Contribute
Register

Problem updating Clover

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,117
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I managed to get Sierra installed on my NUC system, after a few missteps. But I'm having some minor issues. The one I'd like to deal with right now is the fact that SIP doesn't seem to be disabled even though I have "BooterConfig=0x28" and "CsrActiveConfig=0x3" in my config.plist. It's preventing me from updating Clover to v3625 because the Clover installer won't run (I get this dialog when I try to run it):

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 2.14.32 PM.png


Any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H
CPU
i3-4160
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can make it so it opens anything or you can make it that it warns you just this once.
To disable this security feature forever go to system preferences then click Security & Privacy then click the lock if you need to. Below it should say Allow apps downloaded from and you want to click one of the options that suits you.

To open a program from an unidentified publisher as a once off, follow the other path but instead of changing how it handles programs just click open anyway on the right of the program name.

Hope this helped to fix your loading clover thing.
 

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,117
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You can make it so it opens anything or you can make it that it warns you just this once.
To disable this security feature forever go to system preferences then click Security & Privacy then click the lock if you need to. Below it should say Allow apps downloaded from and you want to click one of the options that suits you.

To open a program from an unidentified publisher as a once off, follow the other path but instead of changing how it handles programs just click open anyway on the right of the program name.

Hope this helped to fix your loading clover thing.

I didn't know the "Open Anyway" button was popping up because I didn't have the Security & Privacy pane open...but there is no option anymore (it was taken away in this public beta of Sierra, apparently) to allow apps downloaded from "Anywhere" - the only two options are "App Store" and "App Store and identified developers". I thought disabling SIP was supposed to override that?

It's going to really suck going forward if the "Allow Apps Downloaded from Anywhere" option isn't there anymore - having to go into Preferences and click "Open Anyway" every time you want to run an app that isn't approved by Apple's muckety-mucks will be a real pain in the ass.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H
CPU
i3-4160
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I didn't know the "Open Anyway" button was popping up because I didn't have the Security & Privacy pane open...but there is no option anymore (it was taken away in this public beta of Sierra, apparently) to allow apps downloaded from "Anywhere" - the only two options are "App Store" and "App Store and identified developers". I thought disabling SIP was supposed to override that?

It's going to really suck going forward if the "Allow Apps Downloaded from Anywhere" option isn't there anymore - having to go into Preferences and click "Open Anyway" every time you want to run an app that isn't approved by Apple's muckety-mucks will be a real pain in the ass.
If you go identified developers, it really shouldn't trouble you too much, if I recall correctly, even tonymacx86 counts as an identified developer when you open multibeast. Anyone that puts their name on their program counts really. This does annoy me too because I had problems with terminal opening multiple programs at the same time

But you got clover installed, right?
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,490
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
You can still opt to allow all apps with the Terminal command sudo spctl --master-disable, which not only disables Gatekeeper but resurfaces the old “from anywhere” option in the Gatekeeper UI in system preferences.
 

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,117
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You can still opt to allow all apps with the Terminal command sudo spctl --master-disable, which not only disables Gatekeeper but resurfaces the old “from anywhere” option in the Gatekeeper UI in system preferences.

*THAT* is truly useful information - thanks!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,695
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know why this is a "best kept secrete" but it should be in the guide since we're using a lot of unsigned kexts in the beta builds.
Code:
sudo spctl --master-disable
 
Top