Contribute
Register

Problem with my first build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi

I have today built my first hackintosh, well it's just a PC at the moment!

The motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH

the case is a Corsair 500R

32GB RAM

Eva GeForce GTX 660 T1

PSU: Corsair 650 Watt Modulator

Monitor Dell U2700

i carefully put everything together (I've built PCs before), and when I power up with the monitor attached via DVI-D and wired Apple keyboard attached, I don't get any screen output either via MB DVI-D or graphics card, and the MB LED shows AE or if I hold down DEL key A9 or A6. I would appreciate some advise to get it to work, as I am almost tearing my hair
out!
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well I got past my last problem. I hadn't connected the SATA power cable to the ATX4P connector on the MB!

So, I can now boot into the BIOS, which I have now successfully flashed to F11 (the latest for the GA-Z77X-UP5 TH MB). I had already created a Mountain Lion UniBeast bootable flash drive with my iMac. But when I boot the computer with the USB drive connected I press the F12 key and selected the USB drive from the options, but then get told that I should add a bootable drive and press any key. Suggestions please.

Andrew
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm re-creating the bootable USB stick and installing with UniBeast...
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, re-creating a bootable USB stick with Mountain Lion, appears to have done the trick. ML now installing, hope it finds my iMac on the network and I can copy my stuff over :)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Get so far through the install then stops with:

"IOUSBFamily did not receive enough extra current for the SuperSpeed device (4-Port USB 3.0 Hub) at 0x14c00000..."

Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5
CPU
The Fast One
Graphics
The Slow One
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. eMac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Is your Mountain Lion installer plugged into a USB 3 port (one of the blue ones) - try putting it in another port of the USB 2 variety.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Thunderpants, a huge thank you to you. That did the trick OSX 10.8.2 currently installing now. Why doesn't USB3 work? Will USB3 be ok when I have finished setting up with MultiBeast?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I installed ML and re-booted with my UniBeast USB and then loaded up OS via my HDD which now has ML on it. Ran MultiBeast and set the settings the same as in

http://www.tonymacx86.com/golden-builds/73112-updated-storks-thunderbolt-build-i5-3570k-ga-z77x-up5-th-gtx-650-ti-mountain-lion.html


Finished MultiBeast install and re-booted via the HDD this time, Chimera screen shows quickly followed by the usual grey Apple logo'ed boot screen, then white screen.

What have I done wrong and what should I do to rectify the problem? I was so close to completing the ML install. When I have a working OSX 10.8.2 I can then run the Migration Assistant to transfer everything from this iMac. Please help, anyone :|
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
50
Motherboard
MacPro
CPU
Intel Core i7 3.5GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660 Ti 2048MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm re-installing ML and when I run MultiBeast I will select the Customisation option Graphics Enabler = no

Do you think that will give me a running system? I hope so.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5
CPU
The Fast One
Graphics
The Slow One
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. eMac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Don't worry, USB 3 will eventually work. It's just a pain in the derriere at this stage of setting things up. (I had the same problem as I recall)

I also had that white screen problem, which drove me nuts. The only solution I found, by trial and error, was by selecting a different mac-variant in multibeast. (I think it's under : Drivers&Bootloaders > Drivers > System) So now my machine identifies itself as a "Mac Pro early 2008", which is fine with me. I tried changing it to iMac and the problem returned so I have left it the way it is. (I was clean installing Mountain Lion every time I'd try a different setting in multibeast. Not sure if that was necessary.. but it eventually worked.)

Hope that helps... I can't crack open Multibeast & check my advice right now as I daren't install it again and run it unnecessarily...

Good luck
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top