Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
186
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Classic Mac
512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had a few minutes left today and tried to play a heavy demanding GPU game (Company of Heroes 2) on my Sapphire RX Vega 64 Nitro+. I noticed that the GPU has still difficulties and can suffer from heat I think. Also Heaven benchmarks will eventually take the GPU down by resetting the GPU with full blowing fans. So I put back the powerplaytable values witch improved somewhat. Any ideas? I'm a little done with this card and I like to upgrade maybe to a Radeon 7 or 5700. What will be best worry free purchase?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had a few minutes left today and tried to play a heavy demanding GPU game (Company of Heroes 2) on my Sapphire RX Vega 64 Nitro+. I noticed that the GPU has still difficulties and can suffer from heat I think. Also Heaven benchmarks will eventually take the GPU down by resetting the GPU with full blowing fans. So I put back the powerplaytable values witch improved somewhat. Any ideas? I'm a little done with this card and I like to upgrade maybe to a Radeon 7 or 5700. What will be best worry free purchase?
Apple typically allows the hardware to really heat up even to the point of throttling for the sake of trying to keep systems quiet...

Try using VGTab to see if you can keep the card cooler.

If you really want to upgrade, in my opinion, Radeon VII is a more trouble-free than 5700 XT as of today. If you are in the US, check Newegg. I recently saw a Radeon VII for about $550.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G WIFI AC
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi,

I have an odd problem regarding the monitor output. I have two graphic cards as described in the signature. The AMD card is in slot #1 and connected to the monitor via HDMI, and the nVidia card is in slot #2 and connected to the monitor via DP. I have disabled the nVidia card from config.plist using devices properties. Things work well for both macOS and Windows.

But whenever the monitor go to sleep or being turned off in macOS (just the monitor, not the whole system), I can't get it to turn back on. HDMI has no output. I have to shuffle the monitor cable (switch DP cable from the nVidia card to AMD card) to get some sort of monitor output.

Any idea what I have done wrong here? It seems like a trivial problem.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,

I have an odd problem regarding the monitor output. I have two graphic cards as described in the signature. The AMD card is in slot #1 and connected to the monitor via HDMI, and the nVidia card is in slot #2 and connected to the monitor via DP. I have disabled the nVidia card from config.plist using devices properties. Things work well for both macOS and Windows.

But whenever the monitor go to sleep or being turned off in macOS (just the monitor, not the whole system), I can't get it to turn back on. HDMI has no output. I have to shuffle the monitor cable (switch DP cable from the nVidia card to AMD card) to get some sort of monitor output.

Any idea what I have done wrong here? It seems like a trivial problem.
I've never had much luck with HDMI on macOS. It often wakes to black screen or flickers in the middle of normal use. The same HDMI cable on the same computer with same video card works fine in Windows. In some instances, lowering resolution and/or refresh rate helps.

If possible, use DisplayPort instead of HDMI.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G WIFI AC
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
I've never had much luck with HDMI on macOS. It often wakes to black screen or flickers in the middle of normal use. The same HDMI cable on the same computer with same video card works fine in Windows. In some instances, lowering resolution and/or refresh rate helps.

If possible, use DisplayPort instead of HDMI.
I see. The thing is, my monitor only has 1x DP and 1x HDMI. And 144hz only works through DP port in Windows.
I guess I just have to live with it.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I see. The thing is, my monitor only has 1x DP and 1x HDMI. And 144hz only works through DP port in Windows.
I guess I just have to live with it.
Sometimes, higher quality HDMI cables can help.

Do your problems manifest when using DisplayPort with macOS?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
No. There's absolutely no need to do that at all. It's just a massive waste of time.

  1. Download the OpenCore EFI.
  2. Plug in your Serial, Board Serial, UUID, and MAC address to the OpenCore config.plist.
  3. Replace the EFI on the EFI partition of your main system drive (or put it on the EFI partition of a USB flash drive if you want to test first).
  4. Reboot.
Really? That's -all- there is to it? What about all the carefully selected drivers and kexts I currently use with Clover? Obviously I'm missing something here...
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
15,581
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Really? That's -all- there is to it? What about all the carefully selected drivers and kexts I currently use with Clover? Obviously I'm missing something here...
kexts will belong in the kext folder

Edit:
they will also need to be listed out in your config.plist
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK: the thing I'm missing here is that I've not actually looked at OC, although I'd like to since that's the way things are going. So: is there also a driver folder? Sorry to be so obvious... has someone done a tutorial here on switching from Clover to OC? I can go read that instead of asking dumb questions...
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
15,581
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK: the thing I'm missing here is that I've not actually looked at OC, although I'd like to since that's the way things are going. So: is there also a driver folder? Sorry to be so obvious... has someone done a tutorial here on switching from Clover to OC? I can go read that instead of asking dumb questions...
when you download OC, you will see a sample.plist which will give indications of the structure

there will be a lot of studying to do, trial and error etc
 
Top