Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,488
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was messing around a little with an app called Duet Display. It's pretty cool and works fine on my hacks. The coolest thing is that it gives us a Touch Bar...
IMG_0057.PNG


The app is currently on sale for only $10. That's 50% it's regular $20 price. https://www.duetdisplay.com/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
48
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 TI
I just updated to BIOS 0606. Everything seems fine.
Has this remained stable for you the past couple of days?

I was messing around a little with an app called Duet Display. It's pretty cool and works fine on my hacks. The coolest thing is that it gives us a Touch Bar...
View attachment 304574

The app is currently on sale for only $10. That's 50% it's regular $20 price. https://www.duetdisplay.com/
This is pretty neat, thank you for the share. Just to confirm, the Touch Bar is usable on the Mac as well right and not only on the iPad's additional display (as I saw in their video)?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,488
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has this remained stable for you the past couple of days?


This is pretty neat, thank you for the share. Just to confirm, the Touch Bar is usable on the Mac as well right and not only on the iPad's additional display (as I saw in their video)?

Yes, BIOS 0606 has been stable for me. Remember, whenever you update BIOS, you will have to redo all the BIOS settings because they will be reset to default.

I don't understand what you are asking about the Touch Bar... It is only visible on the iPad, on the bottom of the screen. It is used to interact with macOS, not iOS.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
48
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 TI
I just updated to BIOS 0606. Everything seems fine.
Yes, BIOS 0606 has been stable for me. Remember, whenever you update BIOS, you will have to redo all the BIOS settings because they will be reset to default.

I don't understand what you are asking about the Touch Bar... It is only visible on the iPad, on the bottom of the screen. It is used to interact with macOS, not iOS.
Thank you for the reminder on BIOS, I'll be updating that later today.

As for Duet, I was wondering if we could utilize Touch Bar on the Desktop via mouse. I was afraid that wasn't going to be the case. I use multiple monitors so using an iPad as an additional display doesn't really appeal to me. Cool ability though.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,488
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for the reminder on BIOS, I'll be updating that later today.

As for Duet, I was wondering if we could utilize Touch Bar on the Desktop via mouse. I was afraid that wasn't going to be the case. I use multiple monitors so using an iPad as an additional display doesn't really appeal to me. Cool ability though.

The Touch Bar does not appear on your normal displays.

You can just use the Duet Display to mirror one of your monitors and just use the Touch Bar.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,488
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you mention to have the plugintype checked on for power management, and then you upload efi folders where they are not checked on in the config file.

That's why I have it listed under post installation. "Post" means after.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,488
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so you are saying that AFTER installation is successful, we are to use your "post installation" efi and remove the plugintype?

After you have completed your installation of macOS, perform the tweaks listed under post installation.
 
Top