Contribute
Register

Problem with Screen Resolution in Yosemite... (Not Showing)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770k (3.4 GHz)
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 560-Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've had this samsung monitor (actually it's a TV) that's 23.5 inches or 21... that I got as a present... I've been using it ever since I made my Hackintosh with mountain lion. I've always used it at a resolution of 1280x800 and it seemed adequate.

Now, I upgraded to Yosemite and the first time I ran it it worked at 1280x768 with GraphicsEnabler=Yes. After installation, I restarted it, only to be greeted by my computer deducing that my monitor is actually 13.9 inches and that the appropriate resolution is 800x600. God Dammit. I can't choose any other, as the only other option that appears to me is 1280x1024, and that "Mode is not supported" by my monitor, even pre-Yosemite.

I'm not living with an 800 x 600 resolution screen where the dock takes up half my screen and the font is so big that my dead grandmother can read it. There has to be a way to fix this... any ideas??

Thanks!!

My monitors model is sadly unavailable, but I'm running on Nvidia GTX 560 Ti

and I'm sure my computer can read it because I can see it in "about my mac"
 
Last edited:

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,461
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
This sounds like old VGA resolution options. I am not sure how successful this might be but some people have used an app called SwitchResX to deal with screen resolution issues on OS X.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 (Early 2008)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770k (3.4 GHz)
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 560-Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That worked! Thank you so much!
 

Adrian B

Moderator
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
7,461
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 5570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
That worked! Thank you so much!


Excellent - glad that it has solved the issue for you. With an eye to the future I suggest that you consider making sure that any monitor that you are using has a digital connection like DVI-D or HDMI.

You are one of the lucky people that are still able to use a GTX 560Ti with OS X. Many had to give up back in Mavericks due to problems getting the cards to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top