Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Hello

first: i am a total newbie in the Hackintosh world, but use Mac since OS 8

I`m in the planning for my first build this summer 2018.
Since i read updating OSX on a Hackintosh is not an easy task, i think about to wait for the next OSX in fall but build the machine already for the Win Boot and maybe also Linux.

Can i add OSX later, or should i build it with all OS`s straight together?

FYI: I will add every OS on a separate Disk!

thanks for any advise

Hello

first: i am a total newbie in the Hackintosh world, but use Mac since OS 8

I`m in the planning for my first build this summer 2018.
Since i read updating OSX on a Hackintosh is not an easy task, i think about to wait for the next OSX in fall but build the machine already for the Win Boot and maybe also Linux.

Can i add OSX later, or should i build it with all OS`s straight together?

FYI: I will add every OS on a separate Disk!

thanks for any advise

Yes, you can install macOS at a later date.

Updating macOS on a hackintosh is usually not too difficult. Just check the OS X Updates sub-forum when there are updates.

thanks for your infos!
other question: to share files between the osx, win and linux i think about to add an extra HD.
which disk format is the recommended to share files flawless?

ps: i have almost the same motherboard Asus Rog Strix-F Gaming. maybe i have questions later during the build and i will come back to you again ;)

thanks for your infos!
other question: to share files between the osx, win and linux i think about to add an extra HD.
which disk format is the recommended to share files flawless?

ps: i have almost the same motherboard Asus Rog Strix-F Gaming. maybe i have questions later during the build and i will come back to you again ;)

ExFAT is probably the most compatible file system. I don't know if it's "flawless", but all three operating systems should be able to read and write to it.