Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks once again.

First, I already checked Library/Extensions: there are no video drivers in there at all.

Next, I checked my System/library/extensions, and I found webdriver versions of of some standard Apple/Mojave GeForce files.

(I say 'standard' because these are installed on my MacBook Pro too:

GeForce.kext
GeForceAIRPlugin.bundle
GeForceGLDriver.bundle
GeForceMTLDriver.bundle
GeForceTeslaGAWeb.bundle
GeForceVADriver.bundle

However, my Z390 -also- has:

GeForceAIRPluginWeb.bundle
GeForceGLDriverWeb.bundle
GeForceMTLDriverWeb.bundle
GeForceTeslaGLDriverWeb.bundle
GeForceTeslaVADriverWeb.bundle
GeForceVADriverWeb.bundle

Installed at a different time. I'd assume I can delete those Web.bundles, although I'm reluctant to muck about with the System library folder....

I'd be happy to zip up my EFI for you. Not sure where the NVRAM cache is. I'll happily delete it as that sounds like a great idea. (Didn't realize there even was a cache for it.) Yes, I'm emulating NVRAM because, as I was building this (Stork, I think it was) said that Clover doesn't support hardware NVRAM on this board. (The board has it, but Clover won't work with it.)

my drivers are:
ApfsDriverLoader-64.efi
AudioDxe-64.efi
DataHubDxe-64.efi
EmuVariableUefi-64.efi
FSInject-64.efi
OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi
PartitionDxe-64.efi
SMCHelper-64.efi
VBoxHfs-64.efi

(FWIW, I changed the nvram.plist nvda_drv entry to 00, but it too was overwritten...)

Where will I find the NVRAM cache?

i -DO- greatly appreciate your time with me on this. Thanks.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,390
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you. That's what I thought.

Now I'm seriously confused then as to why the Vega is performing exactly like the RX580. Further, I went into my NVRAM.plist and -deleted- this entry:

<key>nvda_drv</key>
<data>
MQA=
</data>

Rebooted, and the entry has been -added back- into the nvram.plist.

That means nvda_drv has a non-zero value, so perhaps the OS is trying to load some default Nvidia driver?

Why is this entry there, and added back if I delete it? Could there be something in my config.plist doing this? Some driver that should not be loaded?

This is weird. Any suggestions on where to start looking or debugging this?
That setting will do nothing if you don't have an Nvidia card.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks again. (Can't get rid of me, eh? :) )
Still plagued by the Vega having the same speed as the RX580. My board ought to support screamingly fast rendering and frame rates. Most folks with a similar setup see FCPX render times of 6 seconds with the test project: mine takes 20 seconds, just as it did with the 580. Framerates are 120-ish, but others are getting 160+. OpenGL score in GeekBench is 150,000-ish - just as it was with the 580.

I've toggled the Vega Bios switch to no avail. I'm running out of ideas. This is a -computer- for crying out loud: SOMETHING is causing this weirdness...

If you have any debugging suggestions, I'd be more than receptive...
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,292
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kentval please make a new thread about your issue in the graphics section and we'll help.

Something else is going on, you should be seeing a big jump from RX580 to Vega 64 (I've had all these cards myself).

Please post your EFI folder there too.

Any NVIDIA switches and other things in the config file should not interfere with the performance of a GPU.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
71
Motherboard
Asus H110M-C for OEM
CPU
Intel Pentium G4400
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 510/XFX Rx 460
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
XFX RX 460-560 have incompatible vbios. TechPowerup site has info to reflash the vbios to a Sapphire model.
Before updating to 10.14.6 db2, I was on 10.14.5, and I was able to boot it up just fine with a Gigabyte vBios. I also tried your suggestion to use Sapphire model and it didn't work unfortunately.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,828
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Before updating to 10.14.6 db2, I was on 10.14.5, and I was able to boot it up just fine with a Gigabyte vBios. I also tried your suggestion to use Sapphire model and it didn't work unfortunately.
So you were injecting it via clover? Have you updated clover?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
71
Motherboard
Asus H110M-C for OEM
CPU
Intel Pentium G4400
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 510/XFX Rx 460
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
So you were injecting it via clover? Have you updated clover?
Yes I was injecting it through Clover, and also I updated Clover, and all of my kexts to latest.
 
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
369
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
I'm using an RX560 with Lilu and Whatevergreen. Dual monitors, one via DP and one via HDMI. I see two "HDMI" audio outputs for the card, but only one output works. Should I be able to get both DP and HDMI outputs working for audio? I can work with the current solution, it would just be good to know.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,828
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I'm using an RX560 with Lilu and Whatevergreen. Dual monitors, one via DP and one via HDMI. I see two "HDMI" audio outputs for the card, but only one output works. Should I be able to get both DP and HDMI outputs working for audio? I can work with the current solution, it would just be good to know.
With applealckext along with lilu you should be able to get the option to choose between the two monitors but use only one at a time.
 
Top