Quick Fix for Onboard Audio on 9 Series Motherboards

Discussion in 'Audio' started by tonymacx86, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,404
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 4, 2014 at 2:42 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,404
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    images.jpg
    As some of you early adopters of 9 Series motherboards may know, onboard audio is not functioning as it did on 5-8 Series motherboards. The reason for this is that Intel has changed the codec device id from 0x80868C20 to 0x8086A020.

    To get audio to work on 9 Series, you must binary patch 4 instances of 20 8C to A0 8C in the AppleHDAController binary. I've attached 3 pre-patched versions for testing.

    We're going to make a patch available in the next MultiBeast, which will do this patch in post for any codec. For now, install the attached AppleHDA.kext with KextBeast or the like for full support. Please note that Green rear port output DOES NOT work. Headphone front case works as main output. (fixed version in MultiBeast 6.4.1)

    Special thanks to toleda for solving the mystery. :thumbup:

    This fix has been added to MultiBeast 6.3.1+ under Audio > Realtek ALCxxx > Intel 9 Series Motherboard Support:

    Screen Shot 2014-06-20 at 9.22.21 AM.png
     
  2. genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-Designare
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 4:25 AM #2
    genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-Designare
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is great progress and mostly working on the Z97X-UD7.

    Audio ID 1
    Headphone Detection = Works
    Front Output = Works, "Headphones"
    Rear Grey = Works, "Line Out" (first in list)
    Rear Black = Works, "Line Out" (second in list)
    HDMI Nvidia = Works

    Untested: Digital out, mic/line in

    However, Rear Green does not work. Even though headphone detection works and front port, there is no audio out of rear green with headphones detached. Since I only have one board to test with I can't say for certain its not a dead port. I'll have another of the same model to test with tomorrow but so far that seems to be the main flaw in this current solution.

    Will update when i have more info, or let me know if you need ioreg, etc uploaded.
    g\

    EDIT1
    Tested with Audio ID 2. Same results as above except now:
    Pink = "Line Out" (first in list) - This confuses me!
    Blue = "Line Out" (second in list)
    Thus replacing Grey and Black which are now "dead". Same issue with green not working though HP detection and front port work.

    EDIT2
    Tested with Audio ID 3. That breaks everything. No sound devices show up and ports are dead.
     
  3. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,469
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 5:26 AM #3
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,469
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you for confirming the MultiBeast/Realtek ALCxxx patched AppleHDA.kexts work exactly as designed. Audio IDs 1, 2 and 3 have specific purposes. Generally, one Audio ID is appropriate for a given system. Audio ID 1 is the best choice for your system.

    For the details, see Post #1, Mavericks: Audio - Realtek ALC AppleHDA, specifically these topics:
    Requirements
    3. Supported Audio-IDs
    and
    Realtek ALC Speakers

    New "research" may change your conclusions regarding Audio IDs 2 and 3. Advise if uncertainty remains.

    "Rear Green does not work" is likely a motherboard problem. Deja vu, Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H audio fiasco?
     
  4. genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-Designare
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 5:45 AM #4
    genzai

    genzai

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-Designare
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530 & GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah,
    That is what i am primarily worried about. Would like confirmation that people on other 9 series boards are not having the green port issue. Also will update when i get the second board (same model) tomorrow and make sure its consistent across this model.

    g\

    PS- sorry about the ID2 layout confusion. I see it is clearly documented. Thanks. I was just confused by output on pink since i thought that was reserved for line-in. I see now its switchable. cool beans. And also see ID3 is not supported by 1150 so that is not surprising behavior, just confirmed here.
     
  5. PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 10:05 AM #5
    PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello, ( sorry for my bad english ) :(

    I am testing a asus z97 deluxe, ALC1150, the device apparently works, but there was no sound.

    Now with this kext you put into this post, I have tried and this are the results:

    Audio ID-1 on DSDT:

    [​IMG]

    Only works HDMI, no output sound :( . does not work any output port

    Audio ID-2 on DSDT:

    HDMI works perfect :)

    The microphone port ( pink ) works as a line output .... jajaja

    Line in ( blue ) works as line output ..... xD xD

    and no longer works any more output

    Ioreg dump:

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/dg4k2r6bdxl2o7a/Ioreg_PoMpIs.zip

    if you want to see :)

    Cheersss :)
     
  6. Labrat01

    Labrat01

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 770 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 1:34 PM #6
    Labrat01

    Labrat01

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 770 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    PoMpIS, did you try unplugging your speakers from the port and then re-inserting them? I know it sounds basic, but I had the same issue and simply re-inserting the jack fixed it for me. I have got a slightly different motherboard though (z97x ud5h)
     
  7. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,469
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 2:54 PM #7
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,469
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Use Audio ID: 1.
     
  8. PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 2:55 PM #8
    PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    if I tried, but not working.

    audio only comes out Mic-in (pink) and the line-in (blue) a very rare thing :)

    Cheers ;)
     
  9. vlad1966

    vlad1966

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Mobo:
    ASSUS Prime B250M-A
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-7500
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560
    Jun 6, 2014 at 3:01 PM #9
    vlad1966

    vlad1966

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Mobo:
    ASSUS Prime B250M-A
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-7500
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560
    Great Work tonymacx86, as usual.:)

    I wonder if they did something similar with the video, since I can't get QE from the HD 4600 graphics on my i5-4670k that I'm using in my Z97X-UD5H, even though the graphics appear to be recognized.
     
  10. PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 6, 2014 at 3:03 PM #10
    PoMpIs

    PoMpIs

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Acer E15 ( E5-571-33AC
    CPU:
    i3 4005U@ 1.7Ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4400@1366*768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    if I use the id-1 there is no audio output ;)

    I get in about this mac so I put in the first post,

    but there is no audio output l connect disconnect the speakers, no sound

    Cheers ;)
     

Share This Page