Sapphire Nitro+ RX590 that worked just fine with 10.14 but can't figure out the black screen after 10.15.4 upgrade.

What I have tried so far:
  • Upgraded Clover to 5112, also tried Multibeast 12.1.0 Catalina Edition (that downgraded Clover to 5107)
  • HDMI vs DP
  • Disabled onboard GPU in BIOS
  • Changed OS to Windows 8/10 and Windows 8/10 WHQL to disable CSM support
  • WEG 1.3.8 and Lilu 1.4.3 to EFI/C/k/O, various combination of injecting/not injecting/blocking kexts in Clover boot.
  • Clover boot in safe mode
  • Added SSDT-EC.aml
  • agdpmode=pikera
None of that helped so far, the furthest I get is Apple logo with progress bar, then temporary artifacts in form of purple lines and then black screen, seems like the port has the power because the backlight is on and display doesn't go to sleep.

What I have not tried:
  • Additional binary patches - I understand none are needed with Radeon cards
  • Changing system definition from iMac14,2 - I have no idea what else to try and what effect would it have
  • Flashing BIOS
  • Messing with /L/E or S/L/E - looks like EFI/C/k/O is the preferred method with Catalina anyways
I can boot with onboard Intel graphics (without acceleration but that's probably fixable), obviously that's not what I'm trying to get.


Please help me Obi Wan, you're my only hope
I don't know if this will fix Your issue but try this:
--> Connect Your monitor via HDMI
if this won't work, try changing your SMBIOS from iMac14,2 to Mac Pro 6,1.

NOTE: Remember that, in case this fix won't work, for some reasons You could be not able to boot so try this fix ONLY IF YOU CAN BOOT VIA USB (using the USB that You used for the install), eventually You can re-change the SMBIOS version and try something else...
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH - Clover UEFI
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 590
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
--> Connect Your monitor via HDMI
if this won't work, try changing your SMBIOS from iMac14,2 to Mac Pro 6,1.
HDMI definitely did not work but I was able to finally get it to boot with acceleration via DP. Here's what I did since I last posted:
  • Booted into single user mode and removed old Multibeast kexts from /L/E
  • Updated Clover to 5114
  • Incidentally stupid Windows 10 update wiped my Clover UEFI boot manager and I had to recreate it.
  • Latest WEG, Lilu, FakeSMC, ALC to EFI/C/k/O
  • Changed SMBIOS from iMac14,2 to iMacPro1,1
  • agdpmod=pikera (my previous post had it as agdpmode but I don't remember if I actually tried with e or without, probably doesn't matter anyways since WEG 1.3.8 should take care of it but who knows)
It's likely that SMBIOS version was the culprit, and your suggestion of MacPro6,1 probably would have worked too.

So far everything seems to be in a good shape and stable.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
153
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Maybe Your bios' setting is wrong, try turning "internal graphics" on enabled
Hi I did that and it still boot with Intel4000 but doesn't see the RX580 card. I tried only plugging the caed with HDMI cable. It boots my nothing shows up. its blank and doesn't seem that there is signal sending from the card. I see the fan and the power light is on.

Its driving me crazy here.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-B250M-D2V
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
HDMI definitely did not work but I was able to finally get it to boot with acceleration via DP. Here's what I did since I last posted:
  • Booted into single user mode and removed old Multibeast kexts from /L/E
  • Updated Clover to 5114
  • Incidentally stupid Windows 10 update wiped my Clover UEFI boot manager and I had to recreate it.
  • Latest WEG, Lilu, FakeSMC, ALC to EFI/C/k/O
  • Changed SMBIOS from iMac14,2 to iMacPro1,1
  • agdpmod=pikera (my previous post had it as agdpmode but I don't remember if I actually tried with e or without, probably doesn't matter anyways since WEG 1.3.8 should take care of it but who knows)
It's likely that SMBIOS version was the culprit, and your suggestion of MacPro6,1 probably would have worked too.

So far everything seems to be in a good shape and stable.
Awesome!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-B250M-D2V
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
Hi I did that and it still boot with Intel4000 but doesn't see the RX580 card. I tried only plugging the caed with HDMI cable. It boots my nothing shows up. its blank and doesn't seem that there is signal sending from the card. I see the fan and the power light is on.

Its driving me crazy here.
I had this issue with a second monitor (I have RX 580 too)
I fixed it changing SMBIOS version to mac pro 6,1

NOTE: Remember that, in case this fix won't work, for some reasons You could be not able to boot so try this fix ONLY IF YOU CAN BOOT VIA USB (using the USB that You used for the install), eventually You can re-change the SMBIOS version and try something else...
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
153
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had this issue with a second monitor (I have RX 580 too)
I fixed it changing SMBIOS version to mac pro 6,1

NOTE: Remember that, in case this fix won't work, for some reasons You could be not able to boot so try this fix ONLY IF YOU CAN BOOT VIA USB (using the USB that You used for the install), eventually You can re-change the SMBIOS version and try something else...
Hi all,
I find the problem. It was my power cable that either was not working and I plugged in a different 8pins power connector (luckily I have two from my Power Supply). It shows up and booted on the RX580 card. Now, its running with two monitors. Thanks. I didn't have to do anything except I left the two lilu and WEG (latest kexts) in EFI/Clover/kexts/other folder. It booted up fine and OSX recognize it. also, played a game that didn't worked on my old GTX660.

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
17
Motherboard
ASRock H97M Pro4
CPU
i5-4670k
Graphics
RX 590 Sapphire Pulse
Have they fixed the Vega fan speed issue? I’m on Mojave.

I currently have a 590 with lilu/WTG installed. Wanting to do swap to a Vega 56. Which Vega 56 brand is the most compatible and would work out of the box without any fan issues?
I’m seeing buying guide says MSI air boost but not sure if it’s flawless compatibility?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigbayte
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,650
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@Ricsix86,

GPU's that follow the AMD reference design will give you less installation issues, most non-reference GPU's have more output ports (5 vs 4) and a different mix of DVI, HDMI and DP of ports .. both of these differences from the reference design can cause the black screen on boot issue.

If you instal Lilu + WhatEverGreen it will do its best to enable all the ports on a non-reference AMD GPU but it does not always work in which case you need to manually patch the AMD framebuffer.

Sapphire GPU's tend to be favoured by Apple over other OEM's as they tend to follow the reference design.

dGPU's in MacOS are controlled by the OS via Apples baked in driver kext's and not by the VBIOS on the GPU like in Windows, so all of the RX 570 GPU's in your list will have very similar performance ...

The Sapphire NITRO+ RX 580 4GB GPU has the fastest and most powerful core of the options you listed and should work fine for most work loads as long as the 4GB VRAM is enough for the type of tasks you run.

If you plan on running GPU intensive tasks then opting for a GPU with 8GB of VRAM may be better suited.

You may want to consider getting a Vega 56 or 64 GPU which are way more powerful then RX 570 or RX 580 and are very stable on MacOS, they are also good buy right now (if you can find one in stock) as they are heavily discounted at the moment due to them being superseded by the Navi GPU's ... buying used from eBay is also another option, thats what i did with my Vega 64 Liquid Cooled edition and i've been super happy with it.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigbayte
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
@Ricsix86,

GPU's that follow the AMD reference design will give you less installation issues, most non-reference GPU's have more output ports (5 vs 4) and a different mix of DVI, HDMI and DP of ports .. both of these differences from the reference design can cause the black screen on boot issue.

If you instal Lilu + WhatEverGreen it will do its best to enable all the ports on a non-reference AMD GPU but it does not always work in which case you need to manually patch the AMD framebuffer.

Sapphire GPU's tend to be favoured by Apple over other OEM's as they tend to follow the reference design.

dGPU's in MacOS are controlled by the OS via Apples baked in driver kext's and not by the VBIOS on the GPU like in Windows, so all of the RX 570 GPU's in your list will have very similar performance ...

The Sapphire NITRO+ RX 580 4GB GPU has the fastest and most powerful core of the options you listed and should work fine for most work loads as long as the 4GB VRAM is enough for the type of tasks you run.

If you plan on running GPU intensive tasks then opting for a GPU with 8GB of VRAM may be better suited.

You may want to consider getting a Vega 56 or 64 GPU which are way more powerful then RX 570 or RX 580 and are very stable on MacOS, they are also good buy right now (if you can find one in stock) as they are heavily discounted at the moment due to them being superseded by the Navi GPU's ... buying used from eBay is also another option, thats what i did with my Vega 64 Liquid Cooled edition and i've been super happy with it.

Cheers
Jay
Thank you, Jay!
I chose the 580, mostly use audio related apps, so the 4GB will be enough.
R.
 
Top