PSA: Gigabyte F20B BIOS changes

Discussion in 'BIOS/UEFI' started by genzai, Nov 21, 2016.

  1. hugheba

    hugheba

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 Superclocked Single Slot 2GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 4, 2016 at 6:00 PM #11
    hugheba

    hugheba

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 Superclocked Single Slot 2GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Stuck in perpetual reboot on Sierra 12.1 with GA-z70n-wifi V2.

    Although I can successfully boot from Unibeast so it's some sort of configuration I'm missing.

    I've tried APIC and KernelPM but didn't work.
     
  2. wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Dec 4, 2016 at 6:08 PM #12
    wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    How the heck can you get into Clover to enable "Patch APIC" and "KernelPM" if the OS won't boot? This is a Catch 22, right? My computer was bricked by F20 on my Skylake computer.
     
  3. BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,217
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640 (UEFI GOP)
    Dec 4, 2016 at 7:12 PM #13
    BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,217
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640 (UEFI GOP)
    You don't have to boot into the OS to enable "Patch APIC" and "KernelPM".
    Boot into Clover, choose Options and under CPU Tuning you can enable PatchAPIC, and under Binaries patching you can enable Kernel PM Patch. After that boot into your OS.
     
    DifferentComputers likes this.
  4. hugheba

    hugheba

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 Superclocked Single Slot 2GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 4, 2016 at 9:15 PM #14
    hugheba

    hugheba

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GT 740 Superclocked Single Slot 2GB DDR3
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I was able to downgrade back to a BIOS version previous to F20.

    I use the FTP Z170 Tool for DOS from https://www.mediafire.com/?p66jhts7cfi26y8

    Then I...

    1. Formatted a USB drive to DOS bootable with Rufus
    2. Copied the contents of the zip above into the root of the USB drive overwriting the AUTOEXEC.bat
    3. Downloaded the the BIOS I wanted to downgrade to from Gigabyte.us site
    4. Move the BIOS binary to the root of the USB and rename it "bios.bin"
    5. Boot the machine from the USB drive and it will automatically overwrite the BIOS to the desired version.
    6. Ctrl-Alt-Delete once it says it's done

    ** Be sure to copy down the MAC address of your Intel NIC as it will be overwritten and you'll have to change it back once you're back up and running.
     
    khoguan and HTOHAGAN like this.
  5. wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Dec 5, 2016 at 1:00 AM #15
    wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Wow, you are sharp... I never would have thought of that. Thanks much; you may have saved me!

    [Edit: Yep, that worked, but only after I updated my config.plist in Clover Configurator about 4 times. Eventually my saved changes "took," and I was able to boot into the OS without using the "Options" in Clover. But now I have a NEW problem: My nVidia Web Driver will not activate, i.e. the graphics always come up using the "OS X Built-in" driver. I have confirmed this; my "Heaven" benchmark app will not run. I rechecked my config.plist and the "NvidiaWeb" box in System Parameters is checked. And the GTX 750 Ti was working fine on my previous BIOS firmware version F4. Not working on F20. Have uninstalled and reinstalled the nVidia Web Driver version 367.15.10.15f03 and still cannot enable the graphics card. Any advice?]
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016
  6. in00b

    in00b

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 6, 2016 at 7:30 PM #16
    in00b

    in00b

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    so, what I'm getting from this is : do not update the bios, the trouble isn't worth it ?
     
  7. dfritchie

    dfritchie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-D3H Rev 1.0 (Bios F20) (Clover UEFI)
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 7950 boost
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 6, 2016 at 11:51 PM #17
    dfritchie

    dfritchie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-D3H Rev 1.0 (Bios F20) (Clover UEFI)
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 7950 boost
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Works fine with AMD cards, problem seems to be with Nvidia web drivers. Don't know why that would be, how would the BIOS prevent the web drivers from loading?
     
  8. wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Dec 7, 2016 at 8:00 PM #18
    wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 750 Ti
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Finally, all OK now, booting from F20 firmware works, MSI nVidia GTX 750 Ti is enabled.

    Corrective maintenance:
    1) Booted into Clover, added the boot option "KernelPM." That allowed booting once into the Mac OS. Then added it to Clover Configurator, which fixed it permanently. (In my case I didn't need the "Patch APIC" box to be checked.)
    2) To get the GTX 750 Ti working, I used Clover Configurator's "Install/Update Drivers" feature to install the "EmuVariableUefi-64.efi" file into the EFI's "drivers64UEFI" folder. And that did it.

    Great that the F20 firmware fixed the addition of about a zillion fake "boot options" after restarts and reboots. Now only the true boot options are shown.
     
    jwrandall, invargo and Darkstar91 like this.
  9. Darkstar91

    Darkstar91

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia EVGA GTX750 Ti Sc
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 9, 2016 at 12:58 AM #19
    Darkstar91

    Darkstar91

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia EVGA GTX750 Ti Sc
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thank you it worked also on my Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5 board, after updating the bios to F20 Firmware my graphic card (GTX 750TI) has stopping working, but after installing EmuVariableUefi-64.efi all work well
     
    YoumeYeh likes this.
  10. nextsak

    nextsak

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    Palit GTX 750ti KalmX
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Color Classic, LC, Performa, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 14, 2016 at 12:56 PM #20
    nextsak

    nextsak

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    Palit GTX 750ti KalmX
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Centris, Color Classic, LC, Performa, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    trying to update from 20e to 20. Same usb drive from which i already had updated to beta 20. Now, after verification 2new icons fast or intact. Whatever my choice cannot update the bios.
     

Share This Page