Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,189
Motherboard
Asus X299 WS Sage
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
So, @pastrychef

As of Clover 4861, the Chime is working for me, on both of my Hacks.....with a few caveats!

- When you install 4861, you have to specify and install the "Clovy" Themes folder.

- It's best to use the sound.wav file it installs, which can be found in the Clovy theme folder, as the utility is very picky about the sound format for the sound file. Also, on cheaper speakers, the sound.wav file (its a mac chime sound) can sound pretty chintzey. On better speakers, it sounds better.

- I copied sound.wav into the root folder of each of themes I wanted to test. It worked in all of them. If the sound.wav file was not copied into the root of each of the theme folders, of course no sound occured. If you only use one theme, copy sound.wav into the root of that theme. You don't need to copy into every theme folder, just into the ones you want to use.

- In Clover Configurator (or via a CLI editor), you must enable the SVG embedded theme type

- It ONLY worked for me if a speaker is connected to the green port in the rear of my machine (and internal speakers was selected in sys prefs/sound). It did not work on any of the ports for my AMD on HDMI connections (mine is DP, but I think the program thinks DP and HDMI are the same thing). DP did not show up as an option.

- You may need to specify the port in the Clover menu at boot time. Once you've selected the right port, in my experience, you don't have to select it again. When I selected the "wrong" HDMI port, my machine locked up - hard. If I selected one of the ports labelled "Realtek", it did not lock up, but it wouldn't play on some of those ports. Because, of course, no speaker was attached. It was very hit and miss, but eventually, I found the port that worked. It wasn't that hard, just a bit tedious

- I'm still testing to see if booting is problematic still. I've booted several times, missed on a few, but most played the sound and booted properly.

ADD: Warning to others: This new feature is still pretty experimental and definitely not for the faint of heart....use caution, please, if you try this. It's still in the development phase, and things can go wrong if you're not careful.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,888
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, @pastrychef

As of Clover 4861, the Chime is working for me, on both of my Hacks.....with a few caveats!

- When you install 4861, you have to specify and install the "Clovy" Themes folder.

- It's best to use the sound.wav file it installs, which can be found in the Clovy theme folder, as the utility is very picky about the sound format for the sound file. Also, on cheaper speakers, the sound.wav file (its a mac chime sound) can sound pretty chintzey. On better speakers, it sounds better.

- I copied sound.wav into the root folder of each of themes I wanted to test. It worked in all of them. If the sound.wav file was not copied into the root of each of the theme folders, of course no sound occured. If you only use one theme, copy sound.wav into the root of that theme. You don't need to copy into every theme folder, just into the ones you want to use.

- In Clover Configurator (or via a CLI editor), you must enable the SVG embedded theme type

- It ONLY worked for me if a speaker is connected to the green port in the rear of my machine (and internal speakers was selected in sys prefs/sound). It did not work on any of the ports for my AMD on HDMI connections (mine is DP, but I think the program thinks DP and HDMI are the same thing). DP did not show up as an option.

- You may need to specify the port in the Clover menu at boot time. Once you've selected the right port, in my experience, you don't have to select it again. When I selected the "wrong" HDMI port, my machine locked up - hard. If I selected one of the ports labelled "Realtek", it did not lock up, but it wouldn't play on some of those ports. Because, of course, no speaker was attached. It was very hit and miss, but eventually, I found the port that worked. It wasn't that hard, just a bit tedious

- I'm still testing to see if booting is problematic still. I've booted several times, missed on a few, but most played the sound and booted properly.

ADD: Warning to others: This new feature is still pretty experimental and definitely not for the faint of heart....use caution, please, if you try this. It's still in the development phase, and things can go wrong if you're not careful.
Cool!! Thanks for the info!!

I didn't know they released a new update to Clover. I just checked yesterday...

When I tested the chime on the previous Clover release, it was still quite buggy. It's definitely still a work in progress.

I only use the "Mac" theme as I find that to be closest to how "Option + Power" boot is on a real Mac.

I'm booted in to Windows right now, but I'll be sure to do a little testing after this gaming session.

Thanks again!!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,800
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Lmao. I think I'm heading down the same path as your GF...

The last time I got this addicted to a game was Oblivion and then Skyrim.
She at least does it in few hours here and there at this point and mostly with our Son he is five and generally helps her solve many of the shrines.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus STRIX Z370 G Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac
Hi! Just finished your built. Based on the strength of all the documentation, I decided to make the (financial hardware investment) plunge and give it a try. Thanks for all your hard work!

Now, i have the usual post-installation problems.

I've got two issues (regarding things I've tested) so far. The first is the graphics card situation. My 1070 Zotac mini isn't recognized and--although I've got the correct Nvidia web driver--I can't get it to load because whenever I set it as my preference in the Nvidia driver system preferences panel, the system keeps overriding and using the system drivers (which I don't think even exit because Apple didn't make any (as far as I know) for the 1x00 model cards). Am I guessing correctly that's my problem (which includes screen flutter at start up) and how do I solve this issue? Sorry for asking a question that may already have been answered in the 517 pages of Q&As =)

I'll keep troubleshooting the other issues, before getting into them. May be able too figure it out on my own.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,888
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi! Just finished your built. Based on the strength of all the documentation, I decided to make the (financial hardware investment) plunge and give it a try. Thanks for all your hard work!

Now, i have the usual post-installation problems.

I've got two issues (regarding things I've tested) so far. The first is the graphics card situation. My 1070 Zotac mini isn't recognized and--although I've got the correct Nvidia web driver--I can't get it to load because whenever I set it as my preference in the Nvidia driver system preferences panel, the system keeps overriding and using the system drivers (which I don't think even exit because Apple didn't make any (as far as I know) for the 1x00 model cards). Am I guessing correctly that's my problem (which includes screen flutter at start up) and how do I solve this issue? Sorry for asking a question that may already have been answered in the 517 pages of Q&As =)

I'll keep troubleshooting the other issues, before getting into them. May be able too figure it out on my own.
Welcome to the club! :thumbup:

The Nvidia web drivers can be a bit of a PITA...
  • As of today, there are still no Nvidia web drivers for Mojave. Therefore, if you want to use your GTX 1070, you must use High Sierra, at least for now.
  • You MUST make sure that you have the correct build of the web drivers that correspond to the version of macOS.

There are several methods to make macOS use the Nvidia web drivers.
  1. Launch Terminal and enter: sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1"
  2. In config.plist > Boot, enable nvda_drv=1
  3. In config.plist > System Parameters, enable NvidiaWeb
I listed these in the order of my personal preference. Method 1 is how it's done on real Macs. Method 2 mimics method 1 through Clover. Method 3 is a hackintosh only thing and was introduced at a time when native NVRAM was broken for many hackintoshes. As far as I know, there's no harm to enabling all three methods.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,888
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, @pastrychef

As of Clover 4861, the Chime is working for me, on both of my Hacks.....with a few caveats!

- When you install 4861, you have to specify and install the "Clovy" Themes folder.

- It's best to use the sound.wav file it installs, which can be found in the Clovy theme folder, as the utility is very picky about the sound format for the sound file. Also, on cheaper speakers, the sound.wav file (its a mac chime sound) can sound pretty chintzey. On better speakers, it sounds better.

- I copied sound.wav into the root folder of each of themes I wanted to test. It worked in all of them. If the sound.wav file was not copied into the root of each of the theme folders, of course no sound occured. If you only use one theme, copy sound.wav into the root of that theme. You don't need to copy into every theme folder, just into the ones you want to use.

- In Clover Configurator (or via a CLI editor), you must enable the SVG embedded theme type

- It ONLY worked for me if a speaker is connected to the green port in the rear of my machine (and internal speakers was selected in sys prefs/sound). It did not work on any of the ports for my AMD on HDMI connections (mine is DP, but I think the program thinks DP and HDMI are the same thing). DP did not show up as an option.

- You may need to specify the port in the Clover menu at boot time. Once you've selected the right port, in my experience, you don't have to select it again. When I selected the "wrong" HDMI port, my machine locked up - hard. If I selected one of the ports labelled "Realtek", it did not lock up, but it wouldn't play on some of those ports. Because, of course, no speaker was attached. It was very hit and miss, but eventually, I found the port that worked. It wasn't that hard, just a bit tedious

- I'm still testing to see if booting is problematic still. I've booted several times, missed on a few, but most played the sound and booted properly.

ADD: Warning to others: This new feature is still pretty experimental and definitely not for the faint of heart....use caution, please, if you try this. It's still in the development phase, and things can go wrong if you're not careful.
Yay!! Startup chime is working!!

I did as you did and used the sound.wav file from the Clovy theme.
Just as you experienced, the AMD on HDMI connectors didn't work for me and ONLY the green port in the rear worked.
For me, the first Realtek option was the one that worked.
There's a pop from my speakers when the audio driver is initialized and the chime plays immediately following the pop.
There's a second pop when macOS is loading. Neither of these two pops ever happened before.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,888
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
As I previously stated, I filed a bug report with Asus regarding loss of ability to choose "Primary Display" in BIOS with BIOS 1601. I've been transferred to several reps along the way. I'm assuming I was progressing up the priority lists. The latest email I received from them was yesterday and the rep just wanted to assure me that their engineers are still working on it.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,189
Motherboard
Asus X299 WS Sage
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Yay!! Startup chime is working!!

I did as you did and used the sound.wav file from the Clovy theme.
Just as you experienced, the AMD on HDMI connectors didn't work for me and ONLY the green port in the rear worked.
For me, the first Realtek option was the one that worked.
There's a pop from my speakers when the audio driver is initialized and the chime plays immediately following the pop.
There's a second pop when macOS is loading. Neither of these two pops ever happened before.
NOTE: a new Clover version has been released since I posted (4862). When they release a new version so immediately after another new version, in my experience, that usually means 4861 has a bug, or some serious issue.......I will be upgrading later this morning....I'll let you know if I hit any real troubles with 4862....

It really is a work in progress.....but progress is being made none the less....
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
537
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
As I previously stated, I filed a bug report with Asus regarding loss of ability to choose "Primary Display" in BIOS with BIOS 1601. I've been transferred to several reps along the way. I'm assuming I was progressing up the priority lists. The latest email I received from them was yesterday and the rep just wanted to assure me that their engineers are still working on it.
I have the same thing going on for a MAXIMUS X HERO (BIOS 1801). A pragmatical interim solution offered by the engineer was to send me a preconfigured BIOS where iGPU MultiMonitor is enabled and PEG enabled for POST. Works fine so far, but of course it is still not possible to access these BIOS options in the mainboard´s management tool.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus STRIX Z370 G Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac
The Nvidia web drivers can be a bit of a PITA...
  • As of today, there are still no Nvidia web drivers for Mojave. Therefore, if you want to use your GTX 1070, you must use High Sierra, at least for now.
  • You MUST make sure that you have the correct build of the web drivers that correspond to the version of macOS.

There are several methods to make macOS use the Nvidia web drivers.
  1. Launch Terminal and enter: sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1"
  2. In config.plist > Boot, enable nvda_drv=1
  3. In config.plist > System Parameters, enable NvidiaWeb
Thanks so much for guiding us wretched souls out of hackintosh pergatory !!!
So .... here's more info on my situation (EFI screen shots with config.list attached) ... I have:

--10.12.6 (16G29)
--Nvidia web driver: 378.05.05.25f01 (up to date, correct version for 16G29)
--bios version: 1002 x64 (built date 07/02/2018 / EC version: mbec-z370-0203 / me firmware: 11.8.50.3470)
--using your EFI (high Sierra) folder
-- 4X8 (32GB) Ram (G.Skill DDR4-3000 / CL-16-18-18-38 1.35v) Manufact#: F4-3000C16D-16GISB

Here are my 2 current problems:

I. START-UP

**can only boot into USB stick**

== when trying to boot into HD (BTW:the drive is recognized by bios), start-up goes straight into the mobo bios (and again after save and exit) ==

possible problems:

(a) the bios (see end of this post for bios settings) "Secure Boot state" is enabled and greyed out -- can't changed to "disabled" (is this necessary ... is this a bios ver. problem? If I need to flash or update, where and how do I best do so?)
(b) I have 4 unmapped RAM sticks that show up in bios and apple system report:
--the report has the correct speed: 3000MHz, but it isn't correctly reading the whole Part# correctly (F4-3000C16-8GISB, instead of the full: F4-3000C16D-16GISB) and the memory slot description seems weird: Bank 0/Dimm0 / Bank1/Dimm0 / Bank0/DIMM1 / Bank1/Dimm1). AND/HOWEVER/BUT ...
--the speed in the mobo bios only registers as 2133MHz (under Dram status), but when I switch X.M.P. to "enabled", profile #1 appears and reads out my RAM's Mhz, latency values and voltages correctly (but the erroneous Dram stuatus values remain)
(c) after installation, I didn't do multibeast, but just put your EFI (High Sierra) into the HD EFI partition (was something not added that should have been?)
(d) Every time I open the HD Efi partition, an extra EFI folder (w/ only the apple/extensions folder in it) has been added to your EFI (high Sierra) folder

II. GRAPHICS

** 1070 not recognized in HD start-up **

== first time I fired up the mobo with graphics card, the bios came back saying that my graphics card wasn't UeFI recognized ==

things tried:

(a) added EmuVariableUEFI-66 (not sure what ver., but says it was created June 20, 2017) to HD EFI folder .... to NO avail (in HD start-up/boot attempt)
(b) I already had checked the Nvidia #2 and #3 perimeters you suggested above ... to no avail in HD boot/start-up... it goes back to "OS X Default Graphics Driver"..... BUT --->

** 1070 recognized in Clover USB boot **

(1) replaced the USB boot-up EFI folder (which in it's original form also wasn't recognizing the Nvidia card) with the HD EFI folder (which isn't loading because I can't boot to HD) and ----> SUCCESS ... card recognized using the HD EFI folder (incl. it's config.list) when booting into USB boot:
--Nvidia web driver loads (not "OS X default")
--apple sys report sees and reports correctly on the 1070
--no more screen fluttering, slowness, breaks in screen imaging

BUT .... this is only in the usb boot .... how to get this same efi folder working in the HD boot (which it presumably would if I could only get the system to boot from the HD)?

---------------------------------

* Bios settings:

Boot-->Fast Boot: disabled
Boot-->CSM-->Launch CSM: Enabled
Boot-->CSM-->boot device control:UEFI and Legacy OPROM
Boot-->CSM-->from network/storage/PCI: Legacy only
Boot-->SECURE BOOT--> secure boot state: enabled (grey out=can't change)
Boot-->SECURE BOOT--> Platform keystate:unloaded(greyed out)
Boot-->SECURE BOOT--> OS type : other OS
Boot option#1: SATA6G_1:St4000
Boot override: SATA6G_1:ST4000

ADVANCED:

(1) Platform misc Config-->

PCI express NPM: disabled
PCH DMI ASPM: disabled
ASPM:disabled
L1 substaes: diasbaled
PCI Express Clock Gating: enabled
DMI Link ASPM Control: disabled
PEG-ASPM:disabled

(2)SystemAgent Config-->

vt-d:disabled
above 4G decoding: enabled

GRAPHICS CONFIG:
Primary display: PCIE
iGPU Multi-Monitor:disabled

PEG PORT CONFIG:
PCIEX16X8: auto

MEMORY CONFIG:
memory Remap:enabled

(3) PCH Config-->
PCI Express Config--> IOAPIC 24-119 Entries: enabled

(4) PCH Storage config:
sata controller: enabled
sata mode:ahci
agreesive LPM: disabled
Sata6G: ST4000DM004

(5)APM Config-->
erp ready:disabled
power on by PCI-E:enabled
Power on by RTC: disabled

(6)Network stack-->
Network stack: disabled

(7)USB config
Legacy USB support: enabled
USB Keyb & Mouse Simulator: disabled

-------------------------------
*see attachment for config list and screen shots of EFI folder contents:
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top