Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,966
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Official idea is coming from the German Hackintosh site. I forgot to mention. Add slide=0 boot arg also. Someone tested it there and he is saying with slide=0 it's much stable without it he is getting sometimes allocation error while booting. Just keep in mind.
I have slide=0 on Clover and OpenCore. The reboots seem to be work fine. I tested about half dozen cold boots and a dozen warm reboots.

On OpenCore, I placed the new SSDT as the first SSDT to load.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,045
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have slide=0 on Clover and OpenCore. The reboots seem to be work fine. I tested about half dozen cold boots and a dozen warm reboots.

On OpenCore, I placed the new SSDT as the first SSDT to load.
Btw could you please share your OC Z390 EFI. I will try to create an OC tomorrow and I want to use it for a base.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,966
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Btw could you please share your OC Z390 EFI. I will try to create an OC tomorrow and I want to use it for a base.
Here's both my Clover and OpenCore EFIs for my Z390 M Gaming. They are pretty much the same EFIs I use for my Z370 G with just a few changes for NVRAM.

Please enter your own Serial, Board Serial, and UUID for both.

Also, delete Devices > Properties and DeviceInfo in Clover and OpenCore config.plists, respectively.

My USB and Thunderbolt aml files will also not work for you unless you are using the same motherboard.

Btw, FileVault is working on both.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
Failed to write to private?? I've never heard of this error... Can you please provide a picture?

Did you use Disk Utility to initialize your drive to APFS/GUID?
I've attached the installer log! This is after tinkering with the time setting (to no avail), hence the '11 oct 2019' bit. Thanks so much for your reply and help so far!
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
239
Motherboard
MSI H97 GAMING 3
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
HD 4600 & GTX 650 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
Populating System Information > PCI:

For those of you who want to populate System Information > PCI, I have good news. With the aid of Hackintool, it's now quite easy to get it populated.

Waring: As always, make a backup of your existing config.plist or your entire EFI folder before doing this so that you can use it to boot in case something goes wrong.

1. Launch Hackintool.
2. Click on the PCI tab on the top portion of the window.
3. Click on the Export button on the bottom portion of the window.
4. Look for the pcidevices.plist file on your desktop and open it with Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.
5. Look for PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1b,0x0) and delete AAPL,ig-platform-id and device-id. (*Note: I also deleted PCI devices that were not actual PCI-e cards. The deleting of ig-platform-id and device-id is only applicable for this build. If your build requires them, you should fill the appropriate values instead.)
Hi, I'm considering to do this to my H97 Haswell build. I need to use ig-platform-id so step 5 is not necessary for me. I'm wondering that applying this might result any issues? In your case you had issues with sleep but since I don't use sleep I don't mind if it breaks sleep or not. I don't even know if sleep works ATM. :)

To be safe, I always have a few versions of config.plist file in EFI like:
config.plist
configlast.plist (this is the current config file before I apply new patches or modifications, so in case of fire I brake the glass and lunch it with a working version) :)

Thanks!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,966
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've attached the installer log! This is after tinkering with the time setting (to no avail), hence the '11 oct 2019' bit. Thanks so much for your reply and help so far!
Please try again with the latest Clover EFI from post #1. The only thing you may want to do is add Serial, Board Serial, and UUID to config.plist. You can also try changing system definition to iMacPro1,1 and disable IGPU in BIOS.

Please don't make other changes. In your installer log, I saw that SIP was disabled. My EFI folders have SIP enabled.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,966
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I'm considering to do this to my H97 Haswell build. I need to use ig-platform-id so step 5 is not necessary for me. I'm wondering that applying this might result any issues? In your case you had issues with sleep but since I don't use sleep I don't mind if it breaks sleep or not. I don't even know if sleep works ATM. :)

To be safe, I always have a few versions of config.plist file in EFI like:
config.plist
configlast.plist (this is the current config file before I apply new patches or modifications, so in case of fire I brake the glass and lunch it with a working version) :)

Thanks!
I haven't manually entered ig-platform-id or device-id for IGPU in a long time. I just let Clover and macOS auto detect it. If you want to manually enter the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, it shouldn't cause any problems.

None of the above should affect sleep. It's just manually telling macOS which IGPU you are using.

The only thing that affected sleep was the LPC/eSPI controller. To fix that, just delete that entry from the list.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
239
Motherboard
MSI H97 GAMING 3
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
HD 4600 & GTX 650 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
I haven't manually entered ig-platform-id or device-id for IGPU in a long time. I just let Clover and macOS auto detect it. If you want to manually enter the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, it shouldn't cause any problems.

None of the above should affect sleep. It's just manually telling macOS which IGPU you are using.

The only thing that affected sleep was the LPC/eSPI controller. To fix that, just delete that entry from the list.
I know, but if you have Haswell you need to do it even before installing the OS anyway. It's already in config file and also it matches with the entry Hackintool created (pcidevices.plist).

I didn't mean sleep is affected by ig-platform-id, those are 2 different topics. I also did read your post so I know how you fixed sleep issue too, no worries. I just wanted to know that if you had any (other) issues by populating sys info in PCI.

Thanks!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,966
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I know, but if you have Haswell you need to do it even before installing the OS anyway. It's already in config file and also it matches with the entry Hackintool created (pcidevices.plist).

I didn't mean sleep is affected by ig-platform-id, those are 2 different topics. I also did read your post so I know how you fixed sleep issue too, no worries. I just wanted to know that if you had any (other) issues by populating sys info in PCI.

Thanks!
If you are already entering the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, I would just keep it there. The Hackintool created info should be the same.

I haven't experienced any problems by populating PCI. I've had it in place for quite a long time now.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please try again with the latest Clover EFI from post #1. The only thing you may want to do is add Serial, Board Serial, and UUID to config.plist. You can also try changing system definition to iMacPro1,1 and disable IGPU in BIOS.

Please don't make other changes. In your installer log, I saw that SIP was disabled. My EFI folders have SIP enabled.
Hey again, I've done all of the steps above, but no luck unfortunately. I'm not sure why my SIP was disabled - I followed instructions to turn it back on. It's still refusing to let me select the disk, unfortunately. :( do you have any idea what could be causing this?
 

Attachments

Top