Quicklook Doesn't Preview jpgs, mp3 nor mp4.

Discussion in 'Mojave Desktop Support' started by Neo-matrix, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Neo-matrix

    Neo-matrix

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    ASUS PRIME Z270-A
    CPU:
    i5 7500
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 27, 2018 at 3:53 PM #1
    Neo-matrix

    Neo-matrix

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    ASUS PRIME Z270-A
    CPU:
    i5 7500
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 570 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there, I did an upgrade and installation went fine. Upon some initial testing I noticed that Quicklook did not preview jpgs, mp3 and mp4. It just showed a spinner. The preview app only displays pdfs but not jpgs. Is anyone else having this issue?
    Thanks
     
    robinzon66 likes this.
  2. telepati

    telepati

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    747
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z170-A
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus ROG RX560
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 28, 2018 at 11:16 PM #2
    telepati

    telepati

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    747
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z170-A
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus ROG RX560
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes I have same problem and didn’t find any fix.
     
  3. vaquilha

    vaquilha

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z170m plus_br (clover)
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530 @ 1920 x 1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 3, 2018 at 9:07 AM #3
    vaquilha

    vaquilha

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z170m plus_br (clover)
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530 @ 1920 x 1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Humm, what a bummer. But I guess you can't expect everything to work on a beta can you?
     
  4. xianfei

    xianfei

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI ZH87-G43
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1230 v3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 770
    Jul 5, 2018 at 4:29 PM #4
    xianfei

    xianfei

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI ZH87-G43
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1230 v3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 770
    I have this issue too. And the app "preview" will crash when I open jpg files.
     
  5. Macmagoo

    Macmagoo

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus Hero Viii
    CPU:
    Intel Skylake i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Pulse Radeon RX580
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2018 at 9:08 PM #5
    Macmagoo

    Macmagoo

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus Hero Viii
    CPU:
    Intel Skylake i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Pulse Radeon RX580
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    There are numerous applications that don't work Preview, FaceTime, iMovie and probably numerous others but that is what happens with Beta software.
     
  6. markmac

    markmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Asus H270M-Plus
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon RX 560 Gaming OC 4G (rev 1.0)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 11, 2018 at 8:46 PM #6
    markmac

    markmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Asus H270M-Plus
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon RX 560 Gaming OC 4G (rev 1.0)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    same problem on my hack. my macbook air does not have this problem. strange
     
  7. ekohn00

    ekohn00

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aoris Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-8600
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 13, 2018 at 3:35 PM #7
    ekohn00

    ekohn00

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aoris Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-8600
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm having the same problem with preview.

    Just a note to the "what do you expect form beta comments"....NOT HELPFUL. The question is being asked because we don't know if it's a beta problem or hackintosh problem.
     
  8. n19htz

    n19htz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 2Gb
    Jul 13, 2018 at 7:25 PM #8
    n19htz

    n19htz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 2Gb
    its a hackintosh problem, on my MacBook Pro everything works with Preview, but on my hackintosh it is not.
     
  9. ekohn00

    ekohn00

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aoris Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-8600
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 13, 2018 at 10:34 PM #9
    ekohn00

    ekohn00

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aoris Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-8600
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @n19htz thanks.... I kinda figured. Unfortunately I have my Mac book to wifey and all I have is my hackintosh now as I just sold off my Mac Pro (it will be missed). My question, being new to the world of Hackintosh, is do we wait for finally 10.14 for a fix??
     
  10. robinzon66

    robinzon66

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    MSI Intel H270M BAZOOKA
    CPU:
    i5-7500
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 13, 2018 at 10:49 PM #10
    robinzon66

    robinzon66

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    MSI Intel H270M BAZOOKA
    CPU:
    i5-7500
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I have same problem when I open jpg/jpeg files on Desktop too.
    On laptop Acer Aspire E5-571P I don't have that problem with Preview.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018 at 10:55 PM

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice