Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sigh, again you are right, I was running the un-patched version from insanelymac. I really have to give myself more time to read instructions like yours, I edited the post above with Hotplug IDs. I'm gonna try patching a framebuffer to get better compatibility, but it'll take some time because I currently don't know how to do that. What I've found so far is that I should inject the patch to the "ATI Connectors Data/Patch" fields in Clover Configurator. I have only two framebuffers to choose from so I'll go with Baladi because it kind of almost fits my gpu (unless I can patch RadeonFramebuffer instead?), but the tricky part is finding out what to change and how to input the data into the Clover Configurator.
@cady_design Are you sure the Device ID isn't supposed to be 0X67B01002? That's what I'm using, it's the only supported device id using the Hawaii GPU, I've got the same gpu architecture on my r9 390. Also don't use a specific frambuffer atleast until you get the driver working, just leave it empty for now. If you still don't get the driver working (it'll show you the full 4GB once it does work), try enabling FixDisplay under ACPI settings in Clover configuration, I had to turn that on.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Supermicro X10DAi
CPU
Dual XEON E5-2680 v3
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello..

today I installed into my DUAL XEON E5-2680 v3 system a Gigabyte Radeon R9 390 Gaming G1 card, which works fine, but without graphics acceleration. How to activate?

Clover uses the ID of R9 390x, InjectATI is checked and I have generated new DSDT and SSDTs.

Can anybody help me please?

Thanks! :thumbup:
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
31
Motherboard
MSI P35 Neo2
CPU
Intel Xeon X5470 (socket 771-775 mod)
Graphics
Asus Gtx 760 DirectCu II 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi analogo.

I've got the same card with a working driver, I've attached my config.plist so you can take a look, hopefully that helps. Also note that I am using a custom SSDT but not DSDT, haven't gotten around to generate a new one that works with this GPU. But I did manage to get the accelerated driver working using only information in the original post of this thread, so make sure to read it thoroughly if you still don't manage to get it working. I'm also in the process of patching a framebuffer to match the connectors on the card since currently only one screen is working on it at a time, but I'm leaving to my home town for christmas tomorrow so I won't be able to get around finishing it for at least a couple of days. I've come pretty close though, I'll post here once I have further information.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    3.6 KB · Views: 224
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Supermicro X10DAi
CPU
Dual XEON E5-2680 v3
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi hreggi89..

thanks for your answer and config.plist! :thumbup: My config.plist is not much different..

I tried so much, but always OS X is not working accelerated. Only after insert 0x67B01002 into AMD8000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonX4000.kext OS X might be starting in accelerated mode, but directly after booting always comes a black screen! And again I had to invest many many time in reading and testing, without success.. The screen remains black.. :banghead:

If I won´t get it working until monday, the card goes back (RMA).. And then only comes Nvidia into my system! :twisted:

By the way, happy christmas!! ;)
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,157
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi hreggi89..

thanks for your answer and config.plist! :thumbup: My config.plist is not much different..

I tried so much, but always OS X is not working accelerated. Only after insert 0x67B01002 into AMD8000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonX4000.kext OS X might be starting in accelerated mode, but directly after booting always comes a black screen! And again I had to invest many many time in reading and testing, without success.. The screen remains black.. :banghead:

If I won´t get it working until monday, the card goes back (RMA).. And then only comes Nvidia into my system! :twisted:

By the way, happy christmas!! ;)

Try to add Baladi or Exmoor as framebuffers into clover when you are booting,if still not working,you will need to patch your framebuffer.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Supermicro X10DAi
CPU
Dual XEON E5-2680 v3
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Try to add Baladi or Exmoor as framebuffers into clover when you are booting,if still not working,you will need to patch your framebuffer.

Thank you, but I tried it already..

By the way, in a few minutes I will drive to my hardware shop, give the Radeon back and will buy a MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G.. :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77P-D3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello analogo and hreggi89,

how did you test whether graphics acceleration is working or not?

I've R9 390 from Gigabyte also, and I'm using a config.plist similar to the one hreggi89 posted here (I use a DSDT, but no SSDT). I did not patch any kexts. Everything seems to runs fine in desktop.
The only strange issue is that the Luxmark score is lower than before with the old card and it reports a clock speed of 150 MHz.
Are there other tools to check acceleration or report details (clock speed) of GPU?

To everyone: Merry Christmas!
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Supermicro X10DAi
CPU
Dual XEON E5-2680 v3
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello analogo and hreggi89,

how did you test whether graphics acceleration is working or not?

If the dock, windows, etc. are not transparent and the screen flickers, then the acceleration is not working..
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77P-D3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If the dock, windows, etc. are not transparent and the screen flickers, then the acceleration is not working..

Thanks for your reply, dock and windows are OK and there is no screen flickering.
So it seems acceleration is working basically, but just slower as expected. Is there a way to check and change the clock speed of the graphics card?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
Supermicro X10DAi
CPU
Dual XEON E5-2680 v3
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for your reply, dock and windows are OK and there is no screen flickering.
So it seems acceleration is working basically, but just slower as expected. Is there a way to check and change the clock speed of the graphics card?

You´re welcome and a lucky guy! :D

I don´t know, because I´ve never overclocked a graphic card..
 
Top