Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asrock Z87 Pro 4
CPU
i5 4440
Graphics
AMD R9 270X 2GB
Hey, Thanks I have the same with Sierra it worked without any problem.

Your main screen only have HDMI or also dvi ? If it hase dvi maybe you can try to connect your hdmi to a tv and the dvi to your main screen. If you can get to the installer it should work.

High Sierra installed without problems for me already. Ethernet works and audio, too.
I can use it with a single monitor, but if I attach a second it just mirrors the first one and is tainted in green.

One thing I'm going to try is switching from VGA->DVI to VGA->DP. Will report back with the results.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
5
Hi all! I wonder know would be RX580 work without problem with this needs:
- High Sierra
- Two 4k monitors connected via Display Port (need 60Hz each)
- Sleep
- No freezes of OS (I am rarely and randomly getting freezes on GTX980)
- Working apps with Metal api (iBook as example)

Can who has two 4k monitors and RX580 and High Sierra share how it works?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte 170x SOC Force
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Hi there,

I am assuming the sleep issue is still affecting all ATI Radeon cards still correct? I have a R9 290X and just upgraded from El Capitan to High Sierra. I got everything to work and the graphic card is displaying fine. But when I put the system to sleep, it will not come back to life. The graphic card never triggers the monitor again.

I've tried setting darkwake=0.

I also tried setting my integrated Intel graphic as primary. Primary Init Graphic = iGFX. Then when I boot into the OS, the screen is just blank when I'm plugged into the ATI card. I can swap to the Intel DVI port, but its just a garbled graphic.

Any insight into this would be extremely helpful.

Using Lilu and WhateverGreen with R9 280 has sleep working for me (except some glitches at wakeup and rare reboots with deep sleep).
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7HVK
CPU
i7
Graphics
RX Vega M GH
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey Gigamaxx...
I finally got around to swapping my R9 390x back into my system and trying your suggestion. No dice...unfortunately! Ugh...
It will boot with the iGPU selected in BIOS..but once I get into Sierra it won't let me switch to the 390x...
Oh well...I think I have exhausted all avenues here...let me know if you have any ideas
Like always..I appreciate all the help. Too bad since this is a really nice graphics card...

Anyway...take it easy...

J

I have a R9 390 from sapphire and had a lot of issues with it since High Sierra.
But I got it running.
I did the following.
- selected igpu in bios as primary
- connected the igpu to the monitor via VGA cable
- connected the r9 390 to the same monitor via HDMI
- booted with the following options in graphics section:
Injectati=yes
Id: 0x67b01002
FB: Radeon
Port: 04
Load Vbios= yes

And then for the igpu I also selected inject and changed the id:
Id: 0x12345678

Boot it up, switch to second input on the monitor, log in and it will show you 2 monitors in settings menu...I then selected the hdmi input as "main" screen.
Good luck.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-Z390 gaming X
CPU
i5 9600K
Graphics
MSI ARMOR RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With the latest lilu and whatevergreen, I finally got my R9 280X getting to sleep in HighSiera. I let “inject intel & ati” enabled in clover. I use dp for my dell monitor. Everything now works ok!
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asrock Z87 Pro 4
CPU
i5 4440
Graphics
AMD R9 270X 2GB
Hey, Thanks I have the same with Sierra it worked without any problem.

Your main screen only have HDMI or also dvi ? If it hase dvi maybe you can try to connect your hdmi to a tv and the dvi to your main screen. If you can get to the installer it should work.

Yippie! It's working with the VGA->DP-Adapter. :D
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
CPU
I7-6600
Graphics
Msi R9 390X
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a R9 390 from sapphire and had a lot of issues with it since High Sierra.
But I got it running.
I did the following.
- selected igpu in bios as primary
- connected the igpu to the monitor via VGA cable
- connected the r9 390 to the same monitor via HDMI
- booted with the following options in graphics section:
Injectati=yes
Id: 0x67b01002
FB: Radeon
Port: 04
Load Vbios= yes

And then for the igpu I also selected inject and changed the id:
Id: 0x12345678

Boot it up, switch to second input on the monitor, log in and it will show you 2 monitors in settings menu...I then selected the hdmi input as "main" screen.
Good luck.

Thanks slead...I will give it a shot! I appreciate the suggestion!

J
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5-4440 Socket 1150 3.1GHz
Graphics
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD7770
Hi Guys,

after the update to High Sierra I have some problem with my graphic card Shappire ATI Radeon HD7770 (see attached screenshot).
I tried to use Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext but with no change.
With Sierra all worked fine. Now with HS I must boot in safe mode.

Someone has an idea how to solve this problem?

thanks!
 

Attachments

  • Foto 29-09-17.jpeg
    Foto 29-09-17.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 95
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5-4440 Socket 1150 3.1GHz
Graphics
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD7770
Hi Guys,

after the update to High Sierra I have some problem with my graphic card Shappire ATI Radeon HD7770 (see attached screenshot).
I tried to use Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext but with no change.
With Sierra all worked fine. Now with HS I must boot in safe mode.

Someone has an idea how to solve this problem?

thanks!

Fixed it!!!

Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen was already installed but is necessary to add custom bootflags "-lilubetaall radpg=15"

Now all works! :mrgreen:
 
Top