Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,375
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Pastrychef.
I'm here again in this beautiful thread/artwork you've made.
I had some boot problem by upgrading to high sierra 10.13.6 so i've updated to Mojave 10.14.3.

Installation went smooth and the boot problem didn't show up again. But now i've different problems:
-Wifi Card doesn't work anymore, just by ethernet.
-The computer doesn't shutdown or restart at all, i have to manually press the main button to switch it off.
-Second monitor (both plugged via dp and hdmi to rx580) after Clover boot up doesn't work anymore, but still recognized by system status.
-Random Freezes/lags even using fcpx, like i can't even playbak the video in the timeline.
-Pre Boot time increased (before landing to clover boot)

That's for now. I'm still testing and if something new appears i'll update.
I've changed EFI folder with your latest release.

Any idea of what might have happened to my hack?

Thanks.
As per forum rules, please update your profile with CPU, motherboard, and GPU information.
Click here first, then select "Account details":
386722


  • If you are using an Apple branded Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card, nothing about Clover or Mojave should affect it. What worked in High Sierra should continue to work in Mojave.
  • Shutdown was addressed early on in this build with a config.plist flag. I don't recall restart having ever been an issue.
  • WhateverGreen should address multi monitor issues.
  • I have no idea what's causing random freezes/lags in FCPX. Make sure you have IGPU enabled and configured correctly.
  • Whatever happens before Clover is probably a BIOS issue. Which version of BIOS are you on?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z370-G
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey pasty,

I figured out a nice Setting in the BIOS that helps a LOT with easy overclocking:

"Maximum CPU Core temperature": 80
You can find this Setting under the "Advanced" tab -> "CPU Configuration" at the bottom.
This trottles the CPU as soon as it hits 80 Degrees. How awesome is that?!
Yes, the CPU-Light on the MoBo will light up because of the throttling (but that can easily be fixed with a bit of black UHU Pattafix)

The 9900K will ramp up to 5 GHz for Benchmarking (just like the original programming by Intel) and then lower the clock as soon as it is hot. It gets hot pretty quickly, but the clocks then still stay way higher than the normal intel clocks. I can maintain 4.3 for a long time. After a couple of hours it will go down to 3.6, which would be Intels standard. So, this is the ideal fix to get around the overvoltage issue (on adaptive mode) and the overheating issue / low max. Overclock frequency (with fixed Voltage, because eventually 3.6Ghz is the long-term stable frequency@80°C, and you can not type a higher frequency in if you want 24 hour stability).

The other Settings:
I put 50 for all cores (or actually let TPU:II set this for me)
AVX Offset 3 (but it should not matter if you use it or not in this case, so you can just set it to 0. I just put it to 3 to avoid the high wattage spike)
Core/Cache Voltage: Auto (It stays unter 1.3 automatically. Only saw one little spike to 1.42 for a nanosecond in OCCT Linpack, which is totally fine. That was the Point where thy system always overheated and OCCT stopped before)
SVID: Auto (=Enabled. Because then the Intel Power Gadget will show me how many Watts the CPU is using)
SVID Behavior: "Best Case Scenario" (this is not active if you dont use Adaptive mode, I read. This would look at the VID and apply the lowest voltage that one core has in the VID to all other cores as well. But I left it enabled, anyways.)
Multi-Core enhancement: Auto (this maxes out the turbo duration, even with "CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max." : Auto)
LLC: 5
XMP: On
Max. CPU Cache Ratio: 47
BCLK Aware Adaptive Voltage: Disabled

Thats all. Everything else on Auto.


Why don't more people know this Temp throttling feature? It makes Overclocking very easy and quite safe. Maybe this is not available on many other mainboards?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,375
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey pasty,

I figured out a nice Setting in the BIOS that helps a LOT with easy overclocking:

"Maximum CPU Core temperature": 80
You can find this Setting under the "Advanced" tab -> "CPU Configuration" at the bottom.
This trottles the CPU as soon as it hits 80 Degrees. How awesome is that?!
Yes, the CPU-Light on the MoBo will light up because of the throttling (but that can easily be fixed with a bit of black UHU Pattafix)

The 9900K will ramp up to 5 GHz for Benchmarking (just like the original programming by Intel) and then lower the clock as soon as it is hot. It gets hot pretty quickly, but the clocks then still stay way higher than the normal intel clocks. I can maintain 4.3 for a long time. After a couple of hours it will go down to 3.6, which would be Intels standard. So, this is the ideal fix to get around the overvoltage issue (on adaptive mode) and the overheating issue / low max. Overclock frequency (with fixed Voltage, because eventually 3.6Ghz is the long-term stable frequency@80°C, and you can not type a higher frequency in if you want 24 hour stability).

The other Settings:
I put 50 for all cores (or actually let TPU:II set this for me)
AVX Offset 3 (but it should not matter if you use it or not in this case, so you can just set it to 0. I just put it to 3 to avoid the high wattage spike)
Core/Cache Voltage: Auto (It stays unter 1.3 automatically. Only saw one little spike to 1.42 for a nanosecond in OCCT Linpack, which is totally fine. That was the Point where thy system always overheated and OCCT stopped before)
SVID: Auto (=Enabled. Because then the Intel Power Gadget will show me how many Watts the CPU is using)
SVID Behavior: "Best Case Scenario" (this is not active if you dont use Adaptive mode, I read. This would look at the VID and apply the lowest voltage that one core has in the VID to all other cores as well. But I left it enabled, anyways.)
Multi-Core enhancement: Auto (this maxes out the turbo duration, even with "CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max." : Auto)
LLC: 5
XMP: On
Max. CPU Cache Ratio: 47
BCLK Aware Adaptive Voltage: Disabled

Thats all. Everything else on Auto.


Why don't more people know this Temp throttling feature? It makes Overclocking very easy and quite safe. Maybe this is not available on many other mainboards?
Wow. Cool. I didn't even know about that setting. I'll check it out the next time I reboot. Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7 8700k
Graphics
Sapphire RADEON RX 580 NITRO+
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
As per forum rules, please update your profile with CPU, motherboard, and GPU information.
Click here first, then select "Account details":
View attachment 386722


  • If you are using an Apple branded Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card, nothing about Clover or Mojave should affect it. What worked in High Sierra should continue to work in Mojave.
  • Shutdown was addressed early on in this build with a config.plist flag. I don't recall restart having ever been an issue.
  • WhateverGreen should address multi monitor issues.
  • I have no idea what's causing random freezes/lags in FCPX. Make sure you have IGPU enabled and configured correctly.
  • Whatever happens before Clover is probably a BIOS issue. Which version of BIOS are you on?
Sorry, I haven't been here for a while, and I didn't update with new UI for components.
-About WiFi my PCI card is Tp-Link TL-WDN4800 N900 and it's always has worked native, so I don't understand this issue. Right now it's not my first concern; it'll be the last problem I'll fix.
-I'm gonna look about that flag in config.plist
-WhateverGreen is in EFI--kext--Other, I already tried to replace it but I can't get the second monitor HDMI work after boot. Just black screen even if it's recognized from the system.
-About IGPU. I haven't touched anything in BIOS before/after the update but later as I get to the studio I'm looking if IGPU is correctly configured. Maybe random freezes/lags will fix when other settings are correct.
-I'll take a snapshot about preboot, and write here the BIOS version. Just a couple hours of getting to the studio.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
how to make itunes drm work ? i have the latest efi folder v4.5.2 and installed latest mojave updates.
itunes movies stay black, music is working.

edit: netflix in browser is working.

Okay, are you ready for the real thing in terms of the macOS chime?

So, yesterday, I posted and I, and I think you were getting a chime at the very start of Clover loading. Nice, but as I load both Windows and Linux Mint, I wanted the chime to load only after macOS started. So, over at that "other" site, I did some research and got some really good answers.

This is how it goes:

  1. Unfortunately, for this new method to work you must remove sound.wav from anywhere you might have put it.
  2. From the attached zip folder, you have to copy bootchime.wav to the root of your EFI folder (and nowhere else).
  3. From the attached zip folder, copy both AudioDxe.efi and BootChimeDxe.efi to your drivers64 folder, and overwrite as needed. I think you must use the AudioDxe.efi from this file for this to work (but I'm not absolutely sure about that).
  4. From the attached zip folder, copy BootChimeCfg.efi and HdaCodecDump.efi to the tools folder in Clover.
  5. I've only tested this on Clover 4862 - I doubt it will work on any other earlier version of Clover.
I have done this on two clones and both work as expected. Clover starts to load (and no sound yet), then the boot menu loads, and times out and loads the default OS, which for me is macOS. Immediately, and just as the Apple icon shows up, I get a chime, just as I wanted and hoped for.
hey nice work, is it possible to target the mainboard speaker to output the sound ? :D
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,375
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
how to make itunes drm work ? i have the latest efi folder v4.5.2 and installed latest mojave updates.
itunes movies stay black, music is working.

edit: netflix in browser is working.



hey nice work, is it possible to target the mainboard speaker to output the sound ? :D
The shikigva=1 boot argument fixes iTunes DRM for some, but, apparently, not all. I don't know why it's inconsistent.

Thorsager successfully got it working using. slightly different method. You can see post #5518 and try it if you like.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z370-E
CPU
i9-9900K OC @ 5.0Ghz
Graphics
VEGA 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
when you guys enable iGPU + dGPU, do you see the actual full name of the iGPU in iStats? min ejust says GPU but usually it should say Intel 630 or wtv no?

Also, I only have one GPU in System info > Graphics. @pastrychef , does the HD630 show up in Graphics for you and the full name in iStats?

I saw that Clover > Devices addon to ID the 9th gen iGPU in your post and also that the 9th gen CPUs are now updated in MacOS though so it should see it natively. Is that right?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,375
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
when you guys enable iGPU + dGPU, do you see the actual full name of the iGPU in iStats? min ejust says GPU but usually it should say Intel 630 or wtv no?

Also, I only have one GPU in System info > Graphics. @pastrychef , does the HD630 show up in Graphics for you and the full name in iStats?

I saw that Clover > Devices addon to ID the 9th gen iGPU in your post and also that the 9th gen CPUs are now updated in MacOS though so it should see it natively. Is that right?
iStat Menus shows my IGPU as "Intel HD Graphics CFL".

When configured correctly, System Information > Graphics/Displays should not show the IGPU unless you do not have a dGPU.

I didn't know that macOS correctly recognizes the 9th gen CPUs now. I still use config.plist > Devices > Properties to inject ig-platform-id and device-id.

386872386873
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX Z370-G
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX 580
Mac
iMac
when you guys enable iGPU + dGPU, do you see the actual full name of the iGPU in iStats? min ejust says GPU but usually it should say Intel 630 or wtv no?

Also, I only have one GPU in System info > Graphics. @pastrychef , does the HD630 show up in Graphics for you and the full name in iStats?

I saw that Clover > Devices addon to ID the 9th gen iGPU in your post and also that the 9th gen CPUs are now updated in MacOS though so it should see it natively. Is that right?
Yes, I see "Intel UHD Graphics 630" in iStats. But in System info > Graphics, the IGPU should not be shown. It seems strange that your IGPU is just labeled "GPU"

Its worth mentioning that my IGPU is in fact the Coffeelake IGPU on a 8700K chip.
Im not sure it is needed to entered device-id and so forth, but I've tried a dozen of combinations for the past weeks, and this worked, so I believe its needed.

But I'll test later if I can remove both shikigva bootflag and config.plist > Devices > Properties to inject ig-platform-id and device-id, and still have it work.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,375
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
But I'll test later if I can remove both shikigva bootflag and config.plist > Devices > Properties to inject ig-platform-id and device-id, and still have it work.
Yes. It will work. I removed those from my EFI folders on post #1 a while ago. I let macOS detect your IGPU. Please see post #4561.
 
Last edited:
Top