Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4GB
Mac
iMac
If you meant the HEVC acceleration for VideoProc, it will be better to install the latest version of WhateverGreen manually as MultiBeast 11 for Mojave includes an older version.
That is what I just did this morning. I followed this guide to enable my intel 4000 graphics. Now both my RX 560 graphics card and internal graphics are working. H.264 is working but my CPU is Ivy Bridge which doesnt support HEVC but my graphics card does support HEVC. I was wondering if there is a way to enable HEVC using the graphics card.

Thanks
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
330
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
That is what I just did this morning. I followed this guide to enable my intel 4000 graphics. Now both my RX 560 graphics card and internal graphics are working. H.264 is working but my CPU is Ivy Bridge which doesnt support HEVC but my graphics card does support HEVC. I was wondering if there is a way to enable HEVC using the graphics card.

Thanks
The easiest way to check is installing VideoProc (no need to purchase) and the settings can detect if the HEVC acceleration is enabled.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4GB
Mac
iMac
The easiest way to check is installing VideoProc (no need to purchase) and the settings can detect if the HEVC acceleration is enabled.
I did that too...

Screen Shot 2020-02-07 at 11.54.57 AM.png
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4GB
Mac
iMac
Not sure about what version your WhateverGreen is as the previous versions don’t support enabling HEVC. Or you have to use a different identifier.
I downloaded the latest one from the website this morning and install with Hackintool
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4GB
Mac
iMac
have you tried different symbios like MacPro 6.1, iMacPro 1.1 etc. ?
No I am using 13,2 because that was recommended in the guide for headless GPUs
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7720 17R SE
CPU
i7-3840QM
Graphics
HD 4000
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello, I have a Sapphire GPRO 4200 graphics card. Here are the specs:

- low profile, single slot
- 4x Mini-DisplayPort
- 4096 MB GDDR5 RAM
- based on Radeon R7 250, detected as Radeon HD8330M
- gfx chipsets: Cape Verde PRO / Venus LE / Tropo-L
- device ID 682b, patched into AMD7000Controller.kext and AMDX4000.kext
- actually configured with "Ramen" framebuffer
- I'm using Mavericks on a Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
- Lilu and WhateverGreen are installed
- Sleep works

The card is working, but I can only use two monitors, the main monitor is connected directly to Displayport, my LG 3D TV is connected via an active Mini-DP to HDMI adapter.
I would like to get all four monitors working, like my Radeon HD6870 (Duckweed). This card had 2x DVI, 1x HDMI and 2x Mini-DP using active Mini-DP to HDMI adapters.
Darwin Dumper shows as BIOS Bootup Message E300 Cape Verde PRO2 GDDR5 256x32. More Infos from Darwin Dumper's Video BIOS:

Connector at index 0
Type : DisplayPort (10)
Encoder: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
i2cia: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2

Connector at index 1
Type : DisplayPort (10)
Encoder: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
i2cia: 0x94, OSX senseid: 0x5

Connector at index 2
Type : DisplayPort (10)
Encoder: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cia: 0x92, OSX senseid: 0x3

Connector at index 3
Type : DisplayPort (10)
Encoder: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cia: 0x95, OSX senseid: 0x6


Greets
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASRock H97M Pro4
CPU
i5-4670k
Graphics
760
Hoping someone can help me out since I've been out of the hackintosh loop for years.

I built/installed one 5 years ago and want to upgrade my GPU from a GTX 760 to RX 580 Sapphire Pulse. I heard the sapphire pulse works right out of the box with no kexts needed (right?).

I'm thinking all I have to do is upgrade my OS from Mavericks to Mojave? and then replace the GPU?

What's the "easiest" way to get this GPU upgrade going without having to wipe my OS?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I heard the sapphire pulse works right out of the box with no kexts needed (right?).

@littyboy,

There are very few GPU's (if any) that work OOB ... A PC's ACPI tables are very different to a Mac's EFI, as such when a GPU is added to a Hackintosh the ACPI device name is usually wrong (EG PEG0 when it should be GFX0).

And depending upon the GPU type certain other MacOS device properties may need to be set to avoid the common black screen on boot issue and display connectors not working.

We generally recommend installing Lilu + WhatEverGreen which will ensure that the RX 580 is configured correctly.

Cheers
Jay
 
Top