Contribute
Register

Problem with my first build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
599
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
GTX 760
I installed ML and re-booted with my UniBeast USB and then loaded up OS via my HDD which now has ML on it. Ran MultiBeast and set the settings the same as in

http://www.tonymacx86.com/golden-builds/73112-updated-storks-thunderbolt-build-i5-3570k-ga-z77x-up5-th-gtx-650-ti-mountain-lion.html


Finished MultiBeast install and re-booted via the HDD this time, Chimera screen shows quickly followed by the usual grey Apple logo'ed boot screen, then white screen.

What have I done wrong and what should I do to rectify the problem? I was so close to completing the ML install. When I have a working OSX 10.8.2 I can then run the Migration Assistant to transfer everything from this iMac. Please help, anyone :|
If I remember correctly I was having a similar problem. Try booting with PCIRootUID=0 and GraphicsEnabler=No as a boot flag.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Setting Graphics Enabler = no did the trick.:D
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I'm now trying to transfer my data from iMac to new Hackintosh via LAN using Migration Assistant and I'm now told its only 99 hours to go. Does MA work on a Hackintosh? It didn't take too long when I transferred from MacMini to iMac some 5 years ago? :cry:
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the best Bluetooth card that will work in OSX 10.8.2? As the WiFi/ Bluetooth card that came with my GA-Z77X-UP5-TH motherboard won't work and I want to use my Apple BT keyboard and Magic Mouse.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have now successfully transferred all my data, email and apps from my iMac to my Hackintosh, using Migration Assistant. I remembered that I could connect the two directly using an ethernet cable. Didn't take too long in the end. Then deleted the user I had setup when installing ML. NOw I am all setup, apart from Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, for which I will have to await the arrival of the IOGear GBU521 USB Bluetooth dongle :D:D:D
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5
CPU
The Fast One
Graphics
The Slow One
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. eMac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Great to hear it's going well... hope that bluetooth thingy comes up trumps. How awesome is your new machine?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's going well thanks. Not really had much time with it yet, as only finished the Migration from iMac yesterday evening and been at work today. I just ran the Geek-bench on it and achieved 13531:

Geekbench_18Feb2013.png

Andrew
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, me again :|

I have a FW800 G-Technology 4TB external HDD. I just bought an Apple Thunderbolt to FW800 cable converted, connected my G-Tech HDD via this converter cable and booted up. I cannot see the drive! Is there anything else I need to install? I would appreciate your advice.

Many thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, false alarm. I rebooted the G-Tech HDD and OSX found it. All working :D

At least someone else, can see that it works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top