Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
yep... working on it now.
I forgot to mention that you should delete the /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/SSDT-6-A M I (with power injection).aml file.
Also, delete the SSDT-Z390-RP05-SLOT4-TB3HP.aml file.

Use your own USB fix instead.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for that update.
I've copied the UUID and serials, but (admitting my ignorance) I'm fuzzy on what you mean by "system definition" - is that somehow different from copying the whole of my SMBIOS and replacing yours?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for that update.
I've copied the UUID and serials, but (admitting my ignorance) I'm fuzzy on what you mean by "system definition" - is that somehow different from copying the whole of my SMBIOS and replacing yours?
System definition as in iMacPro1,1 or iMac19,1 or iMac18,3, etc.

Yes, copy your entire SMBIOS section and replace mine.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
done. Also deleted your properties and added mine (all one of it), and ...
your USB is:
USB = {
AddClockID = YES;
FixOwnership = YES;
HighCurrent = YES;
Inject = NO;
};

whereas mine is
USB = {
FixOwnership = YES;
Inject = YES;
};

change to mine, or use yours?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
done. Also deleted your properties and added mine (all one of it), and ...
your USB is:
USB = {
AddClockID = YES;
FixOwnership = YES;
HighCurrent = YES;
Inject = NO;
};

whereas mine is
USB = {
FixOwnership = YES;
Inject = YES;
};

change to mine, or use yours?
You can. It shouldn't matter too much either way...
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK... about to put in the altered config.plist and give it a go. Before I do, however, I'd like to ask about the "new NVRAM" you mentioned. I notice that your drivers do not include EmuVariableUefi.efi, which got installed when I chose the Clover with emulated pkg.
Comments?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK... about to put in the altered config.plist and give it a go. Before I do, however, I'd like to ask about the "new NVRAM" you mentioned. I notice that your drivers do not include EmuVariableUefi.efi, which got installed when I chose the Clover with emulated pkg.
Comments?
If NVRAM is working, you don't need the NVRAM emulation driver...

If it all works, you should also uninstall the RC scripts.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK... I gave the new config.plist a try. it got further than before. I got the famous series of purple lines on the vega card, but then, as it progressed further, the screen simply went black, and that was that. (Yeah, I should have verbosed it, but forgot...)
So I yanked it and rebooted to my Mojave Nvme, and discovered that the previous Catalina try managed to fully enable my SIP, which was off for Mojave. It took several reboots for the old config.plist to disable SIP again, and I'm now in the process of dealing with re-authorizing system extensions and getting myself back to normal.

Am I correct that SIP must be enabled for Catalina to run?

I can't test the NVRAM yet because I cannot yet boot into Catalina. I'm pretty sure this board does Not have native NVRAM...
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,006
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK... I gave the new config.plist a try. it got further than before. I got the famous series of purple lines on the vega card, but then, as it progressed further, the screen simply went black, and that was that. (Yeah, I should have verbosed it, but forgot...)
So I yanked it and rebooted to my Mojave Nvme, and discovered that the previous Catalina try managed to fully enable my SIP, which was off for Mojave. It took several reboots for the old config.plist to disable SIP again, and I'm now in the process of dealing with re-authorizing system extensions and getting myself back to normal.

Am I correct that SIP must be enabled for Catalina to run?

I can't test the NVRAM yet because I cannot yet boot into Catalina. I'm pretty sure this board does Not have native NVRAM...
SIP can be enabled or disabled. It's up to the user how they like their system. I've been leaving SIP enabled since Mojave.

The SIP setting is in your config.plist.

If you have hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions/, you need to delete them to use my EFIs. You should not be seeing purple lines. That was fixed long ago. It sounds like it may have booted in to Catalina but you just got black screen. Try unplugging and re-plugging your monitor cable from the video card.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, I'm 18 hours into trying to make this work, and I am going to have to give up and start all over again. No matter what I try to do, I either get the "prohibited" sign, or a progress bar that never seems to quit. Nothing I've tried works.

Can I use a UniBeast stick w/Catalina to install onto a drive that already has Mojave and many files on it?

If so, I'll try that. Then I'll probably wait for MultiBeast for Catalina.
 
Top