Contribute
Register

Psedog's Mod Pro. i7-8700K, Vega64, Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi

Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello Psedog! Thank you so much for this, I have built a Hackintosh with Aorus Pro (without Wifi), i8700K, 16Gb HyperX memory, Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 8GB.

I have found one issue though. The Vega 56 card fans are running max speed and there is a short black screen cut during OSX bootup. The only change I made to your clover folder is replacing the VGTab data file with the 56 version. This is my first build and I'm a noob so I am not sure if this is enough, I did not change the config file. I just saw that I may need to replace the vega control data in the config.plist. I will try to do it tonight and give feedback. Also, I will try to setup dual-boot with Windows (not yet read about it, only thing for sure is I will use another drive for it)

If you have any suggestions about the VGA issue (and maybe even dual-boot), I would appreciate it.
_________
UPDATE: I tried adding the Vega56 data to the config.plist, still the fans are loud. I can see the temperatore of the GPU in monitor app.. Everything else works, even App Store and iMessage. At this point I am lost.

UPDATE2: I installed Windows 10 and installed the AMD drivers.. same thing, so I checked what is going on. One of the fans of the Vega 56 is running full speed all the time. The other one is completely still at room temperatures and Wattman says the fan rpm is 0. It may be a faulty unit :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
So I got to a point where I have two SSDs, one with Windows 10, the other with OSX. Both run properly but the Sapphre Vega 56 Pulse fan behaves strangely. One of the fans runs constantly on maximum speed, while the other seems to work with the drivers in each OS (that fan stops when the OS loads). I believe it is a faulty card, but I will try to investigate it further and reinstall the card to the motherboard to see if it helps.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@Denio Give this Config a shot. I got rid of the video card specific settings since the latest Mac now supports our Vega cards.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
I had given up since my last post because it didn't work. Fast forward a week or two, I decide to give it another try and heyyooooooo I got it to work.

No joke, it was as simple as adding graphicsenabler=yes to my boot args and using the display port out instead of the hdmi out. I'm not sure which did it but either way, in case anyone needed the same help i did. I can turn it off and on and it boots no issue. Only thing that doesn't work so far is the jpg doesn't open in preview but i can live with that. I know that i should change from imac 19,1 to something else but i don't want to jinx it and mess up the working hackintosh i got going haha. Thanks psedog!!!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,767
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
it was as simple as adding graphicsenabler=yes to my boot args
Boot flags are case sensitive, get them wrong and they have no effect.
graphicsenabler=yes should be GraphicsEnabler=Yes but no matter how you spell it there will be no effect in Clover as it is for the Chimera boot loader.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Yeah i did enter it correctly the first time in my plist, just lazy to type it correctly here i guess.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I had given up since my last post because it didn't work. Fast forward a week or two, I decide to give it another try and heyyooooooo I got it to work.

No joke, it was as simple as adding graphicsenabler=yes to my boot args and using the display port out instead of the hdmi out. I'm not sure which did it but either way, in case anyone needed the same help i did. I can turn it off and on and it boots no issue. Only thing that doesn't work so far is the jpg doesn't open in preview but i can live with that. I know that i should change from imac 19,1 to something else but i don't want to jinx it and mess up the working hackintosh i got going haha. Thanks psedog!!!
Give iMac Pro 1,1 a try.
Or enable your onboard graphics card.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@Denio Give this Config a shot. I got rid of the video card specific settings since the latest Mac now supports our Vega cards.
Nope, didn't help. I guess I have a faulty card (or broken fan control cable on one of the fans). I asked Sapphire but their support seems to be slow (to say at least). So it seems it goes back to the shop for replacement :S
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Nope, didn't help. I guess I have a faulty card (or broken fan control cable on one of the fans). I asked Sapphire but their support seems to be slow (to say at least). So it seems it goes back to the shop for replacement :S
@psedog I found the issue. The fan that was running on max did not receive PWM signal. The socket it uses had a missing tooth. As I took it apart I was shocked how awful the vents are so I decided to use proper fans instead (I could care less about how it looks). Let me attach some photos for reference (before and after). It is whisper quiet now even on full speed so I am more than happy about how it turned out. Thanks for the config.plist too :)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@psedog I found the issue. The fan that was running on max did not receive PWM signal. The socket it uses had a missing tooth. As I took it apart I was shocked how awful the vents are so I decided to use proper fans instead (I could care less about how it looks). Let me attach some photos for reference (before and after). It is whisper quiet now even on full speed so I am more than happy about how it turned out. Thanks for the config.plist too :)
Looks good to me. I wish I had some BeQuiet fans just lying around, lol.
 
Last edited:
Top