Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z390-I Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Now the new problem is, I was able to boot into clover, but don't see the Mac OSX installer, only option to boot to older Windows drive.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
12,445
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Now the new problem is, I was able to boot into clover, but don't see the Mac OSX installer, only option to boot to older Windows drive.
Try creating your USB installer using the Apple directions:

When done, copy the EFI folder to the EFI partition.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z390-I Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
This is weird, So i use clover installer to install the

VBoxHfs - 64

and now i can boot into the osx installer, is this suppose to be use?


Now the apple logo will come up, the the bar will load till like 60% then the apple logo wil become error symbol instead
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
12,445
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
This is weird, So i use clover installer to install the

VBoxHfs - 64

and now i can boot into the osx installer, is this suppose to be use?


Now the apple logo will come up, the the bar will load till like 60% then the apple logo wil become error symbol instead
My EFI folders include HFSPlus.efi. VBoxHfs-64.efi should not be needed.

Please try running in verbose mode and post a picture of where it gets stuck.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370F
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@pastrychef Hey. My monitor LG 4k 27UK650 is connected to motherboard through DP and I get randomly black screen flashes. Like someone disconnect and then connect the cable again. It starts blinking and if I reconnect the cable it stops blinking. If I don't reconnect it it becomes black and only reboot may help. What it might be wrong? I have latest bios (1802). iGPU multi-monitor is enabled and CPU graphics set as default graphics device in bios.
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
12,445
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef Hey. My monitor LG 4k 27UK650 is connected to motherboard through DP and I get randomly black screen flashes. Like someone disconnect and then connect the cable again. It starts blinking and if I reconnect the cable it stops blinking. If I don't reconnect it it becomes black and only reboot may help. What it might be wrong? I have latest bios (1802). iGPU multi-monitor is enabled and CPU graphics set as default graphics device in bios.
What kexts are you using?

You have some Nvidia settings in config.plist > Devices > Add Properties. What are they for? Do you have an Nvidia card installed?
388057

Have you tried using my EFI from post #1?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370F
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@pastrychef These settings disable my nvidia gtx 1080 so I can run Mojave on hd 630 and not putting out nvidia card everytime. These settings recommended by CorpNewt.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
12,445
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef These settings disable my nvidia gtx 1080 so I can run Mojave on hd 630 and not putting out nvidia card everytime. These settings recommended by CorpNewt.
Try using my EFI folder and add those settings to the config.plist. Remember to set SMBIOS to iMac18,1 and copy over your Serial, Board Serial, and UUID.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
88
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z370- Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
My 9900K is shown as "unknown" too.

You need to spoof 8th gen IGPU. Please see post #1.
Thank you so much!

It worked (partly).

I see "Intel HD Graphics CFL" in system info -> graphics/displays now

Now, when waking the machine, by using a bluetooth keyboard/trackpad/mouse it wakes, but black screen. After ca. 1 min it goes back to sleep and can not be woken by bluetooth device again. Only the power-button. But then I get a display signal.
If I press buttons often while it wakes, I will get a signal.

If I wake the machine by using the power button in the first place, it directly wakes with display signal, but bluetooth sometimes doesn't work (bcm94360cd)

why could that be?
 
Top