Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello fellow Hackintosh'ers!

I have been looking around and reading about Hackintosh's for about 7 months or so. I am a digital audio producer, gamer, hardcore user. Fortunately, I have started a business in the past months and I finally have some money and time to spend working on a new build. Its seriously time to upgrade beyond this 3-year-old MacBook Pro (3.06 ghz Core 2 Duo, remember when those were awesome? LOL!) to a dedicated desktop.

There are two builds I have in mind, here are some of the common components:

1x/2x Geforce GTX690
16/32gb Corsair Vengeance 1600+mhz DDR3 ram
4x Intel 520-Series SSD 180gb
2x+ Seagate Barracuda 3TB
1x PCIE TI chipset based firewire card (to run my external firewire audio interfaces)
1x Corsair AX1200 PSU

Bunch of monitors I haven't decided upon. (3x 1440p would be awesome!)

Cooling is to be done by a custom watercooling loop.

The builds differ specifically on their platform:
Intel i7-3770k with Asus Maximus V Extreme LGA1155
or
Intel i7-3930k with Asus Rampage IV Extreme LGA2011

From what I understand, the z77 platform seems to work more 'natively' with OSX. Whereas the x79 is much less supported, the lack of power management features, speed-step, sleep, etc. are most noted.

I wanted to open a new thread inviting current hackintosh users who have any experience with these different platforms to discuss the advantages/disadvantages concerning these recent platforms.

How does the lack of power management features effect the use of your computer? Is there an impact on heat, stability, or compromises in daily workflow/usage?

This build will be heavily overclocked. How does a hackintosh build respond to overclocking? Are there any additional limitations?

As owners of such computers, what are some specifically unique characteristics that one platform provides, if any?