Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
116
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8086K
Graphics
Vega 56 - flashed Sapphire Nitro+ 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef What settings (Bios) do you use for the fans.
I would like them to be so quiet as possible but without the nervous up-and down speed when I'm converting video.
Any suggestions?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,336
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef What settings (Bios) do you use for the fans.
I would like them to be so quiet as possible but without the nervous up-and down speed when I'm converting video.
Any suggestions?

I have my fans set at the default settings. Yes, they can ramp up and down when the system is under load. I noticed this much more after switching my front fan to a Silverstone 180mm. it was much less noticeable with the old Noctua 120mm fans.

I guess you can set the fans to ramp up earlier (when CPU temp is lower) to make the fans stay at a more constant RPM.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
265
Motherboard
MSI H97 GAMING 3
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
HD 4600 & GTX 650 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you are already entering the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, I would just keep it there. The Hackintool created info should be the same.

I haven't experienced any problems by populating PCI. I've had it in place for quite a long time now.
Here I'm back after all those Kernel Panic nightmare. The trick to have 2 configs in the Clover EFI didn't work for some reason. I had to boot from USB in order to boot into the OS.

I started checking what entry might caused the KP and I suspected dGPU and its HDMI audio one. My PCI list wasn't fully empty though. It had my dGPU automatically populated by the OS from the beginning.

I paste what Hackintool populated below. After deleting those from the config file, it successfully booted. The Slot string below states "Internal@0,1,0/0,0" but automatically populated entry by the OS is "Slot-1". It seems that caused the KP. If anyone else have an issue like that this info would help. That's why I wanted to report it here.

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,1,0/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-2</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>GK106 [GeForce GTX 650 Ti]</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x1)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,1,0/0,1</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>GK106 HDMI Audio Controller</string>
            </dict>

Other than that I have a question. Under Hardware / SATA/SATA Express the list goes like
Serial-ATA Device Tree
Generic AHCI Controller
KINGSTON...

I saw some of the SS from other people and instead of Generic AHCI Controller, they have their chipset name. In my case it is supposed to be "9 Series Chipset Family SATA Controller [AHCI Mode]" (I got this from under PCI btw). Why do I have Generic instead under SATA/SATA Express?

Also, Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table) is under SATA/SATA Express. But if I check Storage, it says Partition Map Type: Unknown. What do you think? Should I be worried?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
137
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-9700K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @pastrychef

I was looking at your EFI OpenCore 0.5.4, precisely in DeviceProperties your hardware is listed (also). Is it advisable to modify with my hardware or keep yours?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,336
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here I'm back after all those Kernel Panic nightmare. The trick to have 2 configs in the Clover EFI didn't work for some reason. I had to boot from USB in order to boot into the OS.

I started checking what entry might caused the KP and I suspected dGPU and its HDMI audio one. My PCI list wasn't fully empty though. It had my dGPU automatically populated by the OS from the beginning.

I paste what Hackintool populated below. After deleting those from the config file, it successfully booted. The Slot string below states "Internal@0,1,0/0,0" but automatically populated entry by the OS is "Slot-1". It seems that caused the KP. If anyone else have an issue like that this info would help. That's why I wanted to report it here.

Code:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,1,0/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-2</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>GK106 [GeForce GTX 650 Ti]</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x1)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,1,0/0,1</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>GK106 HDMI Audio Controller</string>
            </dict>

Other than that I have a question. Under Hardware / SATA/SATA Express the list goes like
Serial-ATA Device Tree
Generic AHCI Controller
KINGSTON...

I saw some of the SS from other people and instead of Generic AHCI Controller, they have their chipset name. In my case it is supposed to be "9 Series Chipset Family SATA Controller [AHCI Mode]" (I got this from under PCI btw). Why do I have Generic instead under SATA/SATA Express?

Also, Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table) is under SATA/SATA Express. But if I check Storage, it says Partition Map Type: Unknown. What do you think? Should I be worried?

Thanks!

Are you using SSDTs or DSDT? Those can populate System Information > PCI.
What system definition are you using?

I don't know if 9-series motherboard SATA is natively supported.
Do you have any kexts for SATA?

A lot of this depends on how you have your EFI folder configured.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,336
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @pastrychef

I was looking at your EFI OpenCore 0.5.4, precisely in DeviceProperties your hardware is listed (also). Is it advisable to modify with my hardware or keep yours?

Since we have the same motherboard, most should be the same. You can change/modify the devices that are different.

Please keep in mind that the OpenCore EFI is using iMacPro1,1 system definition and I still haven't tested with IGPU only configurations.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
137
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-9700K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Since we have the same motherboard, most should be the same. You can change/modify the devices that are different.

Please keep in mind that the OpenCore EFI is using iMacPro1,1 system definition and I still haven't tested with IGPU only configurations.
I just mounted the MSI Vega 56 :mrgreen:, and it seems to work really well. I wanted to try OpenCore.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,336
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just mounted the MSI Vega 56 :mrgreen:, and it seems to work really well. I wanted to try OpenCore.

Ah. Okay. Cool.

So, try opening the config.plist with Xcode or PlistEdit Pro. Then go to the Devices section and you can edit the text for video card to say "Vega 56" or anything you like.

You should also delete the lines that start with "PP_". Those are the power tables for my Radeon VII that I forgot to delete... :banghead:
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,336
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just mounted the MSI Vega 56 :mrgreen:, and it seems to work really well. I wanted to try OpenCore.

I replaced the OpenCore EFI with the power tables deleted.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
137
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-9700K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My current Vega 56 settings: (post #8,707)
1630MHz core @ 1010mV, 900MHz HBM, 55 target temperature.
2020-01-21 alle 21.41.19.png
 
Top