Contribute
Register

Psedog's Mod Pro. i7-8700K, Vega64, Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi

Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
123
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I currently have OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi as a driver if I also put in osxaptiofix 2000 do you recall if there will be an issues? I seem to remember reading something about only using one OsxAptio driver but its hazy. In fact I can't even remember where to download the driver from :eek: .

I'm a bit hesitant to believe that's the issue though. I have Osx loaded onto on nvme and windows 10 loaded on another one. At the clover boot screen I choose which system to enter, nothing special. But I found I also have issues with windows 10 (in fact worse issues). When putting Windows 10 in sleep mode. More often than not I come back to find that the machine has rebooted and is sitting at the clover boot screen waiting for me to choose which machine to enter.

I'm wondering if maybe there is something funky I did in the BIOS settings since Windows 10 *I would think* should be more stable than osx. Any additional ideas?
I boot windows separate from Clover. I hit F12 during the bios boot. This way I know for sure Clover isn't impacting Windows. I wasn't having stability issues, but I was trying to get Bios drivers to work in Windows. Still doesn't seem to work right, but hey, it is what it is.
On my Clover Config I have fast boot selected that way it goes straight into booting OSX. No waiting for the count down timer (much quicker this way). I disabled it for the share for you guys, because if you had issues, you would be stranded without a USB drive backup.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Thanks for the EFI! So far this is the longest I've gotten my OS to work thanks to you! I've been racking my brain trying to figure out why my boot up wasn't working and I thought that it was because I set up my config.plist wrong, or I thought it was because I had the wrong kexts installed but so far, everything I need to work is working. I have a z390 pro wifi and a Powercolor Vega 64. For all intents and purposes when I installed this time around I disconnected the Vega completely and am running off the motherboard graphics.

One thing though, for some reason every other time or maybe even 4 out of 5 times I boot from macOS, it will load under the apple logo and then the screen will turn black, then have no signal and then go back to the black screen and do that indefinitely. I've been trying to get this to work for the last week or so and did not know why it would do that so I would reinstall over and over and over again using different settings and different bios options, etc. I used vanilla install, I've used unibeast, and finally I've used your method.

I just read someone would have to unplug their HDMI and plug it back in again to get the screen to work and lo and behold the last time I shutdown to test whether or not it would go to black screen it did. The HDMI trick worked, but I'm afraid that if I install my dGPU that the HDMI trick won't work and my install will somehow just not boot for me ever again. I know I know, this process isn't for the light of heart hahaha. Help?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
123
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have a z390 pro wifi and a Powercolor Vega 64. For all intents and purposes when I installed this time around I disconnected the Vega completely and am running off the motherboard graphics.
Try using your Vega64 again. My system is setup with the Vega64 as the primary graphics card. Let me know if you have any issues.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
So funny thing, after I posted that I reinstalled the Vega 64 and tried booting off of that HDMI port. First time I turned the system on it worked fine, so I thought okay, got lucky this time. Installed the logitech app to support my keyboard and in doing so it needed to restart my system. I couldn't manually shut down because the installer wouldn't let me and insisted that I restart through the installer. Clicked okay and then the computer screen turned off. Tried turning the computer on and got it to the apple screen. Then again, the black screen popped on and off, no input, then black screen, then no input, and so forth. Same stupid thing again. No matter what I do, i always run into this specific problem, that freaking black screen. So i turn the computer off, and tried booting off of my usb. The BIOS doesn't even load and screen goes straight to black. It does this for like 10 minutes straight. I ended up disconnecting the power cable for a little bit and tried booting again. Got the bios screen, booted from the USB, and then the apple screen pops up only to immediately turn into the stop sign. Couldn't get farther than that. Either it would take me to the black screen or give me the stop sign. I even removed the video card from the case and ran straight mobo graphics but same thing, stop sign or black screen. I gave up and reinstalled windows for like the 49th time this week. This morning I woke up and r/hackintosh had a new post that i hadn't seen before and it was the anti-hackintosh buying guide. I thought it was interesting so i popped it open and lo and behold, if you look at the GPU section, it says that POWERCOLOR has an issue. Funny because that's the first place that I've seen anyone mention that powercolor had an issue.

https://www.r eddit.com/r/hackintosh/comments/c0y312/antihackintosh_buyers_guide/#GPU for reference.

I started this hackintosh journey because I was tired of buying apple products that would cost so much for so little only to be able to run my favorite os in macOS. I needed a computer for school and invested quite a lot of money only to come this close...it's so frustrating but I know that it is possible to get this bad boy up and running.

Maybe I'll just leave my build here and hope someone has an EFI i could use or you guys could give me some suggestions. Maybe I'll post my config too just in case. Thanks everyone

i5-9600k
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
Powercolor Vega 64 (not the red devil one)
Crucial P1 1TB nvme
Kingston A400 240GB SSD
TForce 16GB (2x8) DDR4-3000
NZXT Kraken x62
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
123
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
NZXT Kraken x62
How is the Kraken connected to your motherboard? Do you have it on a USB header? I know that other RGB pumps have issues with OSX and cause it to not shutdown.

Also, did you setup your BIOS like is linked in Blair's thread that I have linked in my first post?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
123
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Add the patches in the screenshot to your Acpi --> DSDT.

If you are using my clover folder then you shouldn't need Exclude HS14 as it is never mapped.

Under devices, you can remove the two entries under properties (I just did this with my system and it is running fine). Now that I think about it, since you are using a different flavor of Vega64, this is probably what is causing your failure.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Ok I’ll do those things. Yes i has setup my bios exactly the same as how you instructed and I used all of the same files you linked. I am using the kraken plugged in by usb. I could disconnect it since I can’t even control the kraken with any software since MacOS isn’t supported.

You think I should just remove the Vega for now and just run off the IGPU? I guess I could try selling the card and getting a different gpu seeing as the whole point to this build was to run Hackintosh
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2018
Messages
123
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
What Bios are you on? I downgraded to F8. I think F9 was giving me issues. Small/subtle issues.
 
Top