Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@tabarus: The chart says that OS X has drivers which are buggy for most people, so I wouldn't recommend it.

@hlehofer: There is no FB called "Radeon", so I'm quite surprised that this actually changes anything. The driver is supposed to use the generic "RadeonFramebuffer" (read 1st post for more information) if no or a unknown FB is injected. I guess it's a driver bug, more stable cards (7000 generation) behave differently.
AMD8000Controller.kext knows 2 framebuffers, Exmoor and Baladi. Both will most likely need a patch to match your card.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
unBranded X79 - Clover
CPU
i7-3960X
Graphics
R9 280x/1920x1200
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
need help patching FB to allow more than two displays ...here is my specs for R9280x :
DVI: 1x Dual-Link DVI-D
HDMI: 1x version 1.4a
Mini DisplayPort: 2x version 1.2
HDCP ready: YES
RAMDAC: 400MHz
Maximum Resolution Single-Link DVI: 1920x1200
Maximum Resolution Dual-Link DVI: 2560x1600
Maximum Resolution HDMI 1.4a: 4096x3112
Maximum Resolution Mini DP 1.2: 4096x2160
Maximum Outputs Simultaneously: 4
Maximum Display support: 6 (Via DisplayPort and using the MST Hub, please refer to CSV-5300)

any combination I connect it will only allow TWO DISPLAYS..
is there a correct way to do this to get more than TWO displays ?
my displays are Apple Cinema,Apple Cinema HD, Dell ,which have DVI ports ,I am using one ACTIVE adapter to achieve 3 displays in windows 10 ,ubuntu ...the 3rd display fades in from black once I login...but Yosemite,and El capitan will only allow
TWO displays ,I tried switching smbios from mac,mini to Mac Pro 5 which is good from my desktop ...(shakes head) very frustration to not have this working ..Is this a FB issue that needs to be patched ?
any advice would be great thanks
Drone
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
Intel i5-6600K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Mar 12, 2013
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASRock H61M-VS
CPU
Core i7 3770
Graphics
AMD R9 380
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have an R9 380 GPU on an AsRock H61M-VS mobo with i7 3770 CPU trying to install El Capitan. Will it work?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@hlehofer Thanks for the work, it gave me a better insight into the problem. If you want to do multiple monitors, or just test for whatever reason, then you can try my patched Baladi FB on page 16.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
unBranded X79 - Clover
CPU
i7-3960X
Graphics
R9 280x/1920x1200
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
i'm using default FB then tried MaguroS, Maguro, Junsai, OPM, , Futomaki, still only 2 screens,in sys pref.I see 3 screens just 3 screen will not work ,it's on grey but the brightness works ,strange .
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
MSI X99 Gaming 7
CPU
i7 5820K
Graphics
AMD R9 280X
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an R9 380 GPU on an AsRock H61M-VS mobo with i7 3770 CPU trying to install El Capitan. Will it work?
I know the GPU works OOB. Not sure about the MOBO. If it's compatible then you should be fine.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
856
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon z87
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD4600 & RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
I know that GPU works OOB but not sure about the MOBO. It that's compatible then you should be fine.
which you are referring to. please.
 
Top