Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
14
Motherboard
MSI Z270 SLI Plus
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
5700XT
Ok, I'm getting impatient and thinking of picking up a used e.g. RX 470 for $60 to be able to get hackintosh working again, since my iGPU can't do 60Hz@4k and the 5700XT isn't supported (yet).

Quick question, can I have both GPUs in my Motherboard (physically there's no problem) and use the 5700XT for Windows and RX470 with hackintosh? I'll put the 5700XT in the primary PCI-ex 16x slot and RX470 in the 8x slot, just hope the 5700XT can be disabled with hackintosh and the RX470 won't interfere in Windows.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
RX 550
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Quick question, can I have both GPUs in my Motherboard (physically there's no problem) and use the 5700XT for Windows and RX470 with hackintosh? I'll put the 5700XT in the primary PCI-ex 16x slot and RX470 in the 8x slot, just hope the 5700XT can be disabled with hackintosh and the RX470 won't interfere in Windows.
You can (IMO)! I have RX 550 in slot 1 and, GTX 1060 in slot 2.

Under windows:
- Device Management > (right click) RX 470 > Disable device

Under macOS (EFI): not 100% sure but if possible, you gonna need to build SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml
- See that strong guide from RehabMan. OK, this is a bit "complicated" but it's actually the best solution I found for disabling a second GPU.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think Clover added the functionality to set primary and secondary GPUs with Clover r5051.

I've never tried using it so I have no idea how well it works or how to configure it.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
RX 550
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think Clover added the functionality to set primary and secondary GPUs with Clover r5051.

I've never tried using it so I have no idea how well it works or how to configure it.
Hi @pastrychef,
I'm totally off-topic but I do need to contact you (or another moderator) in private but since I do not have enough messages I can't do that. I have tried the "contact us" days ago button below but without success.

Is there a way for me to reach you or you to reach me please?

Sorry for off-topic, can't find another way to reach a mod...

EDIT: do not hesitate / please delete this message when you've seen it and we get in touch somewhere else.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @pastrychef,
I'm totally off-topic but I do need to contact you (or another moderator) in private but since I do not have enough messages I can't do that. I have tried the "contact us" days ago button below but without success.

Is there a way for me to reach you or you to reach me please?

Sorry for off-topic, can't find another way to reach a mod...

EDIT: do not hesitate / please delete this message when you've seen it and we get in touch somewhere else.
Private messages are frowned up here... It's best to use the "contact us" or start a new thread with whatever issues you may have.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
RX 550
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's best to use the "contact us" or start a new thread with whatever issues you may have.
I had no chance with the "contact us" button (I'm still waiting an answer).

My problem is actually that I posted a new thread in "Mojave Desktop Support" but it might require approval of moderator before being public (may be due to images or external links idk), but I posted it days ago and I can't see it or get it back to post it somewhere else. Actually I'm "stuck", with a big post lost somewhere and no one I can contact about it. As a moderator, may be you have the visibility on this thread? "[HELP] Audio + Intel HD 630...".

Many thanks in advance. And sorry again for off-topic.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had no chance with the "contact us" button (I'm still waiting an answer).

My problem is actually that I posted a new thread in "Mojave Desktop Support" but it might require approval of moderator before being public (may be due to images or external links idk), but I posted it days ago and I can't see it or get it back to post it somewhere else. Actually I'm "stuck", with a big post lost somewhere and no one I can contact about it. As a moderator, may be you have the visibility on this thread? "[HELP] Audio + Intel HD 630...".

Many thanks in advance. And sorry again for off-topic.
External links may well be the problem... My best recommendation would be to redo the post minus the links.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
14
Motherboard
MSI Z270 SLI Plus
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
5700XT
You can (IMO)! I have RX 550 in slot 1 and, GTX 1060 in slot 2.

Under windows:
- Device Management > (right click) RX 470 > Disable device

Under macOS (EFI): not 100% sure but if possible, you gonna need to build SSDT-DiscreteSpoof.aml
- See that strong guide from RehabMan. OK, this is a bit "complicated" but it's actually the best solution I found for disabling a second GPU.
Awesome, managed to get a RX460 for $45 and will give it a go today :) Will report back my findings later on.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
14
Motherboard
MSI Z270 SLI Plus
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
5700XT
Ok, I'm getting impatient and thinking of picking up a used e.g. RX 470 for $60 to be able to get hackintosh working again, since my iGPU can't do 60Hz@4k and the 5700XT isn't supported (yet).

Quick question, can I have both GPUs in my Motherboard (physically there's no problem) and use the 5700XT for Windows and RX470 with hackintosh? I'll put the 5700XT in the primary PCI-ex 16x slot and RX470 in the 8x slot, just hope the 5700XT can be disabled with hackintosh and the RX470 won't interfere in Windows.
Can confirm that this fully works and without any hassle. Still had a High Sierra install on one of my NVME SSDs and all I had to do was enable RadeonDeInit and I was able to boot from my RX460, even with the 5700XT still in place and without any SSDT magic to disable it.

Only caveat is that, even though I disabled the RX460 in Windows, my 5700XT now runs at PCI-ex 8x instead of 16x and runs a bit hotter because there's another card right underneath it. Doesn't seem to affect performance in games too much though.

Next step is to upgrade to Catalina :)
 
Top