Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Just chiming in: when I started building my new setup, I read some stuff about the Gigabyte RX Vega 64 Gaming OC not being the best card for macOS. However, it works flawlessly, I only need WhateverGreen, and I have one of the fastest AMD cards for my hack setup now. I haven't tested all the ports yet, but at least one of the three HDMI ports and one of the three DP ports work. When I move, I might want to test a proper multi monitor setup.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z370-F
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys I’m using Asus Strix 5700xt end everything works fine but when I’ve try to render a video with fcpx seems like the computer don’t uses max gpu acceleration as you can see in the picture.
anyone can help me with that ? Thank you

intel 8700K
Asus Strix z390-E
Asus Strix 5700XT
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,837
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi guys I’m using Asus Strix 5700xt end everything works fine but when I’ve try to render a video with fcpx seems like the computer don’t uses max gpu acceleration as you can see in the picture.

@DevilMatt84,

Thats pretty normal, FCPX only uses the GPU for rendering effects and transitions, it is not used for transcoding.
See this thread for a more in depth discussion on it :-


Try running the BruceX test as detailed in Post #2 which will prove the FCPX is using the GPU when needed.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS Z390A Prime
CPU
i5-9400F
Graphics
GTX 460
Mobile Phone
Android
Have : Catalina 10.15 running on Asus Z390A Prime motherboard, i5 coffee lake 9400F (no integrated graphics), NVMe Kingston 250 Gb storage with nvidia 460gtx (nv_disable=1).

Want to upgrade the nvidia fermi card with an AsRock Radeon rx580 card if it works with my rig.

Q. Does the ASRock Phantom Gaming X Radeon Rx 580 8Gb work out the box on Catalina with hardware acceleration on my setup (z390a, i5 coffee lake with no integrated graphics) ? I have heard to stay clear of AsRock gpus for mojave,catalina.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
358
Motherboard
Asus Prime z370 A-II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ah yes!! I completely forgot about how the T2 factors in... That makes perfect sense! Thank you!
Hey Pastrychef, I have your setup and hardware (9900K, Radeon VII, Mac 1,1, etc.) & wanted to try enabling the IGPU to see if I could replicate the improvements in HEVC exports. After turning it back on in BIOS, the system no longer boots past the Apple logo. I think I’m missing a setting... maybe inject Intel in Clover? Any ideas?

H264 exports quickly in FCPX but HEVC takes as much as 15mn for a 2mn Clip which isn’t right considering the hardware. What’s strange is I have the newest versions of FCPX and Compressor that let me select the VII in preferences.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,078
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Pastrychef, I have your setup and hardware (9900K, Radeon VII, Mac 1,1, etc.) & wanted to try enabling the IGPU to see if I could replicate the improvements in HEVC exports. After turning it back on in BIOS, the system no longer boots past the Apple logo. I think I’m missing a setting... maybe inject Intel in Clover? Any ideas?

H264 exports quickly in FCPX but HEVC takes as much as 15mn for a 2mn Clip which isn’t right considering the hardware. What’s strange is I have the newest versions of FCPX and Compressor that let me select the VII in preferences.
No. Inject Intel isn't the answer.

Please post your EFI.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 ud
CPU
I7 9700k
Graphics
Intel Uhd 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
hi im having trouble finding my frame buffer, in step 2 you say Run redsock_bios_decoder. This will give you the encoder ID and transmitter ID. now this step is assuming that you already know how to use redsock bios decoder because you dont just run it to get the results. i have found no documentation on how to use it and i have tried running it with the bios after it in terminal but no luck. could someone please elaborate on how to use it. thankyou
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,837
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
When I’ve try to render a video with fcpx seems like the computer don’t uses max gpu acceleration

@DevilMatt84,

FCPX will only use the dGPU to render effects and transitions (basically anything that can make use of tile based rendering), it is not used for transcoding, the same is true for just about all Video editing software unless a specific hardware codec accelerator is used such as the RED Rocket card or the new Apple afterburner card.

If you want to see this for yourself run the BruceX video encode test project :-


That project has no source video, it comprises of nothing but effects and transitions so is dGPU heavy.

Edit: Opps sorry, i did not notice that i already answered this in a previous post, please ignore.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
268
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Pastrychef, I have your setup and hardware (9900K, Radeon VII, Mac 1,1, etc.) & wanted to try enabling the IGPU to see if I could replicate the improvements in HEVC exports. After turning it back on in BIOS, the system no longer boots past the Apple logo. I think I’m missing a setting... maybe inject Intel in Clover? Any ideas?

H264 exports quickly in FCPX but HEVC takes as much as 15mn for a 2mn Clip which isn’t right considering the hardware. What’s strange is I have the newest versions of FCPX and Compressor that let me select the VII in preferences.

look this post and next 3 page..
 
Top