Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5-Clover
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
VEGA 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
LC, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I played a game, league of legends, same configuration macOS vs W10 and first one gets 150 fps, second one gets 220-280 fps. In my iMac for example, I have got bootcamp with windows and there are no differences (I think is even better macOS performance with this game), do you think something can be wrong?
Wait.. I'm confused. Bootcamp with Windows on your hackintosh? Does Bootcamp work on a hackintosh? Or are you comparing hackintosh with a real Mac?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2019
Messages
27
Motherboard
MSI H370 Bazooka
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't know what you mean by "waves" in Launch Pad.

What did you install with MultiBeast? I did not use it in my instructions on post #1. Mixing my EFI folder with MultiBeast will probably result in problems because you will end up with conflicting kexts in multiple locations.

Never expect gaming on macOS to be on par with Windows. Just about every game will perform much better in Windows.

Thanks for reply.

- About
Wait.. I'm confused. Bootcamp with Windows on your hackintosh? Does Bootcamp work on a hackintosh? Or are you comparing hackintosh with a real Mac?

I am sorry about the confusion. I have an iMac with bootcamp and I said that I did not notice any different between league of legends performance in iMac macOS and iMac W10
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,407
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for reply.
Check in /Library/Extensions/ and /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. Make sure you don't have the same kexts in multiple locations. Also, make sure you don't have multiple instances of Aptio fixes whether it be OsxAptopFixDrv or AptioMemoryFix.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,407
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Wait.. I'm confused. Bootcamp with Windows on your hackintosh? Does Bootcamp work on a hackintosh? Or are you comparing hackintosh with a real Mac?
Bootcamp is just a utility to assist in installing Windows on a Mac. Once installed, you end up with a "BOOTCAMP" drive or partition on your Mac.

On a hackintosh, you can install Windows on a separate drive or partition and essentially end up with the same thing.

When I transitioned from my old Mac Pro to my hack, I transplanted my "BOOTCAMP" drive from the Mac Pro to the hack and it works fine to this day.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-G WiFi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
I'm glad to help.

All the mapping of the USB ports is already done for the Asus Z370-G motherboard. Just choose which ports you want to disable to bring total USB port count down to 15 or less.
Alright, seems the mapped out USB ports fixed my sleep/wake issues entirely.

I decided to disable the same ports as you, except "HS12" because that's where my Bluetooth USB is connected. I disabled "HS07" instead which is the "M.2 USB2 Connection" – something I assume I'm not going to need, my 2nd M.2 port is probably going to be an SSD as well.

Here's my entry if somebody has a similar WiFi+Bluetooth card setup:
Code:
uia_exclude=HS07;HS08;HS09;HS10;HS11;HS13;HS14;SS07;SS08;SS09;SS10
My "ABWB 802,11 AC WI-FI + Bluetooth 4.0 (PCI-E) BCM943602CS" card is connected to the "USB1112" on-board connector. (As shown in the Asus Strix Z370-G Manual)

Thanks again Mr. pastry, you have been exceptionally helpful! If i find the time I'll write a User Build for my setup.
Take care y'all!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5-Clover
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
VEGA 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
LC, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yep, I'm somewhat familiar with it. I 'did a bootcamp' on a partition of my MBP late 2013, with Windows 8.1, but I was not impressed by the speed. My initial motivation back then was: Being able to play Carmageddon:Reincarnation that I had backed on a crowdsource, because of their 'also for Mac' stretch goal. Because they would develop the Windows version first.

But those early, beta versions of Carmageddon didn't run very well on a MBP bootcamp back then. There was a videocard driver update just about every time I fired it up. I suppose the video card, even though I had the 'BTO' videocard option, was too underpowered for it.

The Mac version never materialized. Very disappointing, specially since they did develop other versions of Carmageddon after that – just not for Mac :-X. I haven't backed any Kickstarter projects since. Anyway. I digress. I could run it on my W10 partition now, I suppose, after six years…
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2019
Messages
27
Motherboard
MSI H370 Bazooka
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Check in /Library/Extensions/ and /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. Make sure you don't have the same kexts in multiple locations. Also, make sure you don't have multiple instances of Aptio fixes whether it be OsxAptopFixDrv or AptioMemoryFix.
Thank you Pastrychef.

I have read again post one and you are right, I was confused with the Mojave's guide installation and I used Multibeast after finishing the installation thinking that I need to do this to get Mojave bootable from my hard disk. Since I did this, and I reboot PC I saw some differences such us those "waves" that I mentioned to you before, If you see in a big screen and do zoom to the pictures, you can see like pixels and not a smooth picture. Sorry about my explication, its looks like when you install windows and you do not have still installed graphics card drives, you see the screen different.... I will do other screenshoots.

The thing is, I installed multibeast and now I don't know what to do, should I format the pc and start from beginning? I checked kexts in all folders and I didn't see any duplicated but, I don't know what would be better.
Captura de pantalla 2019-01-24 a las 16.45.09.png


I painted some marks to help a little bit (as I said, to see them better is necessary zoom the image), when I use my MacBook Pro it doesn't appear, or after first installation this hackintosh (before use multibeast) those "waves" weren't there. (maybe this is not important, but I prefer to ask...)

If you think I should reinstall from beginning, how do you recommend me to do this? I tried format from Windows tools but Mojave HD is not allow to select (looks grey). Should I use a boot USB tool like partition wizard to do this?

Other question, what do you think about Geekbench that I show you before? Are they right for this components?

Thank you so so much
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,407
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you Pastrychef.

I have read again post one and you are right, I was confused with the Mojave's guide installation and I used Multibeast after finishing the installation thinking that I need to do this to get Mojave bootable from my hard disk. Since I did this, and I reboot PC I saw some differences such us those "waves" that I mentioned to you before, If you see in a big screen and do zoom to the pictures, you can see like pixels and not a smooth picture. Sorry about my explication, its looks like when you install windows and you do not have still installed graphics card drives, you see the screen different.... I will do other screenshoots.

The thing is, I installed multibeast and now I don't know what to do, should I format the pc and start from beginning? I checked kexts in all folders and I didn't see any duplicated but, I don't know what would be better.
View attachment 381790

I painted some marks to help a little bit (as I said, to see them better is necessary zoom the image), when I use my MacBook Pro it doesn't appear, or after first installation this hackintosh (before use multibeast) those "waves" weren't there. (maybe this is not important, but I prefer to ask...)

If you think I should reinstall from beginning, how do you recommend me to do this? I tried format from Windows tools but Mojave HD is not allow to select (looks grey). Should I use a boot USB tool like partition wizard to do this?

Other question, what do you think about Geekbench that I show you before? Are they right for this components?

Thank you so so much
It depends on what you want to do. If you want to use the MultiBeast guide method, just delete the EFI folder on your EFI partition and follow the MultiBeast guide.

If you want to use the EFI folder that I provided in post #1, you can just replace the EFI folder on your EFI partition with the one that's attached to post #1. Then delete all the hackintosh kexts that MultiBeast installed in /Library/Extensions/.

There's no need to do a clean install. That's a waste of time.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
196
Motherboard
Asus ROG-Z370-G
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
• Intel i7 8700k
• Asus ROG Z370-G-WiFi
• 32GB G.Skill Trident RAM
• Saphire RX580 GPU
• Noctua DH15 cooler (only just fitted!)
• Samsung 500GB 970 EVO NVMe M.2 SSD
• EvGA 750 PSU
• Rajintek Styx mATX case


Hi @pastrychef - I just completed my build based on your post - the system is working fine and currently restoring all my data from Time Machine as we speak. :) Thanks again for a great write-up and the EFI folder. Would you be able to suggest the "best" SMBIOS system definition for my setup please?

SMALL TIP: Not strictly related to "the Pastrychef build", but perhaps anyone using an RX580 GPU: after following the steps listed here my system would "appear to crash" 2/3 of the way through booting during install from the Unibeast-created USB drive. I'd initially get the Apple logo, the progress bar and all would be fine and then all of a sudden.... black screen.

When I say "appeared to crash" - the system didn't freeze or reboot itself and caps-lock still worked so by those basic tests it was still running, albeit my screen was empty.

SOLUTION: After much trial and error and getting the same response every time, I finally changed form using the DVI output of the RX580 and hooked up to the HDMI-port instead. Et Voila! There's my signal again, the machine hadn't crashed at all. For some reason the DVI-out of the RX580 seems to get forgotten 2/3 of the way through booting - HDMI is fine though. Unfortunately I don't have any DisplayPort monitors or adapters to verify if those are ok.

Anyway hopefully that may help anyone else if they come across a similar thing.

Steve
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,407
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
• Intel i7 8700k
• Asus ROG Z370-G-WiFi
• 32GB G.Skill Trident RAM
• Saphire RX580 GPU
• Noctua DH15 cooler (only just fitted!)
• Samsung 500GB 970 EVO NVMe M.2 SSD
• EvGA 750 PSU
• Rajintek Styx mATX case


Hi @pastrychef - I just completed my build based on your post - the system is working fine and currently restoring all my data from Time Machine as we speak. :) Thanks again for a great write-up and the EFI folder. Would you be able to suggest the "best" SMBIOS system definition for my setup please?

SMALL TIP: Not strictly related to "the Pastrychef build", but perhaps anyone using an RX580 GPU: after following the steps listed here my system would "appear to crash" 2/3 of the way through booting during install from the Unibeast-created USB drive. I'd initially get the Apple logo, the progress bar and all would be fine and then all of a sudden.... black screen.

When I say "appeared to crash" - the system didn't freeze or reboot itself and caps-lock still worked so by those basic tests it was still running, albeit my screen was empty.

SOLUTION: After much trial and error and getting the same response every time, I finally changed form using the DVI output of the RX580 and hooked up to the HDMI-port instead. Et Voila! There's my signal again, the machine hadn't crashed at all. For some reason the DVI-out of the RX580 seems to get forgotten 2/3 of the way through booting - HDMI is fine though. Unfortunately I don't have any DisplayPort monitors or adapters to verify if those are ok.

Anyway hopefully that may help anyone else if they come across a similar thing.

Steve
Nice case! I really like how compact it is!

Since you will be using a dGPU and IGPU will be "headless", I'd say iMac18,3 is the best system definition to use.
 
Top