Contribute
Register

Psedog's Mod Pro. i7-8700K, Vega64, Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi

Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Thanks for the EFI! So far this is the longest I've gotten my OS to work thanks to you! I've been racking my brain trying to figure out why my boot up wasn't working and I thought that it was because I set up my config.plist wrong, or I thought it was because I had the wrong kexts installed but so far, everything I need to work is working. I have a z390 pro wifi and a Powercolor Vega 64. For all intents and purposes when I installed this time around I disconnected the Vega completely and am running off the motherboard graphics.

One thing though, for some reason every other time or maybe even 4 out of 5 times I boot from macOS, it will load under the apple logo and then the screen will turn black, then have no signal and then go back to the black screen and do that indefinitely. I've been trying to get this to work for the last week or so and did not know why it would do that so I would reinstall over and over and over again using different settings and different bios options, etc. I used vanilla install, I've used unibeast, and finally I've used your method.

I just read someone would have to unplug their HDMI and plug it back in again to get the screen to work and lo and behold the last time I shutdown to test whether or not it would go to black screen it did. The HDMI trick worked, but I'm afraid that if I install my dGPU that the HDMI trick won't work and my install will somehow just not boot for me ever again. I know I know, this process isn't for the light of heart hahaha. Help?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have a z390 pro wifi and a Powercolor Vega 64. For all intents and purposes when I installed this time around I disconnected the Vega completely and am running off the motherboard graphics.
Try using your Vega64 again. My system is setup with the Vega64 as the primary graphics card. Let me know if you have any issues.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
So funny thing, after I posted that I reinstalled the Vega 64 and tried booting off of that HDMI port. First time I turned the system on it worked fine, so I thought okay, got lucky this time. Installed the logitech app to support my keyboard and in doing so it needed to restart my system. I couldn't manually shut down because the installer wouldn't let me and insisted that I restart through the installer. Clicked okay and then the computer screen turned off. Tried turning the computer on and got it to the apple screen. Then again, the black screen popped on and off, no input, then black screen, then no input, and so forth. Same stupid thing again. No matter what I do, i always run into this specific problem, that freaking black screen. So i turn the computer off, and tried booting off of my usb. The BIOS doesn't even load and screen goes straight to black. It does this for like 10 minutes straight. I ended up disconnecting the power cable for a little bit and tried booting again. Got the bios screen, booted from the USB, and then the apple screen pops up only to immediately turn into the stop sign. Couldn't get farther than that. Either it would take me to the black screen or give me the stop sign. I even removed the video card from the case and ran straight mobo graphics but same thing, stop sign or black screen. I gave up and reinstalled windows for like the 49th time this week. This morning I woke up and r/hackintosh had a new post that i hadn't seen before and it was the anti-hackintosh buying guide. I thought it was interesting so i popped it open and lo and behold, if you look at the GPU section, it says that POWERCOLOR has an issue. Funny because that's the first place that I've seen anyone mention that powercolor had an issue.

https://www.r eddit.com/r/hackintosh/comments/c0y312/antihackintosh_buyers_guide/#GPU for reference.

I started this hackintosh journey because I was tired of buying apple products that would cost so much for so little only to be able to run my favorite os in macOS. I needed a computer for school and invested quite a lot of money only to come this close...it's so frustrating but I know that it is possible to get this bad boy up and running.

Maybe I'll just leave my build here and hope someone has an EFI i could use or you guys could give me some suggestions. Maybe I'll post my config too just in case. Thanks everyone

i5-9600k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
Powercolor Vega 64 (not the red devil one)
Crucial P1 1TB nvme
Kingston A400 240GB SSD
TForce 16GB (2x8) DDR4-3000
NZXT Kraken x62
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
NZXT Kraken x62
How is the Kraken connected to your motherboard? Do you have it on a USB header? I know that other RGB pumps have issues with OSX and cause it to not shutdown.

Also, did you setup your BIOS like is linked in Blair's thread that I have linked in my first post?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Add the patches in the screenshot to your Acpi --> DSDT.

If you are using my clover folder then you shouldn't need Exclude HS14 as it is never mapped.

Under devices, you can remove the two entries under properties (I just did this with my system and it is running fine). Now that I think about it, since you are using a different flavor of Vega64, this is probably what is causing your failure.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Ok I’ll do those things. Yes i has setup my bios exactly the same as how you instructed and I used all of the same files you linked. I am using the kraken plugged in by usb. I could disconnect it since I can’t even control the kraken with any software since MacOS isn’t supported.

You think I should just remove the Vega for now and just run off the IGPU? I guess I could try selling the card and getting a different gpu seeing as the whole point to this build was to run Hackintosh
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
What Bios are you on? I downgraded to F8. I think F9 was giving me issues. Small/subtle issues.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
I was on F9. I could downgrade too.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
263
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I made a custom about your Mac Logo. This was inspired by Glasgood's Mojave build on another forum (just do a google search to find him).

If you want to do it as well, open up terminal and enter the following to get to the folder.
Code:
open . /Applications/Utilities/System\ Information.app/Contents/Resources/
After that, backup Assets.car to your desktop.
Copy Assets.car from this post and enter your credentials. (either zip file will decompress to Assets.car)
Enjoy.

Assets.zip
Screen Shot 2019-06-18 at 10.11.34 PM.pngScreen Shot 2019-06-18 at 10.11.21 PM.png
Assets.Colorful.zip
Screen Shot 2019-06-19 at 12.05.08 AM.pngScreen Shot 2019-06-18 at 10.57.42 PM.png
I've also included the Photoshop image so that you can modify to your discretion (sorry, there are no layers, I originally made the file in Pixelmator and didn't save it with the layers intact.) If you want me to redo it with the layers, just let me know.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I made a custom about your Mac Logo. This was inspired by Glasgood's Mojave build on another forum (just do a google search to find him).

If you want to do it as well, open up terminal and enter the following to get to the folder.
Code:
open . /Applications/Utilities/System\ Information.app/Contents/Resources/
After that, backup Assets.car to your desktop.
Copy Assets.car from this post and enter your credentials. (either zip file will decompress to Assets.car)
Enjoy.

Assets.zip
View attachment 411872View attachment 411873
Assets.Colorful.zip
View attachment 411899View attachment 411900
I've also included the Photoshop image so that you can modify to your discretion (sorry, there are no layers, I originally made the file in Pixelmator and didn't save it with the layers intact.) If you want me to redo it with the layers, just let me know.
I feel like that logo would look pretty sweet frosted on a glass panel, I've bought the stuff to do but just never got around. Inspiration ->
 
Top