Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,077
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've attached the installer log! This is after tinkering with the time setting (to no avail), hence the '11 oct 2019' bit. Thanks so much for your reply and help so far!
Please try again with the latest Clover EFI from post #1. The only thing you may want to do is add Serial, Board Serial, and UUID to config.plist. You can also try changing system definition to iMacPro1,1 and disable IGPU in BIOS.

Please don't make other changes. In your installer log, I saw that SIP was disabled. My EFI folders have SIP enabled.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,077
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I'm considering to do this to my H97 Haswell build. I need to use ig-platform-id so step 5 is not necessary for me. I'm wondering that applying this might result any issues? In your case you had issues with sleep but since I don't use sleep I don't mind if it breaks sleep or not. I don't even know if sleep works ATM. :)

To be safe, I always have a few versions of config.plist file in EFI like:
config.plist
configlast.plist (this is the current config file before I apply new patches or modifications, so in case of fire I brake the glass and lunch it with a working version) :)

Thanks!
I haven't manually entered ig-platform-id or device-id for IGPU in a long time. I just let Clover and macOS auto detect it. If you want to manually enter the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, it shouldn't cause any problems.

None of the above should affect sleep. It's just manually telling macOS which IGPU you are using.

The only thing that affected sleep was the LPC/eSPI controller. To fix that, just delete that entry from the list.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
254
Motherboard
MSI H97 GAMING 3
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
HD 4600 & GTX 650 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
I haven't manually entered ig-platform-id or device-id for IGPU in a long time. I just let Clover and macOS auto detect it. If you want to manually enter the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, it shouldn't cause any problems.

None of the above should affect sleep. It's just manually telling macOS which IGPU you are using.

The only thing that affected sleep was the LPC/eSPI controller. To fix that, just delete that entry from the list.
I know, but if you have Haswell you need to do it even before installing the OS anyway. It's already in config file and also it matches with the entry Hackintool created (pcidevices.plist).

I didn't mean sleep is affected by ig-platform-id, those are 2 different topics. I also did read your post so I know how you fixed sleep issue too, no worries. I just wanted to know that if you had any (other) issues by populating sys info in PCI.

Thanks!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,077
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I know, but if you have Haswell you need to do it even before installing the OS anyway. It's already in config file and also it matches with the entry Hackintool created (pcidevices.plist).

I didn't mean sleep is affected by ig-platform-id, those are 2 different topics. I also did read your post so I know how you fixed sleep issue too, no worries. I just wanted to know that if you had any (other) issues by populating sys info in PCI.

Thanks!
If you are already entering the ig-platform-id and/or device-id, I would just keep it there. The Hackintool created info should be the same.

I haven't experienced any problems by populating PCI. I've had it in place for quite a long time now.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please try again with the latest Clover EFI from post #1. The only thing you may want to do is add Serial, Board Serial, and UUID to config.plist. You can also try changing system definition to iMacPro1,1 and disable IGPU in BIOS.

Please don't make other changes. In your installer log, I saw that SIP was disabled. My EFI folders have SIP enabled.
Hey again, I've done all of the steps above, but no luck unfortunately. I'm not sure why my SIP was disabled - I followed instructions to turn it back on. It's still refusing to let me select the disk, unfortunately. :( do you have any idea what could be causing this?
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,077
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey again, I've done all of the steps above, but no luck unfortunately. I'm not sure why my SIP was disabled - I followed instructions to turn it back on. It's still refusing to let me select the disk, unfortunately. :( do you have any idea what could be causing this?
If you have other hard drives or SSDs or optical drives installed, try disconnecting them.

Another thing you can do, if you have another Mac or hacintosh, do the install on that computer then transplant the drive in to this Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
77
Motherboard
MSI H370M Bazooka
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 570
Hey again, I've done all of the steps above, but no luck unfortunately. I'm not sure why my SIP was disabled - I followed instructions to turn it back on. It's still refusing to let me select the disk, unfortunately. :( do you have any idea what could be causing this?
Is SATA mode set to AHCI in the BIOS/Firmware?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is SATA mode set to AHCI in the BIOS/Firmware?
Hi Curtis,

Yes it is, unfortunately. Just tried swapping back and forth to no avail, sadly :(. Thanks for checking, though!
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you have other hard drives or SSDs or optical drives installed, try disconnecting them.

Another thing you can do, if you have another Mac or hacintosh, do the install on that computer then transplant the drive in to this Hackintosh.
No luck unfortunately :( Mojave installs just fine, but Catalina seems to be too difficult for my system to handle. Your EFI file is all it should (theoretically) take to get the system working, right?
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,077
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
No luck unfortunately :( Mojave installs just fine, but Catalina seems to be too difficult for my system to handle. Your EFI file is all it should (theoretically) take to get the system working, right?
Yes. The only X factor is the RX 5700 XT... I don't have any experience with that and it seems to be finicky for lots of people.

If you don't have problems installing Mojave, you can just upgrade to Catalina.
 
Top