CPU
Intel 10700k
Graphics
none
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings to you all! I'm currently planning a build for a studio Hackintosh based around the tonymac custom mac pro setup (
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, Intel Core i7-3770K etc) but there are a few areas i need some pointers on. This is my first build so please forgive me if I ask some dumb-ass questions!

Firstly the way I work...I have two Pro-tools PCIe HD2 cards. Pro tools is currently can either stream audio from disk or from ram. Ram streaming gives a much faster response time. I also stream virtual instruments (Omnisphere, Kontakt etc)mostly from ram but can also be from disk. Effects plug-ins also run in the sessions and use up processor power as do the virtual instruments.

What I need...More than anything it needs to be super super quiet..I want to overclock, but quietly! I've seen quieter PSU's and coolers other than those on in the guides...will these work or do i need to stick to those items on the list? Can anyone recommend Really quiet coolers etc?

I currently run two Graphics cards (four monitors) in my new build can i run two monitors from the motherboard and two from a separate CPU? Guess my other big question is is this system going to be up to the job? If I turn my Pro-tools system into a native one (No processing done by the cards) Can I run hundreds of stereo tracks (48k with plug-ins) , virtual instruments (mainly orchestral so quite processor hungry) and HD quicktime movies?

So how quiet can I make it? Is it up to the job? Would love to hear from anyone who has successfully done this for a similar Pro-Tools setup!

Thanks

Peter

The quietest, most efficient air CPU coolers I have used are the Megahalems with 2 Noctua PWM controlled fans in push-pull mode and the Noctua NH-D14.

Peter,

Considering your interests, I would start on this board, you will find a lot of suitable information by doing a little reading. You will also be familiarising yourself with the site a little better.