Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Fl0r!an, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 6:46 PM #1371
    nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well I got the DVI cable today, and now it is working!
    The problem is I used a DVI to VGA cable.

    But now I have one more problem. my second screen (left one) is now the main screen.
    I want to change this but can't seem to find out how.

    In the arrangement I see my two screens and the left one have the white bar above, how can I change this ?

    I am so stupid just drag the white bar to the other screen, everything is working now including sound ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  2. Mac-on-PC

    Mac-on-PC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-EG45M-DS2H (rev. 1.0) Intel®G45 + ICH10R Chipset Socket 755
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9550 (12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)
    Graphics:
    ASUS AMD ATI Radeon HD 5670 1024 MB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 29, 2017 at 10:21 PM #1372
    Mac-on-PC

    Mac-on-PC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-EG45M-DS2H (rev. 1.0) Intel®G45 + ICH10R Chipset Socket 755
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9550 (12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)
    Graphics:
    ASUS AMD ATI Radeon HD 5670 1024 MB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Driver rollback to sierra

    AMDRadeonX3000.kext

    AMDRadeonX3000GLDriver.bundle

    IOAccelerator2D.plugin

    IOAcceleratorFamily2.kext

    Thanks to rico90

    :lol::lol::lol:
     
  3. tleung999

    tleung999

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Sep 30, 2017 at 4:04 AM #1373
    tleung999

    tleung999

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Here's my config.plist. What problem are you having? Other than the system not being able to sleep, my audio also makes popping noises. El Capitan didn't give me any issues.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Jar-Jar

    Jar-Jar

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    I7-4790k
    Graphics:
    ATI Shapphire R9 290X Tri-X OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 30, 2017 at 7:43 AM #1374
    Jar-Jar

    Jar-Jar

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    I7-4790k
    Graphics:
    ATI Shapphire R9 290X Tri-X OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    In the Capitan I dind't have any problem, except that the 290X boot on black Screen until login. But in High sierra I have the same problem, but it doesn't works. Always black screen.

    I use a switch hdmi (for igfx, 290x, and one computer with win 2k16 Server) with the same screen. From computer to master switch i used a dvi to hdmi wire.

    The only diferente between you config and mine, it's that you used imac 14,2 I used 15,1 and use in boot dart=0.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
  5. nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 12:18 PM #1375
    nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey hirow, wel it worked with the dvi cable I got it to work, have updated my Sierra to High Sierra without any problem :)
     
  6. hirow

    hirow

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z87 Pro 4
    Graphics:
    AMD R9 270X 2GB
    Sep 30, 2017 at 8:37 PM #1376
    hirow

    hirow

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z87 Pro 4
    Graphics:
    AMD R9 270X 2GB
    Congratulations m8! Glad it's working for you.

    Since my monitor doesn't support anything except VGA I need to find another solution than buying a new one.
    Everything was working in Sierra out of the box. I don't know what's changed, but I hope there'll be a software fix for it soon.
     
  7. nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 4:53 AM #1377
    nextria

    nextria

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 6600
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 270X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey, Thanks I have the same with Sierra it worked without any problem.

    Your main screen only have HDMI or also dvi ? If it hase dvi maybe you can try to connect your hdmi to a tv and the dvi to your main screen. If you can get to the installer it should work.
     
  8. hirow

    hirow

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z87 Pro 4
    Graphics:
    AMD R9 270X 2GB
    Oct 1, 2017 at 9:34 AM #1378
    hirow

    hirow

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z87 Pro 4
    Graphics:
    AMD R9 270X 2GB
    High Sierra installed without problems for me already. Ethernet works and audio, too.
    I can use it with a single monitor, but if I attach a second it just mirrors the first one and is tainted in green.

    One thing I'm going to try is switching from VGA->DVI to VGA->DP. Will report back with the results.
     
  9. Norkfy

    Norkfy

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Oct 1, 2017 at 6:05 PM #1379
    Norkfy

    Norkfy

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Hi all! I wonder know would be RX580 work without problem with this needs:
    - High Sierra
    - Two 4k monitors connected via Display Port (need 60Hz each)
    - Sleep
    - No freezes of OS (I am rarely and randomly getting freezes on GTX980)
    - Working apps with Metal api (iBook as example)

    Can who has two 4k monitors and RX580 and High Sierra share how it works?
     
  10. vinste

    vinste

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 170x SOC Force
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Oct 1, 2017 at 7:52 PM #1380
    vinste

    vinste

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 170x SOC Force
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Using Lilu and WhateverGreen with R9 280 has sleep working for me (except some glitches at wakeup and rare reboots with deep sleep).
     

Share This Page