Contribute
Register

Quick Fix for Intel HD 4600 Graphics Acceleration on 9 Series Motherboards

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,223
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks tonny. It worked with transparent menu bar but the F12 adding gadget has no water effect any idea? And HdMI audio with Dsdt patch has no audio.
A better test: Launchpad, hold the Option key, with icons moving; hardware acceleration is working. HDMI audio, off topic.
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,490
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Still necessary in 10.9.4- I've attached the fixed version to the Original post.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
54
Motherboard
10.9.3
CPU
4670k
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
This patch worked for 10.9.3 but not for 10.9.4. I tested and confirmed. After update the screen becomes messed up and I boot into safe mode to add the fix but stuck at boot with an exclamation symbol in the middle of command line. Any fix?
P.S. My mistake, it worked. I duplicated a KEXT into the Applesystemdrive.kext. It caused the panic.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
54
Motherboard
10.9.3
CPU
4670k
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The fix is fully working with 10.9.3 but not for 10.9.4.
Problem solved. Working again.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
54
Motherboard
10.9.3
CPU
4670k
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
A better test: Launchpad, hold the Option key, with icons moving; hardware acceleration is working. HDMI audio, off topic.
Yes, it worked. Fully working. Brilliant fix. Any fix to the SATA/SataExpress? The Intel 9 chipset is not recognized. System info shows generic AHCI controller. Also the HDMI audio is not working.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
40
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Z97 Armor Edition
CPU
Intel I5 4570
Graphics
nVidia GTX 750Ti
Hi, toleda.
Thanks for your fix. But it does not work on my build.
Here are my build:
CPU: i5-4570
MB: ASUS Gryphon Z97 Armor Edition
Monitor: HDMI (with audio needed) x 1 only

OSX: mavericks 10.9.3
by using clover 2703

I had put the fixed kext into SLE with fixing permission and rebuilding caches. After reboot, with (or without) inject id of 0x0300220D (or 0x0D220003) the display does not be drived.
By using your "HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edit Scripts", same problem.
Thank you so much if you can help me solve the problem~:)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
GB-z77-UDH5
CPU
3570K @ 4.2
Graphics
Asus 5870 / gigabyte 660 TI SC
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Hi Tony and all others. I did a Gigabyte z87n/UDH3 for a friend. All is fine, CPU has HD4600 inside, can this fix be used with z87 - i5 as well ?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,223
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had put the fixed kext into SLE with fixing permission and rebuilding caches. After reboot, with (or without) inject id of 0x0300220D (or 0x0D220003) the display does not be drived.
Three different problems.
Most important, how are you injecting the framebuffer?
How did you install the Azul kext?
Framebuffer edits are not required for successful boot.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
40
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Z97 Armor Edition
CPU
Intel I5 4570
Graphics
nVidia GTX 750Ti
Three different problems.
Most important, how are you injecting the framebuffer?
How did you install the Azul kext?
Framebuffer edits are not required for successful boot.
Hi, toleda.

1. I inject the framebuffer by using clover's ig-platform-id.
2. I install the Azul kext by using kext wizard.
3. all right. I have restored orignial kext and updated to 10.9.4.
Here are something new:

Firstly, I used kext wizard to install kext file from "Azul-10.9.4-9series.zip" into SLE.
Secondly, I edited clover's config.plist file setting.
(1).config.plist/Graphics/ig-platform-id/0x0D220003
tested by using three settings individually:

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.50 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.48 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.46 PM.png

all above consequense a black screen without signal output. after a few time, machine reboot automatically.
EXCEPT: use fakeid=0x80860412, it would entere OSX but no QE/CI.

(2)c
onfig.plist/Graphics/ig-platform-id/0x0300220D
a.
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.46 PM.png
this configuration would cause a recognition of "display":
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 2.30.57 PM.png

b.
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.27.48 PM.png
c.
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 3.41.23 PM.png
b and c would get a correct recognition:
Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 2.22.12 PM_0300220d_inject(or_with_64).png
All above does not need a fakeid to boot. But no QE/CI.
 
Top