Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z370- Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Disabling IGPU is done from BIOS.
So it must be simple... But I never found the switch. It would be helpful in Post 1
Only the multi-monitor settings. Is that it?

Clean installs are overrated.
Okay, I respect that and I am happy that it worked so well for you.
I had my Apple Account locked for switching system definitions. Twice... Back with HighSierra.
Maybe I just had bad luck. I did check the serial numbers, though...
Last week I tried iMacPro1,1 to see if it would help with the stuttering/audio (it did not). And all my licences, icloud, logins, etc. were gone. This (for me) was more effort to fix than just reinstalling Mac OS and restoring from a time machine backup (which is exactly like cloning your drive but preserves the logins and iCloud. Licences probably not if it is on a different machine/SystemDefinition.) :)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,374
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
So it must be simple... But I never found the switch. It would be helpful in Post 1
Only the multi-monitor settings. Is that it?


Okay, I respect that and I am happy that it worked so well for you.
I had my Apple Account locked for switching system definitions. Twice... Back with HighSierra.
Maybe I just had bad luck. I did check the serial numbers, though...
Last week I tried iMacPro1,1 to see if it would help with the stuttering/audio (it did not). And all my licences, icloud, logins, etc. were gone. This (for me) was more effort to fix than just reinstalling Mac OS and restoring from a time machine backup (which is exactly like cloning your drive but preserves the logins and iCloud. Licences probably not if it is on a different machine/SystemDefinition.) :)
Just disable the following:
171208122519.jpg

Try changing cables for your stuttering. If your cable is faulty, you may see a bunch of complaints in Console about HDCP.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-H Gaming WIFI AC
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
I’m having some strange issues. My system has been working very good for several months, but suddenly it starts to freeze after a few minutes of use. It normally starts with the ball spinner, and after 30s the clock stops and I have to cut the power. The strange thing is I encountered the same thing a couple of months ago, also after some months of perfect use. Solved it by clean install then, might do the same now. However would be nice to find a solution.

It’s strange it is working for some months and then the same problem. Any ideas for possible causes? I’ve tried to update clover, all Kexts, and the bios. But Mojave still freezes after 1 -15 min of usage. Windows on another HD is also working without any problem.

Thanks in advance
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,374
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I’m having some strange issues. My system has been working very good for several months, but suddenly it starts to freeze after a few minutes of use. It normally starts with the ball spinner, and after 30s the clock stops and I have to cut the power. The strange thing is I encountered the same thing a couple of months ago, also after some months of perfect use. Solved it by clean install then, might do the same now. However would be nice to find a solution.

It’s strange it is working for some months and then the same problem. Any ideas for possible causes? I’ve tried to update clover, all Kexts, and the bios. But Mojave still freezes after 1 -15 min of usage. Windows on another HD is also working without any problem.

Thanks in advance
Do you have panic logs? How are temperatures in your system? is the power supply healthy?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
new advice sought. My rig is running fine. Using a RX580 Nitro, but I do a fair amount of FCP-X, so am considering a Vega 64 (or 56?). Wondering what's involved in doing the update. Simple or tricky? Any specific tips or instructions? Suggestions?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,374
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
new advice sought. My rig is running fine. Using a RX580 Nitro, but I do a fair amount of FCP-X, so am considering a Vega 64 (or 56?). Wondering what's involved in doing the update. Simple or tricky? Any specific tips or instructions? Suggestions?
If you are using my EFI folder, just swap out the cards. You shouldn't have to do anything.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Mamimus XI Hero (Wifi)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you are using my EFI folder, just swap out the cards. You shouldn't have to do anything.
I didn't download your folder, but cobbled things together with your help. Perhaps I should grab yours (where?) and compare by eyeball? What should I look for?

(...and thanks, yet again...)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,374
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I didn't download your folder, but cobbled things together with your help. Perhaps I should grab yours (where?) and compare by eyeball? What should I look for?

(...and thanks, yet again...)
It's all attached to post #1.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Your H370 motherboard should have been able to run High Sierra and Mojave if configured correctly.

Nvidia never released any web drivers for Mojave and you need them to use your GTX 980. Unless you change to a different video card, you won't be able to use Mojave.

Without knowing what your EFI configuration looks like or which motherboards, you are using, I can only guess that you are missing drivers for the ethernet on the Z390 motherboard.

Personally, I would not be happy being stuck in Sierra. As I stated earlier, both your H370 and Z390 motherboards should be able to run High Sierra and Mojave. The GTX 980 is a limiting factor that will prevent you from running Mojave.

I think you need to look for High Sierra and Mojave guides for Gigabyte H370 and Z390 and redo your configuration from the beginning. It sounds like you have a very old installation and have not implemented changes needed to move beyond Sierra.
Hello Pastychef and thanks for such a very quick response!

Among some of the things I’ve been doing, I tried to install, high Sierra, however, it was worse than Mojave. I got at the very beginning the forbidden sign.

Personally, after reading some points of view about high Sierra and my unsuccessful attempts to install it, I’m not interested in it at all, so I think It’s better to jump to Mojave.

I have no problem switching my graphics card, and I can get an RX 580 without much problem. Do you think that will do to finish the Mojave install and getting my Ethernet card up and running?

Thanks again,

Ps, I will buy you a cup of coffee!
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370F
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yes, it works perfectly. I haven't had a USB keyboard or mouse connected to this hack for the last few months so the only ways for me to wake it are (1) Bluetooth Magic Mouse 2/Magic Trackpad 1 or (2) the power button on the case and I never use the power button on the case.
Good to know. Then, your MB is much different than I thought. Because yours have Wifi/BT built in.

Do you ever use uhd630 as your primary display driver for 4k monitor? I have these stutters when running some system animations like opening folders:
Just curious to know if it's config.plist issue or it means that uhd 630 is not enough for 4k.

Thanks.
 
Top