Contribute
Register

Psedog's Mod Pro. i7-8700K, Vega64, Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
355
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Psedog, after reading USB threads regarding this build + Mojave, it is not quite clear to me yet what I should do to get my ports working accordingly to yours when you had Mojave installed. You don't happen to have your last working Mojave EFI (CloverEFI, not OpenCore) for me to compare to the one I'm using, do you? Thanks.
It's in the first post of this thread.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte B360N WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone tried the provided EFI with Catalina and RX 580?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2011
Messages
192
Motherboard
Z390 Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
WOOHOO!
Finally, USB ports are mapped, working, and not requiring the Injectall kext :D

I've updated the first two posts. Post 1 has my Clover folder. Post 2 has the instructions and SSDT/Kext (says it's invisible until moderator approved...) Until it gets approved I'll add it here too.

My setup has all the rear 3.0 ports as only 3.0 ports (no 2.0 fallback). 1 exception, the top port is 2.0 as well because my keyboard is plugged in there. It was causing my mouse to stutter when they shared the same 2.0 row.

Download Front IO.zip
Place these files in Clover/ACPI/patched
  • SSDT-EC.aml
  • SSDT-USBX.aml
*Place this file into your Kexts folder (very important)
  • USBMap.kext
LAST step. Remove any USB kext patches you have as well as the USBINJECTALL kext. It's no longer needed :headbang:

View attachment 409166


Here are the ports that I enabled. (remember we have a 15 port limit :( )
View attachment 409165


Instructions on how to do it yourself.

Youtube video explaining the procedure. Link

Edit: Added the information below
USB Configuration.
Here is my current USB Configuration and overall layout. Layout is written in the pictures. As you can see, some ports I have as USB 3.0 only and 1 rear port I have as 2.0 only even though it's a 3.0 port. That one I use for my mouse as my mouse and keyboard on the same USB 2.0 header were not happy and causing stuttering.

Note: Front USB3 port uses 3 address all by itself, due to how it handles reversing the connection. The rear port only requires two addresses though.

Ports I have enabled. (HS = USB2.0 / SS = USB 3.0+)
HS01 / SS01 + SS02
HS03
SS04
SS05
SS06
SS07
SS08
HS09 / SS09
HS10 / SS10
HS11
HS13

Layout
The pictures below show the layout. Use this to determine if my setup works for you. If not, then you can use this to gauge how you want to set yours up.
View attachment 432934
View attachment 432935


Hi man, would it be possible to get a copy of your EFI folder? I can't seem to get the front USB3 to work. They will work as USB2 but not USB3
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
355
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi man, would it be possible to get a copy of your EFI folder? I can't seem to get the front USB3 to work. They will work as USB2 but not USB3
Cabal, It's in the first post of this thread.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
355
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
NEW EFI in the first post (Clover EFI 17Dec19). I have removed all APTIO Fix patches. VirtualSMC is working by itself. Unfortunately, unable to enable iGpu with a dGpu. If you want to have both cards enabled, go with iMac Pro1,1.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
RX570 + UHD 630
NEW EFI in the first post (Clover EFI 17Dec19). I have removed all APTIO Fix patches. VirtualSMC is working by itself. Unfortunately, unable to enable iGpu with a dGpu. If you want to have both cards enabled, go with iMac Pro1,1.

is iMac Pro 1,1 verified for igpu and dgpu working together with multiple monitors? i've been having issues since updating to Catalina getting this to play nicely. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/dual-display-not-working-in-mojave.287437/. Even changing to iMac Pro 1,1 doesn't work for me at all.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte > need model # > See Rules!
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@psedog yo what bios version are you on with that latest EFI? I have been trying to get 10.14.6 to install and boot for the last week on an aorus pro non wifi.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
355
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@psedog yo what bios version are you on with that latest EFI? I have been trying to get 10.14.6 to install and boot for the last week on an aorus pro non wifi.
I'm on F11
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
75
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What fn key boots the bios on startup?!?! I just tried 7 through 12 and no luck, I feel like I'm going crazy...

So, I messed around with my plist in my EFI and now I can't boot up..
That said I do have a carbon copy of the EFI partition/.plist file, but I can't figure out how to replace the file. I have a windows 10 drive that I can boot up, and I have paragons APF's software so I can see the drives but I can't access the actual EFI portion.

Any one know some command line magic I could use to clone over the carbon copy EFI to the original EFI, or have any ideas how to get around?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top